We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“An amazing place with even more amazing people...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Monika

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Monika
Ranked #212 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing place with even more amazing people...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been to lots of places but in all objectivity this place is truly great. serene; luxurious and more importantly, extremely kind people. Zouhail (and his family) and Khalid; (and let's not forget, the owner Pierre! and the cat Habibi (As one can see I remember everything and I will not soon forget!). I certainly vouchsafe for this place. Food wise - We tried Fassia; Foundounk..all decent restaurants - But honestly try eating in this place - unpretentious but exquisite to say the least.
One word of advice - book direct with them and not through intermediaries - you can save yourself a booking fee.
Back to reality...Sadly.

Room Tip: You need not worry if you are a family as the extra bed come at no extra charge - We stayed in suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
87
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Riad is delightful with charming rooms and open air courtyards that let the place breathe naturally. The pool is charming, the roof deck is an ideal place to enjoy morning coffee and breakfast. The nearby mosque can be quite loud for the call to morning prayer.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
Very good restaurants are nearby and it's location in the medina is good for sight seeing.
The toilet plumbing in our lower courtyard room was awful. This issue had to be resolved by calling the service people to flush with buckets daily.
The Riad is a nice retreat to return to from a day of touring busy Marrakech.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear unique and charming. The upper suites are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wulfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Monika for 3 nights in February and had a wonderful time.

They kindly arranged a taxi to pick us up from the airport, and we were then met at the post office by one of the staff (I'm so sorry, I can't for the life of me remember his name, but he was a joy throughout our stay, NOTHING was too much trouble and despite a language barrier, he was always chatty) and escorted for our first foray into the medina. The hustle, bustle and general madness was overwhelming, but th moment we stepped into the Riad it was as though we were transported to a different world.

We ate there that evening (pre-arranged), a meal cooked by Zouhair's wife, and it was a FEAST if ever there was one. Delicious, served in beautiful, tranquil surroundings, and we felt utterly spoilt. Breakfast is also so generous one would think it was for double the numbe of people.

I can't recommend the Riad Monika enough, and just wish we'd had more time there. Please go, you'll love it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marionc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I spent a lovely 6 nights at Riad Monika in February 2013. The riad has been converted from 4 houses, has about 6 rooms and is very charming with lots of nooks & crannies and arabic rugs and lanterns. Our room - which was upgraded 'cos there was no else around - had a fire, sunken bath and four poster bed. All the rooms have that lived in homely feel and was a good alternative to a standard hotel with standard furnishings. The staff were great and very helpful and it was fun tracking them down in the warren of corridors and squares that make up the riad. The location is good - 5 mins from Mederassa, the souks and some good local restaurants and museums - and I loved the fact that we arrived by foot as the alley isn't wide enough to take a taxi so we had to be walked in. Breakfast was continental and a bit uninspiring after 6 days however the location on the sprawling roof terrace was a good way to start the day and the manager's wife made us two meals on request that were fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I recently visited Riad Monica with 3 friends for a 50th birthday. I was a little bit concerned having booked through Authentic Luxury Travel but my worries were soon put to rest. The taxi was waiting for us at the airport and dropped us at the Riad. We were very pleasantly suprised when we stepped inside. We were treated like royalty, nothing was too much trouble. I can’t praise the staff enough, everything was just as advertised I can’t wait to return.

Room Tip: Leave it to Hicham of Authentic Luxury Travel, all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Fantastic stay here in Riad Monika during Christmas 2012. The room doesn't look exactly like the one in the website, but it was still very nice. The common area and roof terrace was lovely and we enjoyed the breakfast up in the terrace or just relaxing around the common area. We loved the bread, it was always very fresh in the morning.

But I think what excel in this Riad is the staff. Zohair & co. (especially Khalil) were the best hospitality staff that we've encountered so far. Khalil was always so nice to us, didn't speak a word in English but somehow he managed to look after us during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in this beautiful Riad located in the heart of the medina, moments from the Ben Youssef coranic school. Excellent, warm welcome by Zouhair! We were treated to our best meal in Marrakech, cooked by Zouhair's wife. We already miss drinking mint tea on the roof terrace! Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Niels C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#110 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Alma
Riad Alma
#100 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#50 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#49 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#33 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Monika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Monika

Property: Riad Monika
Address: 29 Hart Soura, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#128 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#129 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Monika 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Monika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Monika Marrakech
Riad Monika Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing