We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in this riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Silsila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Silsila to your Saves list
Dar Silsila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Stay in this riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

If you want the full Marrakech experience, this is your place. The riad is tucked away in a seemingly dark and suspicious alley (dont worry it's safe) which leads to the small nondescript door. Once inside, it opens up to a beautiful courtyard in the building. The owner (Jean Patrick) and staff (Salame) are fantastic and a great help. The location is unbeatable and easy access to everything in the Medina. I would also recommend a night to unwind after the chaos of the medina with a haman/massage and dinner cooked by the staff - both were incredible.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank japp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    73
    13
    9
    10
See reviews for
78
375
41
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My brother and I stayed in Dar Silsila in February/March for several nights. JP and all the staff were so friendly and made the Riad feel warm, cosy, and welcoming. The riad is beautiful and meticulously clean and tidy - each minute attention to detail designed to create a really special stay. This includes the beautiful bedroom and ensuite, the main areas, and the gorgeous roof terrace. JP and his staff were so helpful and did everything they could to make our trip easy and comfortable. It was also really important to have such a calm and relaxing oasis out of the hubbub of the Medina and souks - and was very central. We had a fabulous time, would definitely recommend and would go back. xxx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The tour company we used, Journey Beyond Travel, personally selects each lodging they book. They found a great one for our party of four. Jean Patrick, the owner, checked us in and then checked with us daily to see how things were going and if he could assist us in any way. His staff were always smiling and eager to provide tea/cookies on the roof terrace or the downstairs courtyard. Our large rooms were tastefully decorated and comfortable and the riad itself was gorgeous! The location was convenient since the medina is close by and since you are already inside the city walls, you are ready to start exploring. The dinners we had were delicious and they can recommend great nearby restaurants like Ksar. Upon checkout, Jean Patrick gave us croissants for our train ride to Fes. What a delightful stay we had!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenB992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This Riad is located perfectly in the centre of the old city of Marrakech close to the soukhs and the central square DJema El Fna with all the activities, where it is a safe, pleasant and very clean rest. It appears behind the iron door when you walk through the narrow streets and when the doors close you are surprised how quiet it suddenly becomes when the door is closed and you are standing in one of the two inner courtyards with green plants, a very small pool and a view to the sky. We stayed 16 persons including children for 3 nights and the service was first class. There is lots of space, of rooms where you can sit and read and enjoy some moroccan tea or a cold beer, it was very relaxing. We had two dinners in the Riad, one of them a birthday dinner and the staff was handling everything including delicious moroccan food and Wine perfectly. The rooms are decorated in a very nice way with moroccan art. The entrance is in a small and narrow street but our luggage was transported from the parking area nearby on small trolleys by some local people so that was not a problem. The roof terraces offers access to the sun and a magnificent view of Marrakech and the mountains. We stayed four different places during our trip to Morocco and this Riad was definitely the winner.

Room Tip: Excellent for a group where you can have the whole Riad. My wife and I stayed in the Terrace Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fuhr_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohasset, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Dar Silsila was beautiful and immaculate with impeccable service and excellent food! We really enjoyed every minute there and the owner and staff were wonderful!! We stayed there our first two nights and were so happy to return for our last night in Morocco!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamisal, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We got here a couple days ago and love it. The rooms are beautifully done. There are four of us, two rooms, in this riad. EXCELLENT service. EXCELLENT meals. EXCELLENT housekeeping. EXCELLENT location. The narrow street to the hotel is dirt and looks under construction but we chose to ignore it. Inside the door everything is safe, relaxing and comfortable.

Room Tip: The room just above the pool has a good wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie Coté T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I would highly recommend this divine riad. Off the narrow alleyways of the medina and behind the huge door, Dar Silsila is a calm and beautifully decorated oasis from the hot & boisterous souks. The staff and owner are very helpful. If you are in need of suggestions, Jean Patrique has no end of ideas of places to visit. He or his assistant, Salaam, will also make reservations for you at restaurants and organise taxis or excursions. Nice breakfast of coffee, homemade yogurt and Moroccan pancakes and breads. Be sure to request in advance to eat there one night and have a Marrakech specialty of beef tangia which is left to cook during the day in the fires of the local hammam. If you want a stay with a personal touch this is an opportunity to experience life inside a riad. There is a safe in the room and free wifi.

Room Tip: All the rooms face onto a courtyard in one of the two riads so you are not bothered by noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkleplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#31 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#163 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#328 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#118 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#137 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Silsila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Silsila

Property: Dar Silsila
Address: 11 Derb Jdid Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#122 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#131 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Silsila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Silsila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Silsila Marrakech
Dar Silsila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing