We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best staff in Marrakech!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Silsila
Ranked #238 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best staff in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This riad is so close to everything. A five minute walk to the square and a short taxi ride to the Majorelle Gardens. The breakfasts are a great and will keep you going to lunch. Our room was perfect. But the best part of Dar Silsila is the staff. Nothing was too much for these guys and they gave us the best recommendations for food and sight seeing. We had a few problems with the airport transfers but it was all sorted out very quickly. We really can't fault this riad, it really was great and we will definitely be staying here again if we return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, Owner at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank You for your comment,
You will always be welcome in one of our Riads in Marrakech, Riad zen house, riad abaka and of course Riad Dar Silsila.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon in Marrakech.
The Dar Silsila Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    74
    13
    9
    13
See reviews for
79
378
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We only spent one night in Dar Silsila so did not experience all its charms but we enjoyed our stay. The staff were helpful and very welcoming, the location was perfect, and we are not surprised by its popularity.

Room Tip: We had a superior room (no 4) which was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, Owner at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank You for your comment,
You will always be welcome in one of our Riads in Marrakech, Riad zen house, riad abaka and of course Riad Dar Silsila.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon in Marrakech.
The Dar Silsila Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Incredible Riad! Rooms are super clean and it four terraces are amazing. Staff is the BEST! The dinner at the Riad is wondeful. Perfect location; only 5 minutes walking to the main square. Very safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raimundo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, Owner at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank You for your comment,
You will always be welcome in one of our Riads in Marrakech, Riad zen house, riad abaka and of course Riad Dar Silsila.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon in Marrakech.
The Dar Silsila Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Dar Silsila is another example of how riads can be incredible places to relax just minutes from the hustle and bustle of the Marrakech medina. The nearest main thoroughfare is packed, with mopeds, bikes and pedestrians making their way around at all times of day. One minute's walk down a low, dark derb (and when the porter with your bags first takes you that way you can be forgiven for being a bit skeptical!), and you arrive at the riad's front door. Inside and you're met by absolute tranquility.

The public rooms are beautiful, with a small pool and waterfall features in the lobby. There are dozens of smaller nooks and crannies with comfy seats, where you can while away the time with a good book. The riad has no less than 4 different levels of roof terrace, with loungers, gazebos and comfortable chairs; it was our favourite space to relax, with spectacular views of the Atlas Mountains and all the noises of Marrakech around you.

Our room (a deluxe room) was adequately sized and very comfortable. Our window opened into the internal courtyard with a fantastic tree that reached right up to the roof terrace, and you could even hear some birds resting in it in the morning. The bathroom was nicely traditionally styled, but one of the only cons was the shower. It took us 2 minutes to realise the taps were back to front (hot was cold and vice versa!), but the hot water came in waves, and the old shower head meant the flow was a bit uneven and it tended to flood the bathroom a little, even with the shower mat down. It wasn't anywhere near as bad as some stories we heard about Marrakech hot water though, and it was still perfect after a trek up to the High Atlas.

Breakfast was nicely prepared every morning, although we would have liked a few more options, even for something like eggs or omelettes, as it was generally all breads, small fruit salads and yogurts.

The staff were excellent throughout, all very friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful. Mohammad, the manager, was superb; he was infinitely helpful when we had a tour company mix up their dates, provided some excellent recommendations for dinner and sightseeing, and arranged a perfect airport transfer for us when we sadly had to leave.

It was absolutely beautiful inside, and a wonderful place to return to after the sometimes wild streets of the medina. Walking in through the front door to hear nothing but the waterfall in the lobby was like stepping in to another world. A fantastic calm oasis and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrKiwiCooCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck L, Owner at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank You for your comment,
You will always be welcome in one of our Riads in Marrakech, Riad zen house, riad abaka and of course Riad Dar Silsila.
We are looking forward to seeing you soon in Marrakech.
The Dar Silsila Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Marrakech again but after 40 years I wasn't sure what to expect ... and it was wonderful, exciting, noisy, dirty, exotic, absolutely fabulous. We booked the Riad Dar Silsila following recommendations on Trip Advisor and it was everything previous reviews had included and more, an oasis of calm just off a busy "highway" of crazy, speeding mopeds, donkey carts and street vendors. The day of our arrival we didn't know what to think as we followed the porter down the dark alley and around the corner. But then a blackened, studded door and inside this fabulous, traditional riad, small enough to feel homely, big enough not to feel on top of other guests. The highlight for me was the Hammam followed by the best massage I have ever had in my life, given by Saida and Ghizlane who, together with manager Mohammed, look after guests and are welcoming, helpful and ever courteous. It's only a 10 minute stroll from the main square, the Jemma El Fna and the Souks so central to everything. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMS1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie G, Responsable relations clients at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comment. Our team is doing its best to satisfy our guests. We are happy you had a good time with us. We wish to welcome you again soon at Dar Silsila.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Marrakech is amazing and the staff at Dar Silsila made it even better. Mohammad and Reisling (sp?) specifically were great!!!!

We were picked up from the airport and taken for the short ride to the Medina. The driver was funny and gave us a quick overview. We were then met by a man who took out luggage and directed us to the Riad. While we had to walk down a dark alley and go through some turns to get to Dar Silsila, it was initmate, romantic and very comfortable. My partner and I booked a deluxe room and it was exactly that. Perfectly sized, bathroom was cute, lighting was low but only added to the atmosphere. We used the dining room one evening to relax, play cards and listen to music.

The breakfast was the perfect way to start the day. Mohammed arranged a wonderful, insightful guide to give us a half day tour of the city. Worth very penny! On our own, we booked a trip for two to a Hamman - Les Bains de Azahara. We simply found it on trip advisor and had an interesting time finding it but it was simply beyond words.

We had a blast exploring the various alley ways of Marrakech and after long days we loved coming back to Dar Silsila. We left for a desert adventure for 3 days and came back. We were upgraded to a suite and it was fabulous. We hated to leave.

I would highly recommend this Dar to all!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlt218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie G, Responsable relations clients at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Google Translation
Chers clients,
Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez passé un agréable séjour au Dar Silsila et à Marrakech. Toute notre équipe vous remercie pour tous ces compliments et nous espérons vous revoir prochainement.
Sophie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The staff was very helpful and service great. We loved the traditional feel of this Riad and our room which was clean and comfortable. The only con was that the bathroom was very small and dark and the shower head spout was a hand held with no mount to hold the shower head.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivetek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie G, Responsable relations clients at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comment. Our team is doing its best to satisfy our guests. We are happy you had a good time with us. We wish to welcome you again soon at Dar Silsila.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#258 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#89 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#97 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Maipa
Riad Maipa
#262 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#57 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Ajebel
Riad Ajebel
#321 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Property: Dar Silsila
Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#131 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#142 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing