We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Riad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Silsila
Ranked #235 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Marrakech is amazing and the staff at Dar Silsila made it even better. Mohammad and Reisling (sp?) specifically were great!!!!

We were picked up from the airport and taken for the short ride to the Medina. The driver was funny and gave us a quick overview. We were then met by a man who took out luggage and directed us to the Riad. While we had to walk down a dark alley and go through some turns to get to Dar Silsila, it was initmate, romantic and very comfortable. My partner and I booked a deluxe room and it was exactly that. Perfectly sized, bathroom was cute, lighting was low but only added to the atmosphere. We used the dining room one evening to relax, play cards and listen to music.

The breakfast was the perfect way to start the day. Mohammed arranged a wonderful, insightful guide to give us a half day tour of the city. Worth very penny! On our own, we booked a trip for two to a Hamman - Les Bains de Azahara. We simply found it on trip advisor and had an interesting time finding it but it was simply beyond words.

We had a blast exploring the various alley ways of Marrakech and after long days we loved coming back to Dar Silsila. We left for a desert adventure for 3 days and came back. We were upgraded to a suite and it was fabulous. We hated to leave.

I would highly recommend this Dar to all!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlt218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie G, Responsable relations clients at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Google Translation
Chers clients,
Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez passé un agréable séjour au Dar Silsila et à Marrakech. Toute notre équipe vous remercie pour tous ces compliments et nous espérons vous revoir prochainement.
Sophie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    74
    13
    9
    12
See reviews for
79
377
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The staff was very helpful and service great. We loved the traditional feel of this Riad and our room which was clean and comfortable. The only con was that the bathroom was very small and dark and the shower head spout was a hand held with no mount to hold the shower head.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivetek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie G, Responsable relations clients at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comment. Our team is doing its best to satisfy our guests. We are happy you had a good time with us. We wish to welcome you again soon at Dar Silsila.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was my first ever visit to Marrakech and a first ever stay in a riad (traditional Moroccan home). My wife and I, together with a few friends stayed for 4 nights. Our experience can be summed up by the words in the title of this review! :-) The riad has 9 rooms, ranging from 60 - 105 euros, each having its own charm. Muhammad, the manager and caretaker is warm, and friendly. Always with a smile on his face, he ensured efficient hospitality. The riad itself feels homely (no reception desk and impersonal formality). One of the unfortunate aspects though, is the lack of daily replacement of bottled water in the room. The breakfast is quite good and filling. You could have it at the lovely, spacious, rooftop terrace or at the well decorated foyer downstairs. We were served pancakes one day, assortment of bread on another and delicious, smooth yogurt & juice. We had dinner only once at the riad. Mind you, there was only beef tanjia and wine on offer.The service is classy though. What's more, when a few of us felt a little queasy, the cook made harira (moroccan soup), using a packet we had bought earlier. The staff were flexible, accommodating and hospitable. Owned by Franck and his partner, Sophie, the riad is well maintained and is being continually improved thanks to them. Situated just a 5-7 min walk from the Jma-al-fna, if you want luxury, cosiness, friendliness, this is the riad for you.

Room Tip: The suites are the best. The terrace suite is the biggest of the lot. Almost like a mini home with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tobyinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie G, Responsable relations clients at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comment. Our team is doing its best to satisfy our guests. We are happy you had a good time with us. We wish to welcome you again soon at Dar Silsila.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights along with 5 other friends to celebrate a birthday. We had the standard double room room.

PROS:
- This is a gorgeous and comfortable riyad which is absolutely beautifully furnished and decorated. It was a true pleasure to return here after a day's adventures!
- The resident manager, Mohamed, was exceptionally welcoming, helpful, polite, gentlemanly (running out adjectives!). He and his staff went out of their way to assist us in any way they could. Thanks again to the team.
- Very convenient location for the main square, Jemaa el Fna (10 mins walk) and the Souks (5 mins). Petit Taxis are easily available from the main road (2 mins walk along the alleys). The hotel can organize airport transfers to and from the airport which costs EUR 18 one way. We chose to get a Grand Taxi from the main road as it is half the price. But I would recommend getting the transfer service there in the first instance. A porter also takes ones bags and shows the way along the alleys for DHS 20.
- Eateries/restaurants within walking distance
- Breakfast was included in our rate and it was always fresh and delicious. We had it served to us on the terrace (there are 2) which is beautiful (with views of the Atlas mountains in the distance). But one can choose where one would like to eat it - there are various common reception/dining areas inside the riad as well.
- Dinner is also available if requested in advance. We had a lovely evening meal with all our friends and the staff went through a great deal of effort to make it a special experience for us all.
- Mint tea is free and one can ask for it any time. There are several cosy common areas on the ground one can spend time in.
- Free wi-fi in the rooms/ common areas.
- Bathroom had all the necessities
- There is an in-house Hamaam and Massage area. I would thoroughly recommend this experience, one of the best things to do in Marrakech! The masseuse was very adept.
- Polite and thorough housekeeping team

No Cons - that's how much I loved our stay here!

Room Tip: All the rooms were beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sraag74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie G, Responsable relations clients at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your nice comment. We do our best to give our guests a wonderful time at Dar Silsila. The whole team will be happy to welcome you once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great location, within a couple of blocks of the main square and the souks around it. That being said, it’s a bit difficult to find and get to and from, since you have to head down a twisting alleyway. Beautiful rooms and common areas along with several very nice rooftop terraces. Both the breakfasts and dinner were excellent. Service was very good and the owner was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

firstly the staff were amazing especially Muhammad! the location is fantastic, short stroll to the main square. the rooms were really comfortable.

Muhammad was really helpful and suggested great places to eat and was always there if we needed any assistance. The rooftop terraces is lovely and has gorgeous views of the atlas Mountains.

highly recommend staying here as the location, rooms, staff and atmosphere are all exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie G, Responsable relations clients at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Dar Silsila. We do our best to serve well our customers and our staff is highly committed to give our clients a great moment in Marrakech.
We hope to see you soon in Marrakech.
Sophie & Franck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights in November '13. We were very warmly greeted, put at ease, & received detailed information regarding the area and places to visit.
Mohamed and staff were so friendly and v v helpful to us. We had lovely breakfasts on the terrace and also 1 evening meal which was delicious.
The rooms were v clean. Thank-you for an excellent mini break.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank aljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie G, Responsable relations clients at Dar Silsila, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment. We do our best to serve our clients and we are happy that you have appreciated it.
We hope to see you again soon in Dar Silsila.
Very best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#257 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#102 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#89 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#58 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaka
Riad Abaka
#229 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Property: Dar Silsila
Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#131 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#140 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing