We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moroccan House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moroccan House Hotel
Ranked #288 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Pros:
Comfy bed. Good air con. Wifi connection from our room on the second floor. Pleasant staff. Nice quiet pool area. Nice traditional decor. Nice breakfast on the roof when was able to sit on this one particular table.

Cons:
Too far from town, at least 30mins walk. Too far for us on a holiday esp in 40 degree heat
Breakfast was repetitive and boring. Limited choice and all breads all dry. Was only allowed to have 1 fried egg at breakfast. Water at the breakfast buffet was very warm by the time we arrived almost everyday. This was especially horrible as it was so hot on the roof.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetmanuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    258
    103
    48
    22
See reviews for
78
226
45
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great hotel to stay for a couple of days while visiting Marrakech. The rooms are decorated in Moroccan style which is a nice touch and makes you really feel away from home. Our room was clean and the beds were good. We ate twice at the hotel and the food was really good. You can also eat at one of the many restaurants in the neighborhood which are also good. The swimming pool is a nice extra and was clean so we used it a couple of times to take a break from the heat. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GenjiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

.. but nice for those who like a bit of kitsch. I went with a college who is quite a tall man from Norway and he did not quite fit into the single bed and had his legs squeezed thru the metal bed end. Just to pre warn- the rooms can be a bit claustrophobic if you are tall!
Its in a good neighbourhood , shops and restaurants close by not to forget the shopping malls in walking distance. The swimming pool is divine and the massage at the spa too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank etub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here with my teenage son in July. It's a simple hotel. The rooms are spotless and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was absolutely delicious and for anyone interested in Moroccan food I can recommend asking at reception about learning to cook in the pristine hotel kitchen. We spent a morning with the lovely chef and she taught us how to cook a lamb tagine and make a traditional Moroccan salad. We then had the pleasure of eating our own efforts for lunch! There is no bar at the hotel, which may put some people off, but that would be a shame. In any case, there are other local hotels where you can pop in for a drink.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizNeedham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here when the temperature was 43 C. The air conditioning worked perfectly (no extra charge). the room was spotless, cleaned and the (comfortable) bed made daily. There was a fridge which was an absolute must! I felt that the hotel provided a quiet and fairly laid back atmosphere and interesting layout and decor. The staff were unobtrusive but very helpful when asked and helped me quite a bit with local knowledge. Tipping is very much the norm as everywhere in Marrakech, but I found that no one was pushy and that it was hassle free. Smoking was permitted at least in the ground floor sitting areas. I would normally choose smoke free accommodation, but I hardly noticed it. Breakfast was a choice of mainly sweet items. Taxis were readily available, costing 40-50Dirhams to the city centre, but walking takes about 30 minutes. There is a choice of restaurants within easy walking distance (cheaper than eating at the hotel and with more choice). I would go back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back of the hotel. There was a lot of noise from children playing in the pool be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in room 51 on the top floor of the hotel (on the street side.) The hotel was very clean and the hotel staff always friendly and very helpful. The room was large for the size of hotel this is. Contray to previous comments, we didn't have any issue with the noise from the vars below us.

The pool is small, but gets sun all day if you're willing to move around for it, and is quiet due to the high walls around it.

The hotel was, for us, too far to walk to the Medina but a taxi there was 30dh (£2.30.) I personally liked being a bit further away from the noise of the Medina in the evening.

Overall I loved this beautiful hotel and think if you are looking for a base to expolre Marrakech from, this hotel is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kallie-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We used the hotel as base before and after we went trekking in the Atlas Mountains.
As usual with my reviews, I'll break it down:
Location: 25 mins walk from market square. It's easily walkable and a taxi is only 20dhs per person. Some nice gardens located near by as well, which are worth a look.
Price- seems reasonable.
Pool - yes there is a pool out the back and is a good sun trap at various times of the day. No lifeguard, but there is a child section.
Food - tasty. The roof top terrace is very pleasant and a good way to start the day.
Rooms - a real mixed bag we found. Quite basic really, but functional; they do have aircon.
Service - pleasant but quite slow. The guy who cleans the pool was also very odd and was jumping in the pool with the guests... His mad dives were complained about when he kept soaking the guests and we pointed out the large no diving sign - his reply "that's for you, not me".
Decor - clean and well in line with its surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#120 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#369 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#431 of 504 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#245 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#240 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#132 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moroccan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moroccan House Hotel

Property: Moroccan House Hotel
Address: 3 Rue Lobnane | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moroccan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, the first of its kind, provides its visitors with different services and in an architectural style. Moroccan House Marrakech is at the center of the city. It is easy walking distance to many major attractions, theatres, shopping.... It consists of five floors and fifty rooms with different grades (3*, 4*, 5*). Here, you are not in an ordinary hotel, it is like a Riad, a traditional Moroccan house where visitors are cordially received. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Moroccan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moroccan Hotel Marrakech
Moroccan Marrakech
Moroccan House Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing