We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easygoing riad 3min walk off Djema El Fna”
Review of Dar Naima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Naima
Ranked #271 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the riad 4 nights, due to a special bargain done with the lady in charge. Rooms are spacious and bathrooms are more than honest. We have to mention that our room was so dusty that we folded the carpet under the bed. Public spaces are gently decorated as well as interiors. Roof terrace seemed abandoned since the 1945, but the view is nice. Breakfast included was common to all the riad we visited in 21 days. We asked for a lunch: it wasnt any good and they've charged us 360dh for 2 entries, 2 main, 2 peeled oranges with cinnamon. Too much.
Coolest thing is the position: really 3min walk off "la place", but enough hidden for being disturbed just from singing birds.
Conclusion: good value if you can contract the final price and meals in the city apart from breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D1fretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar naima R, Manager at Dar Naima, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear D1Fretta, thank you very much for your review about Dar Naima, we are the new Managers of Dar Naima from the first of August 2013, after reading all the negative reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to do a lots of changes, in Dar Naima, first we have now a new proffessional english speaking team, and then we changed the Riad painting and we did the maintenance for all the plumbing and electricity , and added a very nice Jaccuzi pool, and a room for massages. and we did a very big cleaning for the Riad and all the fournitures.
we are so sorry for you about the lunch, and we promess that we will do all our best with the next guests to give them a memorable stay at Dar Naima and why not you again.
Mohamed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Dar Naima
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 180 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

We read the review prior to booking and judged that the bad reviews were needy western who needed all the comfort of home to be happy :-)

Dont make our mistake as well.

The riad does provide a bed to sleep and the opportunity to wash yourself. But it isn't well maintained, or very clean.

Combine this with the fact that they still charge you around 45€ per night and you come to the conclusion that for that price there are many other places in Marrakesh that offer more, for less.

From our combined travel experience we would expect a price setting for this riad around 15-20€ per room per night.

Happy trials!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbandonedLogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Dar Naima is a beautiful and charming place to stay in the old town of Marrakech very close to Jaima Al Fna square. The breakfast is homemade and you can enjoy it either in the amazing blue patio or on the rooftop terrasse with great views on the city.
Staff is more than friendly and helpful and you can have a private Hammam and massage whenever you like.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olgaschnitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed at Dar Naima for 11 days. The Riad vas charming in Marokko style. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast in the patio or on the roof terrasse. And the siesta in the shade on the roof. The Riad is inside the walls and a few minutes from the Souk and the Djemaa el Fna.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mogens-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Hi all travelers,

This is an advice for those interested in staying at Dar Naima. Me and my girlfriend just had a nightmare weekend there. Basically we booked our accommodation for 3 nights on LateRooms website and payed the fee straight away as usual using credit card. 3 days before our arrival we noticed that Dar Naima had taken a further £280 from our credit card. We called Late Rooms immediately and were told that this was a mistake transaction and that we were going to be given €250 on arrival as compensation. Ridiculous as £280 is more like €320 at the moment.
On arrival we spoke to that Riad staff, that knew nothing about the transaction and that the manager was away in France. We had one phone conversation with the manager that guaranteed us that £280 would be given to us in cash as compensation for the mistake transaction because the staff at the Rad did not know how to reverse the transaction.
Later the staff brought us the money and for our surprise we noticed that 3 of the bank notes were fakes!!! We rejected the money immediately demanding the transaction to be reversed. It was all very stressful, LateRooms wasn't helpful at all and we now have to dispute this with our bank.
Be very careful with credit card fraud in Morocco, it did spoil our weekend and don't' know if we are every going to be refunded.
By the way the Riad is average, not very clean, cockroaches in bedroom and staff was rude and unhelpful. There is plenty of choice in Marrakesh and you should read reviews before you book anything.

Good luck with your travel to Morocco

Nelson and Hannah
Dar Naima never again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank ncrespo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Great stay at the Dar Naïma! Loved the place. Compared to other riads, it's large and has a lot of charm. The best? The roof terrace. Tremendous view and: sun, sun, sun!!!
Waoh. Came like vanillia, left like a cooked lobster.
Nice thing also: fluant English speaking. Not so often around in Marrakech. The room was nice. In fact, you feel like staying at friends place, not in an anonymous hotel.
Highly recommanded!
Ben

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denverben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

My spouse and I had a wonderfull time in Marrakech at the Dar Naima. This is our second visit. The riad has a lot of charm and Laura & Stefan were very friendly to us. They gave us good indications on restaurants, excursions (thank you to Yassin - I think) and traps to avoid with taxis and youngsters "pretending" to help you finding your way in the street.
The Riad is the gathering of 2 authentic and ancient houses. This gives a very large space on the ground floor with: 2 patios, a dining room and a living room. We particularily liked sitting in the blue patio in the evening with soft ambiance music.
The terrasse offers a tremendous view on the Atlas mountains, the roofs of Marrakech and the Koutoubia. I'm not sure if all riads offer this view but lying facing the sun in a deck chair with the Atlas as background is just unbelievably pleasant.
I've noticed Laura & Stefan are renovating the riad. That's a good point.
I highly recommand the Dar Naima!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwhittow52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 502 in Marrakech
157 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#44 of 502 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#238 of 502 in Marrakech
186 reviews
2.3 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#204 of 502 in Marrakech
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#83 of 1,160 in Marrakech
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Naima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Naima

Address: 1 derb Ouartani, Mouassine | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#89 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#145 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $22 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Naima 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the charm of Marrakech in an authentic riad. Among the first riads / guest house in Marrakech, the Dar Naima has preserved the soul of this ancient dwelling house. Ideally located next door to the souks and 3 minutes walk from the famous Jamaa El Fna square, its two patios offer space in a trees and plants ambiance, its large terrace shows a breathtaking view on the Atlas mountains, the Koutoubia and the rooftops of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dar Naima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Naima Marrakech
Dar Naima Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing