We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
88
102
65
40
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
102
65
40
106
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 401 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2007

Firstly, it's best to understand that NOONE knows where this Riad is, so ensure you book a taxi through the hotel before you arrive to ensure an easy start to your trip!

Thankfully, we did just that but our first day was difficult as it's amazingly difficult to get your barings within the medina. However, once you've done just that, Marakesh is a great experience indeed.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and although our suite didn't seems to be a suite at all (not as discribed) it had a huge, comfy bed and a lovely hot shower which is all we needed so we were happy.

The riad itself is amazing and spacious and the roof terrace proved a wonderful place to watch the total lunar eclipse.

In all, I'd recommend this place but it's not for the faint hearted if you're not adept at finding your way around!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Noo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

We travelled with a small tour group and were allocated a small but acceptable room in this riad. The public areas are delightful and breakfast on the roof terrace (you might have to insist a bit for it to be served there) is a lovely way to start the day. However you can imagine our horror on waking in the middle of the second night to find our sheets spattered with blood and several little brown creatures in bed with us - we are pretty sure they were bedbugs! We showed the evidence to one of the sisters in the morning but it was only on our suggestion that they offered a room change. In the event we were then given a very nice suite and thoroughly enjoyed the rest of our stay. Obviously from reading the consistently glowing reviews of this riad, we were just very unfortunate.

Stayed: February 2007
6  Thank lynandnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2007

The staff are all very helpful and solve most problems readily. The taxi took a bit of time to pick us up from the airport. The position is ideal for exploring the medina/souks and the place. Breakfast and meals were fine, though I suspect the table napkins get laundered occasionally. The plumbing was temperamental:cold shower, scalding water in handbasin. Lovely rooms, you will feel you are in a different world; this is not the usual type of holiday hotel. It would be great if the petit taxis knew where the amssafah is; maps and explanations of how to get from a to b are not very helpful. The solicitations of traders and the haggling were very irritating. You end up mistrusting everyone. It reminded me of star wars out posts. Exciting,scary at times a life experience.

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank busheyted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2007

stayed at this Riad for 5 nights. average overall. Need to be more customer orientated and would suggest the following. when guests have arrived they should be shown to their rooms immediately and not be kept to wait 30 minutes. The moroccan tea can wait .
Rooms really should be made up each morning. We were there 5 nights and the beds were never made up nor the towels changed in all that time
Eating at the hotel is way too expensive. Prices so much cheaper elsewhere.
Friendly staff however. We did 2 day trips which involved a too early start for breakfast but they accomodated by providing a tray the night before.
Breakfast in the morning was fine but could have been improved with the addition of some fruit and yogurt. Costs very little but would make a good impression

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank corkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2007

Just returned from this riad - Mid February 2007. All building work seems to have been finished.
We had a great stay. We had two rooms - a minisuite for us and a bedroom for two teenage children ( which was upgraded FOC to a minisuite on arrival ). We booked via the internet some months in advance, but despite them not taking a deposit the booking was no problem, including the pick up from the airport. The owners are great hosts, very helpful.

This is not one of those designer chic riads you read so much about. It is simply traditionally furnished, and perhaps a little bigger than some other riads ( which means small tour groups can be accomodated there ) and the excellent rates reflect this. The rooms on the top floor are probably the quietist.

The best thing about the hotel is its location. In the north of the medina, surrounded by narrow busy streets. Its a 10 minute walk to the square, which after doing a couple of times isn't too difficult to navigate, but for me, I would never tire of that walk. There is such a lot too see. In this part of the medina people are living and working, praying and shouting, meeting and talking, shopping and sleeping. It's all happening, It's just a privilege to see. We visited a hotel in the South of the medina. If we had stayed there our experience of the city would have been totally different, and all the more poorer for that.
Stay here. You will never forget Marakesh

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Nevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews