We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Rude and money grabbing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mogador Menara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ryad Mogador Menara
Ranked #307 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rude and money grabbing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Definitely not 5 star. More like 3. A bit faded.

One of our party was ill, and as we had no mini bar in our room (Muslim hotel) we bought a six pack of water for him to drink .(He had vomited and needed re-hydrating). The hotel staff tried to stop us taking the water in, so he would have had to buy water from their overpriced restaurants. We advised them he was ill and needed water and couldn't go up and down to the restaurant from his room. The door staff followed us to the lift and tried to physically take the water from us!

Rooms were basic and definitely not 5 star. Clean, but the sink plug was broken and the air conditioning had the wrong controls on it so you had to put the heating on to get cool air! Rooms at the front were noisy from passing traffic.

Marrakech is over - hyped. The square and souks are dirty. If you've seen the Alhambra palace in Granada it overshadows Marrakech. You're asked to part with your money every step you take, and they don't care if you are sick or not. You are just a cash cow.

Room Tip: Don't sleep at the front, but I'm not sure how noisy an over the swimming pool room would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    160
    94
    59
    40
See reviews for
89
155
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are lovely and big with the toilet being separate to the bathroom. The fridge was temperamental and there was no tea or coffee making facilities. The room service is a bit slack. On the first night they didnt even show up. The second night after asking for ice they brought up hot mint tea. We were having to ask for buckets of ice as the fridge wasn't staying cold. The noise from Actors nightclub was horrific every night. You dont hear it till gone midnight and it lasts till about 4am...all the rooms have a balcony which can be nice sometimes. The pool area is ok. We visited off peak. And i doubt there is enough space down there for the amount of customers to the hotel in peak times. The pads for the sun loungers are a bit grubby but ok once you've put your towel down. On the first night we had dinner in the hotel. We were only booked in as bed and breakfast so had to pay about 500dhs for the both of us. It was about 10pm and there was only the dregs left so not worth it. I have since eaten in there for dinner and I made sure I got there as soon as it opened and it all looked lovely and fresh. So get there early if u plan on dining here. Breakfasts however is a completely different story. We've been served up chicken wings, meatballs, over cooked slices of pepper called ratatouille :-/ eggs with black yolks, ham and cheese so stale its curled at the edges, they have a huge amount of croissants, however they're stodgy and because the hot food is so unappealing is a bit samey. And day in day out dodoesn't make u feel great. They have dried fruits such as prunes and apricots but they have flies landing on them and little birds flying around the dining hall.... makes u wonder if the fruit is actually dried or if it had been left there so long :-/ we would recommend that if you just want a room this hotel is fine. But if you are going to have any meals included to avoid this hotel. We have both had the squits and vomiting.... we hate marrakech so won't be returning anyway but if we had to we would not come back to this hotel. They give themselves 5*, they're 4* on here. We would maybe give them a 2 or a 3* rating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melandruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We needed somewhere close to the airport because we had an early flight. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the pool is nice and the rooms are comfy. We got a cheap deal and it was just what we needed so it was perfect for us. It could do with a refreshment and I would not recommend it for people looking for the magic of Marrakech which you would get from a riad in the medina however, it is clean, it has a pool and it also has a good spa which offers treatments. It is only about 5mins taxi (5euro) to the medina.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Briony1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our room did not have a menu so we called the room service Dial #3 asked for a Menu. was told that someone would bring it shortly. yeh ok. after 50 minutes of waiting and multiple phone calls I was told that they can do a verbal menu over the phone. Try calling #9 or #2 was one of the answers over the phone. I finally got to order by 5:00 Pm local time. I will let you know later when the food arrives. I hope it's not next day

Room Tip: stay away from the side close to the the night club called the actors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jospeh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Mogador Menara is one of the oldest hotels in Marrakech, conveniently located in the Hivernage District where it's pretty much close to everything, not that Marrakech is a large city. But the convenience of being able to walk to the train station, the chic street with all the boutiques is a great plus.

The rooms are large enough if you have your little ones with you, what I liked the most is the continental breakfast. Which was a great mix of Moroccan goodies and usual breakfast food.

The pool is great as well, although we didn't use it much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hassan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My room was very comfortable with small balcony overlooking the pool.
The bathroom was divided in "service part" and "cleaning & refreshing part": I found it very nice and useful.
Internet connection was available only in the lobby: Wi-Fi didn't work in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dardanosac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is beautifully located and decorated. Rooms with very nice view to pool on the 4th floor. very clean and large room although not enough light.food is ok- but not as you can ewxpect from a luxtiory hotrl. service was good-we asked for one glss and more shampoo as it was set for one habitant only.

Room Tip: ask for high level room not near the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reliwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.2 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#312 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#371 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlas Medina & Spa
Atlas Medina & Spa
#178 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#204 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menzah
Ryad Mogador Menzah
#454 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Gueliz
Ryad Mogador Gueliz
#305 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Mogador Menara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Menara

Property: Ryad Mogador Menara
Address: Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#170 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Ryad Mogador Menara 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free Wi-Fi in public areas, this luxurious hotel features a spa, heated swimming pool and a wellness centre. Guests can choose from 3 restaurants serving Moroccan, French and international cuisine. All the rooms at Ryad Mogador Menara have a balcony and are air-conditioned. Admire views over the Congress Palace on the prestigious Avenue Mohammed VI or overlook the swimming pool. During the day, the snack restaurant, Planetfood, serves quick bites. For a relaxing afternoon, guests can enjoy a selection of teas and Moroccan pastries in the lounge cafe or on the terrace. Mogador Menara offers a range of services including boutique shops, babysitting services and free on-site parking. Marrakech Menara Airport is just a 4km drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ryad Mogador Menara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Menara Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing