We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel warrants no star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moroccan House Hotel
Ranked #321 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This hotel warrants no star rating”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hotel is nothing like the photos show on the website. The rooms are small, the beds are filthy and covered in a horrid leopard print throw that absolutely stinks. I won't go into the gold trim acting as mosquito nets.

The bathroom was absolutely filthy with remnants of someone else's use of the toilet remaining. Need I say more.

We checked out within 5 minute of being in the room and yet they would not refund us. A week of arguing with trip advisor and still no better off.

The air conditioning could not be turned on as to do so would result in a loud beep every two seconds and the windows were not able to be opened. On looking inside the fridge I was very nearly ill to see what was growing inside it.

I am guessing the last time this hotel was cleaned was sometime back in the 90's.

Avoid this hotel like the plague and on reflection do not book through trip advisor either.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwikaz924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    264
    111
    51
    27
See reviews for
87
231
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time that I have ever walked out of a hotel. On arrival we discovered that we were room only, not bed and breakfast as booked. We were guided to our room and to say we were disappointed is an understatement. The room was tiny withe smallest double bed in history, the bathroom was filthy and unkempt and Liberace would have been proud of the nylon leopard skin bed sheets! The air conditioning beeped loudly once every two seconds unless switched off, the fridge was attempting to grow what appeared to be a new civilisations worth of mould and the windows were screwed shut. I have travelled all over the world and stayed I the best and worst of hotels, this place beats the latter by a country mile. Avoid like the plague.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Damian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Ok, firstly the rooms weren't perfect, they were a little worn and tired but they were clean and kept very clean during my stay. I found the majority of staff very helpful, the others were ok. I found the location within the new town perfect. It is definitely about a 30 min walk to the Medina or a cheap taxi ride but both were fine for me. It's location was perfect for me in the respect that when I needed a break from the chaos and excitement of the Medina, I could return here and chill in very French feeling of Gueliz with its cafe culture, restaurants and clubs/bars. Breakfast was best taken on the terrace overlooking the city and Atlas mountains in the distance. I would also recommend getting the reception to arrange transfers to and from the airport as it will cost you about half of what the taxi drivers ask. One thing though you may also wish to note is that if you are a light sleeper then avoid the rooms at the front of the hotel as a newly opened Snooker/pool club has opened nearby and attracts alot of Marrakechi youths and the noise that comes with it, though it didn't bother me personally. Great place to stay, with great staff and in a great location if you don't want to stay within the walls of the Medina.

Room Tip: Avoid the front of hotel if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canary4life2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have never been to Morocco before so this was a tester to see if we liked it. All I can say is that everything surpassed our hopes and expectations. The hotel was comfortable, clean, friendly - the decoration in traditional style was great, the staff were super, nothing was too much to ask of them, and they were very willing to give advice and directions to places of interest. The food was Moroccan and even though my husband is a picky eater, he had no problems with the breakfast and evening meals served at the hotel. Would we go back again? YES.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

What to say about this hotel? Entertaining certainly. The decor, though a bit scruffy around the edges, is impressive, albeit a bit overpowering in the rooms. The room was small, but clean and ok; the bathroom looked like it had been decorated by a small child, but was also clean and - just about - ok. Well, everything worked. Breakfast on the roof was nice; good selection, good views; not very interested staff: cook your omelette, but don't bother to tell you when it's done. Pool quite good, though not a lot of seating; you have to be quick. If you get a sunbed, then it is a nice place to relax during the hot part of the day. Location is good: walking distance of several good restaurants and of Jardin Majorelle, and of the souk if you are up to it. Best (and worst): the reception staff who seem to enjoy winding customers up: other staff - especially ladies - good. On balance, ok for the price but not somewhere that I would want to stop again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpw60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The room (44) was quite dark and overpowered by frilly drapes around the bed. The fitted sheet was synthetic fabrics and the duvet heavy. The duvet cover was a brushed synthetic microfibre type fabric which had tigers printed on it.
The bathroom was functional and although we had a problem with the shower it was dealt with immediately and a new hose and head fitted.
The air conditioning worked but was a little noisy.
We were on half board and stayed three nights. The food although repetitive it was good value for the price paid. Breakfast had too many pastries and not enough fresh fruit, yoghurt would have been a nice addition.
I thought that it being a hotel alcohol may have been an option at dinner but this wasn't the case.
We looked at the pool on our first morning and decided that it looked a little suspect, the water a bit murky and I couldn't see the bottom, we decided not to bother!
The walk into the main square, down the Avenue Mohammed V, which we did everyday in both directions, took at least 40 minutes, not the 20 as suggested in other reviews( unless there was a shortcut we didn't find!) the road is busy and there are a few roundabouts to cross which can be tricky.
All in all we quite enjoyed our stay but it could be made so much better with some minor changes to rooms and breakfast. On previous visit we stayed at a riad in the Medina for only a little more money and would certainly recommend looking at other options or doing more research before booking - we didn't!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gooders271051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

While this hotel gets lots of positive reviews for it's friendly, family atmosphere and facilities I wonder what other hotels it is being compared to. It is reasonably well located and decorated In traditional style with friendly staff, but it definitely is a no frills hotel.
Don't come here if you are claustrophobic! The rooms are crowded with bits and pieces of uncomfortable furniture, the beds and canopies are covered in animal print fabric and the beds are surrounded with frilly nylon curtains. Together with the dim lighting, large paintings on all the dark coloured walls and the tiled floors the atmosphere is overpowering. One feels as if you can't breathe.

Don't opt for the 'dinner included' package as the food is very poor value, no choice and far from what we considered typically Moroccan. One evening we were presented with a plate of grated vegetables smothered in mayonnaise with several chunks of canned, compressed meat paste (Spam) sitting on top. The fish tagine was canned tuna meatballs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaf_2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#407 of 500 in Marrakech
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#400 of 500 in Marrakech
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#129 of 500 in Marrakech
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#432 of 500 in Marrakech
105 reviews
1.4 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#369 of 500 in Marrakech
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#448 of 500 in Marrakech
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Property: Moroccan House Hotel
Address: 3, Rue Loubnane | Guéliz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing