We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon relaxation”
Review of Riad Monika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Monika
Ranked #141 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were met by taxi at the airport and traveled into central Marrakech through the chaos, even scraping a police car as we drove up a narrow street. As soon as we stepped inside Riad Monika, all of the hubbub and heat disappeared as Zouhair, the manager, fetched us a mint tea and let us relax.
Our suite, Hayat, was decorated with rose petals on the bed as well as in the huge bath as we were on Honeymoon and friends who had wanted to leave Champagne in the room for us had not met the kind of problems you can encounter in Muslim countries. The manager also arranged a massage for us both in the suite.
The rest of the Riad was a delight, areas for reading and relaxing with the sound of running water never far away as the pool is central. The roof terrace was perfect for both the copious breakfasts and more hideaways to relax. Although there were other guests at the Riad, we couldn't really see or hear them as the breakfasting tables are set out such that you aren't really in line of sight.
We stayed in one evening and ate at the Riad and that was spectacular. 13 different dishes as a starter followed by main courses about which my wife and I had been consulted earlier on. We had a candlelit, rose petal covered table next to the candle lantern lit pool, all of which had been prepared just for us as the Riad is only a restaurant when the guests request it.
The location was perfect too in the we were far enough away from the médina but close enough to the souks not to have to walk too far. The call to prayer did wake us up very early most days but that is city wide so location would not really help. We managed to go straight back to sleep until a reasonable hour. I would thoroughly recommend this Riad to anyone staying in Marrakech: a genuine experience with luxury.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmd34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 173 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Najama suite at the end of May
We had a pick up from the airport for 15 euros by Mr Jamal in an air conditioned taxi/van. We used him for the next two days for various tours. The mountains are a must.
Room at the Riad very comfortable, the manager is extremely helpful and the breakfast is plentiful.
Could not fault it, hardly saw another soul and it was like living in your own palace!! Chilling out on the roof after a long day in the medina,watchin the world go by in the streets below.
The cat habibi is the most playful kitten ever and we enjoyed her company in the evenings when we got back. Fondue restaurant, they serve alcohol and the food is good!!

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms, all different and quirky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BagshotSurreyHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Few days ago landed here. Riad organised a pick up for 15 euro. Nice big Vaneo took us from the airport to riad monika. If you are first time traveller, recommended to take the taxi or somebody to take you to the place. Because difficult to find. Mr Zohair welcomed as near the house. Very friendly family running the house. Inside there are only 6rooms. So you will feel like at home, with few people. It was fully ocupied. Even though we did not meet many of them. Just one couple during the breakfast, which was served on the roof terrace. Very many chill sofas and areas inside where you could hide and read a book in the shadow. Wifi is also through all the floors so you can take your ipad without any problems. Breakfast is continental. Nice lounge seating and many sofas on the roof. Rooms clean. Bathroom had shampoo, showergel, bath flowers, toothpaste and everything else you could need. guests are mainly mature couples from france and uk. Bird sounds during the night. Wife of the manager has just prepared mint tea pot, so i am going back to the lounge to read my book

Thank Martynas M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Having had a friend to show us around and snoop around his favourite 10 riads in the Medina, we picked this riad as it felt - and was - the one with the most serene and peaceful feeling combined with amazing decor and charming owners who make sure your stay is perfect.
All the personnel is great and we moved rooms as it was full when we booked but were glad to see 2 different but stunning bedrooms. Breakfast on the terrace was fantastic, and absolutely delicious. The riad is perfect for visiting the rest of the medina and the souk, and with the owners help we bought 2 morroccan carpets. The pool at the centre of the patio is lovely and we shall certainly come back if we come to the medina again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montagueUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been to lots of places but in all objectivity this place is truly great. serene; luxurious and more importantly, extremely kind people. Zouhail (and his family) and Khalid; (and let's not forget, the owner Pierre! and the cat Habibi (As one can see I remember everything and I will not soon forget!). I certainly vouchsafe for this place. Food wise - We tried Fassia; Foundounk..all decent restaurants - But honestly try eating in this place - unpretentious but exquisite to say the least.
One word of advice - book direct with them and not through intermediaries - you can save yourself a booking fee.
Back to reality...Sadly.

Room Tip: You need not worry if you are a family as the extra bed come at no extra charge - We stayed in suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Riad is delightful with charming rooms and open air courtyards that let the place breathe naturally. The pool is charming, the roof deck is an ideal place to enjoy morning coffee and breakfast. The nearby mosque can be quite loud for the call to morning prayer.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
Very good restaurants are nearby and it's location in the medina is good for sight seeing.
The toilet plumbing in our lower courtyard room was awful. This issue had to be resolved by calling the service people to flush with buckets daily.
The Riad is a nice retreat to return to from a day of touring busy Marrakech.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear unique and charming. The upper suites are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wulfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Monika for 3 nights in February and had a wonderful time.

They kindly arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport, and we were then met at the post office by one of the staff (I'm so sorry, I can't for the life of me remember his name, but he was a joy throughout our stay, NOTHING was too much trouble and despite a language barrier, he was always chatty) and escorted for our first foray into the medina. The hustle, bustle and general madness was overwhelming, but th moment we stepped into the Riad it was as though we were transported to a different world.

We ate there that evening (pre-arranged), a meal cooked by Zouhair's wife, and it was a FEAST if ever there was one. Delicious, served in beautiful, tranquil surroundings, and we felt utterly spoilt. Breakfast is also so generous one would think it was for double the numbe of people.

I can't recommend the Riad Monika enough, and just wish we'd had more time there. Please go, you'll love it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marionc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Karma
Riad Dar Karma
#147 of 499 in Marrakech
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#248 of 499 in Marrakech
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#151 of 499 in Marrakech
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#153 of 499 in Marrakech
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#19 of 499 in Marrakech
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
RIad Al Loune
RIad Al Loune
#127 of 499 in Marrakech
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Monika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Monika

Address: 29 Hart Soura, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#95 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $86 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Monika 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Monika is a large GuestHouse with a the traditional moroccan architecture. Open on a two courtyards area ground floor, the large and refreshing space offered gives a special soul to Riad Monika. On first floor, corridors, seating areas makes you feel back to the past of the kasbahs and palaces you have in mind thinking about orientalist history. The rooftop terrace gives you large areas to have breakfast, lunch, dinner or sunbathe... Let's get the soul of our family house to have a real moroccan experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Monika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Monika Marrakech
Riad Monika Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing