We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Silsila
Ranked #231 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here earlier in the year. Our experience was fantastic. The rooms were lovely and clean. I especially loved the extra little touches like the beautiful body wash in the bathroom and the delicious mint tea. Service was fantastic with the staff and Jean-Patrick going above and beyond to make everyone feel comfortable and relaxed. This is definitely a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of the medina.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie G, Responsable relations clients at Dar Silsila, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. We do our best to serve our client and we are happy you have appreciated it.
We hope to see you soon in Dar Silsila.
Very best regards.
Sophie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 786 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This was our last stop in our tour so it was nice to have a spacious suite. Inside the decor was wonderful and service impeccable. The owner made us feel personally welcomed.

However, what made us very upset and not likely to recommend the place was the condition of the lanes leading up to this riad. You had to walk through unpacked sections with lots of stones and dust, and even worse some sections were not lit at all. We felt trapped in the riad after dark because we didn't want to walk those passageways with our child in tr dark.
We were told its temporary but I've read several reviews over time mentioning this.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psuscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silsila, Propriétaire at Dar Silsila, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

The medina of marrakech is very hold , like over the world they have to work on and it can be incomfortable for the people who leave in and for the tourist who visit the city , for your information now we have a very nice street , every things are finish .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We just got home from our honeymoon where we spent 4 nights in Marrakech at Dar Silsila. We had read a lot of great reviews about the place and were very excited to see that the riad exceeded our expectations. The courtyard, sitting areas, and rooms were all impeccably clean and beautifully decorated. As soon as we walked through the door, we were greeted by pristine silence and mint tea served by the assistant manager Mohammed. Best check-in experience ever.

Mohammed and Jean-Patrick (the owner) are skilled English speakers and truly understand the meaning of hospitality. Both my wife and I have worked in fine hotels for many years and this stay was on par with the best. The staff helped us book tickets, arrange day trips, find restaurants, and create peaceful evenings in the riad.

When we come back to Marrakech (which we will), we won't bother with a hotel search - we will just email Jean-Patrick. It was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to Marrakech - and how lucky we were to find Riad Dar Silsila!! It really was a jewel of an oasis in a hectic, exciting city! Spotlessly clean, efficient, friendly and welcoming staff, delicious breakfasts, comfortable, stylish, relaxing surroundings . . . . much, much better than the photos on the website. The Riad is placed perfectly for visiting most of the main attractions in the city. Jean Patrick is brilliant - very helpful and friendly, offering a wealth of information on trips, restaurants and the must-see sights. If you have time, have a Hammam (a mixture of a steambath, sauna, exfoliation and massage) in the Riad spa. A tip . . . book a taxi transfer from the airport to the Riad - it wouldn't be easy to find without some local knowledge (Jean Patrick can organise this for you). We hope to return! Harry & Fenella

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great service, great accommodation, was an absolute delight staying here, try their Beef Tagine if you eat meat, very central to everything and we will be back... The friendliness and helpfulness of the management and staff make it a very pleasant stay, and the riad is beautiful with big luxurious rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Marrakech at the Riad Dar Silsila on our honeymoon and it was absolutely magical. After following a narrow, unpaved, alleyway (common for the Medina) we were happily greeted by the lovely Mohammed and stepped into what felt like a sanctuary. The Riad is stunning...tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Not to mention the food is great...from the tagine dinners to the delicious breakfasts on the sunny terrace. Jean Patrick and his staff could not be more welcoming or gracious and we loved every second there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This riad is located a short walk from the Jemma El Fnaa square. It is set back off the main street. I would advise that you set up transportation with Jean Patrick, your host, as to find it on your own would be challenging.

The riad is just as pictured as well as the rooms. Clean and comfortable with accommodating staff. The rooftop area is a nice place to have tea or drinks and unwind from the hectic day of museums and souk bartering. There is a spa located on the top floor with massage services available.

As soon as I walked in Jean Patrick gave advice and a map as to what and where I wanted to see based on my time schedule and a cup of tea. If there was anything I needed from restaurant advice to transportation advice Jean Patrick did all he could to help with the details.

The room was clean and the bathroom functional. The bed was comfortable and the sleep was quiet and restful. There is lockbox in the the room as well as plenty of closet space. The aircon was sufficient for heating purposes on the cool early Spring nights.

The general area was tasteful decorated and promoted a relaxed atmosphere. From here you can play one of the small games in the room such as chess or checkers, sit and read a book, or relax with your friends with a bottle of wine.

The breakfast is continental. It is a bit light but sufficient to get you started through the day.

The one downside to this location is the entrance way from the street. As safe and as well lit as the area was you have to go back through a windy alley that has a small tunnel. I was a little apprehensive at first.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#166 of 500 in Marrakech
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#238 of 500 in Marrakech
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#253 of 500 in Marrakech
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#67 of 500 in Marrakech
228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#121 of 500 in Marrakech
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#200 of 500 in Marrakech
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#149 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $65 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Marrakesh’s medina, in Bab Laksour, enter a haven of peace, elegance and well-being. This feeling of calm will invade you once you pass the door of Dar Silsila. Its intimate places, swimming pool and two terraces, away from the bustle the city, will give your stay its full meaning. Enjoy a fresh breakfast and set off to discover the hectic Marrakesh! Then, go back through the doors of our house to rest in the shade of our umbrellas, enjoy the fresh air in the patios, immerse in our beautiful pool. Then book a traditional hammam, with black soap scrub followed by a massage and, to finish your afternoon, treat yourself to traditional small pastries and a delicious mint tea! Spend a moment out of time on the terrace, and enjoy your dinner with a breathtaking view on the Koutoubia. Our team will take care of your comfort 24 hours a day. A private lounge and an en-suite bathroom are available for early arrival and late check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing