We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and charming staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Yasmine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Yasmine to your Saves list
Riad Yasmine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Rue Ank Jemel | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elegant and charming staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Down the winding roads of Marrekesh, on a non-discript street resides a lovely and quite stately Riad. Good location to the medina, a straight walk, if you consider the curves of the road.
Beautiful and nicely appointed is this Riad. The foyer is full of small antiques in their glass cabinets. Quality rugs throughout the place. There is a small pool in the center of the courtyard. Lounging areas surround the tiny pool. Kept clean & always running, it is refreshing to view and more fun to flutter in. After 7pm we were not allowed to enter the pool. I believe we were told that after 7pm, we may get sick. Not clear if that's after dinner??
The staff was eager & delightful. A young staff and very attentive. My request for tea at night in my room was no problem.
The cook, although we didn't meet her, did a fine job for breakfasts & dinners.
Our rooms were fully equipped with blow dryer, q-tips & cotton balls. Something I rarely saw on my 10 day trip in Morocco. The room was maintained nicely and very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookindivarox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived around midnight in Marrakech and rather than wandering the streets looking for a bite to eat (because I felt nervous that late at night...my first trip to the country), we asked the man at the front desk, Abdel if there was something we could eat at the hotel. He said, sure no problem, and had us sit in the restaurant area. He set the table with cloths, fine china, and he himself prepared an entire meal of delicious beet salad, tajine poulet, cous cous, and even dessert. He poured us wine. It was so relaxing to sit next to the open air courtyard and enjoy our meal while playing backgammon. We enjoyed the experience until about 2:30am. It really felt like we were in someone's home. The rest of the staff (espeically Samir and Eunice) was equally friendly and accommodating. We met the owner, Herve who was also incredibly friendly and gave us great recommendations for finer dining. The rooms were clean and beautiful, and the neighborhood was old, but very cool, like stepping back in time. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Marrakech.

Room Tip: Request room number 5. That was our room and we were told it was the best at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My family and I stayed here for five days in March. I agree so much with the previous reviewer - it's pleasant but.... Our room safe was pointless - it went wrong and was carried out if the room for repairs, the shower worked on and off, dinner was expensive and fairly tasteless, the roof terrace was tatty and the staff were fine but did no more than you would expect from hotel staff. Breakfast was adequate but beware an extra egg will set you back 3 euros. Our bedroom - booked as a suite was one room - quite small with an extra bed for our daughter. Yes, adequate but no more.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

A cultural shock if you have not had previous experience of a place like Marrakech. The Riad front is merely a door on a dinghy alley - once in an oasis.
Although pleasant need to be aware it is alcohol free, and evening meals are expensive for what they are. Rooms pleasantly decorated, but irritating faults, such as poorly aligned shower fittings making operating it a challenge. The roof top disappointing, and interesting electrical connections on view.
Staff helpful up to a point and free WiFi appreciated
Getting used to the Medina takes time - the hustle and bustle and fumes from mopeds not to everyone's taste, and many may prefer the 'new city' hotels

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This Riad is a little gem and the staff are amazing.

The Riad only has 8 rooms so feels intimate and cosy, but is spacious enough with the courtyard, roof terrace and dining/lounge area not to feel claustrophobic.

The rooms are decorated beautifully and plenty of hot water. Breakfast is bread, jam and honey along with croissants, pastries and pancakes (varies on a day to day basis) along with juice, tea/coffee and yoghurt.

The Riad is Around a ten to fifteen minute walk to the square and souks. It's a straight forward walk, although the first time you do it, it may be a shock to the system with the hustle and bustle if you haven't been to somewhere like Marrakech before. We were two females and it is very safe to walk, although taxis are really easy to find and very cheap.

It is probably worth booking a taxi in advance (can be done through the Riad) to collect you from the airport. Like a lot of the Riads they are tucked away and arranging something in advance will certainly prevent you or your taxi driver getting lost!

The staff provide maps etc on arrival and went out of there way to explain where everything was. This was one of the best things about this place, the staff. They were very helpful, friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

Not only would I recommend this place, but if I went back to Marrakech I would have no hesitation on staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Staff were amazing. Made us feel special. Food brilliant home cooking, reasonably priced. Lovely roof terrace with great views( and two tortoise we were aloowed to feed lettuce to) nice room with amazing bathroom. We visited in February and room was heated and comfortable. Courtyard was very pretty and peaceful. This was a lovey Riad, with pretty architecture, clean traditional rooms and good food. Short walk from Jemaa el Fna through the souks. Despite scare mongering it is possible to learn you way around fantastic Marrakech medina within days. Worth learning to walk through the small roads and souks rather than main road. Also taxi can get to the Riad whcih is a major benefit on day of arrival. We loved the Riad, however, it was the Riad staff that made our stay trully amazing. A huge thank you to all of them. They were really special (and we've stayed in plenty of hotels and guest houses around the world)

Room Tip: One of the few Riad's we found that offered twin rooms as well as doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura3214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Beautiful riad, furnished perfectly and also with a small pool which would be great during summertime. Our room was large, with a seating area and large bathroom that makes it easy for two people to get ready in. We enjoyed excellent service from the front desk guys who were friendly. They also had a large book/magazine trade in shelf, which is nice for travelers looking to refresh their literature! Our package included great breakfast/dinner, which was tasty! The riad is in a good location, walkable to the main sites and the square. Another plus:free wifi! This raid was one of the best of the eight places we stayed on our vacation throughout Morocco!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninja13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#75 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#56 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#68 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#21 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Yasmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Yasmine

Address: 209 Rue Ank Jemel | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#174 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Yasmine 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Marrakech's lively medina, Riad Yasmine offers genuine Moroccan hospitality in an elegant and fully-renovated two- storey wealthy home. Ideally located, the Riad is easily accessible by car, right next to a taxi station, and a 5 minute walk from the souks (market stalls). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Yasmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Yasmine Marrakech
Riad Yasmine Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing