We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
88
102
65
40
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
102
65
40
106
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 401 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2008

We arrived by taxi, and the driver did not know where the riad was located. The location is in a maze within the Souk. I would say that you definitely should organise a transfer from the airport as part of a package.

The porter 'Aziz' asked for money / tips at every opportunity (help with our bags, fixing leaks in the room, replacing lights etc.)

When we arrived the bathroom light did not work. It wasn't fixed until we had 'tipped' Aziz. The next day the main light in the room went and again we had to tip to get it fixed.

Breakfast was outside in the courtyard, which in November was very cold. You couldn't eat inside. The place had a feel of Fawlty Towers about it. There was no TV in our room (though there were some in a few rooms), the toilet leaked and the rooms on the first floor have no glass windows, just wooded shutters, making it very dark indeed.

I did not find anyone in the riad friendly. In fact they went out of their way to fleece us at every opportunity. Until the last day when they charged us and another couple 400 Dirham to go to the airport. A journey that should have been 150 Dirham.

I had a horrible experience and would not recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank missyp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Well located Riad .(once you get your bearings) The initial walk to the jemma el fna square is a little bit daunting; the biggest culture shock my partner and I ever had.But the locals are mostly friendly.
Do be prepared for a step back in time though as well as a few sorry sights.
The Riad itself really is an oasis from the hustle and bustle of the city (It would have been more of an oasis though if our shower worked conistently)
All staff helpful, especially "Aziz" who bent over backwards to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible.
Breakfast is a selection of soft cheese, jam, marmalade , eggs with bread and butter tea and coffee and orange juice. This was quite sufficent and tasty.We never ate meals at the Riad as we like to eat in the city on holidayThe hotel interiors really are like a movie set (if you are not used to staying in these types of places.)
But dont let this distract you from the fact that this is a "run of the mill " Riad I would probably stay here again, my partner "Claudia "though says she would rather not.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scambilator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

Got it from Travelrepublic (who got it from medhotels.com) So many mixed reports about this place. All i can say is my wife & i are glad we booked this place , it was the first we came across , we were tempted by other hotels outside the medina ,plusher ,grander etc.also other riads in not such run down areas, but please stay here, rooms are good ,breakfast will see you through to lunch time. mixed feelings about staff (see baziz, he spins the thread in the adjoining workshop/shop, great bloke will draw you all the maps you want and are very accurate.he also speaks very good english , as for getting there use the riad transfer ,ok its 100 dh each but is worth it ,or get a cab from outside the airport (much cheaper option) and ask for "Chrob au chouf fountain (not a fountain as we would know it but a public water supply and very famous ),amssafah is about 50 meters left of this place as you face it,so get the cabby to take you that bit further ,if you seen the pics you will recognise the arch . its on your right as the alli bends round to the left. The cabby probably isnt gonna go much further than that arch anyway (gets kinda narrow)
ok the area initially may feel a bit daunting but i have never felt safer, the people are great no probs anytime day or night , if you want to be "in the painting" and not just observe stay here .Any questions please get in touch.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2008

My Girlfriend booked this short trip at the last minute without us really checking out much about the Riad, we read some reviews on here after booking and the overall impression we got was that it would be an OK Riad, nothing fancy, and some of the reviews we actually thought were very negative.

We turned up, wow, after being seated whilst being checked in we were served with mint tea and biscuits, and whilst some fellow travelers moaned and thought this meant there would be a long wait in store before we were shown to our rooms we were perfectly happy to sit, relax, drink the lovely tea and soak up the Moroccan atmosphere in the Riad. That moves on nicely to the next point, albeit this is the only Riad we have been to, but even so the décor was great, a plunge pool (albeit too cold at this time of the year), a great roof terrace with loungers and views of the Atlas mountains, and great cubby holes everywhere that felt like little pockets of calm and peace.

After a few drinks on the first night, some great Moroccan food in a restaurant reminiscent of a cruise ship form the 60’s (check out the classy fairy lights in the mural on the wall meant to resemble windows, you will know what I mean if you end up here), we wandered back to the hotel. Inevitably we got lost, even with the amazing map that had been drawn up by someone in the hotel, but I think this was more to do with the consumption of wine than the quality of the map, which was so detailed. Some reviews mentioned how far out the Riad is, it is a ten minute walk at most to the main square, and with the map it really would be a struggle to get lost. On return to the hotel, and fancying another wine or two, the very very helpful porter/waiter/general helper said it was fine to get a bottle of wine and that he had somewhere nice to take us. At which point we were led in to a large living room, with seats all around and a roaring log fire, it was a perfect end to a great day.

Yes breakfast in the morning was simple, but so what, surely bread, eggs, yoghurt, orange juice and coffee is enough for any traveler, and if it isn’t maybe you should remember this is not a five star hotel in a developed country, and why spend ages eating breakfast in the hotel when you should be out exploring. The rooms are also simple, but again so what, we took candles and found that this, together with the very intricate carvings on the ceiling created a perfect little idyllic room, even if it did get a little cold at night!

All in all, the service was great, every member of staff smiled (watching the cleaners, who after spending 7 hours solid cleaning were still singing and giggling with each other was such a pleasant sight), the Riad was beautiful, the breakfast was sufficient and the location was fine. I have already recommended this place to friends going in April and will continue to do so. I felt this Riad needed a good, long, positive review to get across how cool the place actually is.

Tristan

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalGooner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

I booked this Riad with the TUI group online. The first thing that attracted me was the price, £50 per night B&B for the 3 of us. I compared the reviews on TA which were mixed, but I was generally happy with what I read.

To start with, I wouldn't recommend this Riad if you are a first time visitor to Marrakech. This Riad is situated deep in the medina and quite a way away from the Jemma al Fna square. There are two ways to the square from the Riad, one through the souks (which can't be accessed past 20.00) the other is via the backstreets of the Medina. The Riad staff were excellent in drawing us maps for both ways, but it is confusing at first.

If you are a second time or regular visitor to Marrakech I think you wouldn't find the situation of the Riad a problem however it is hidden in a residential area. It can be quite daunting, as often you will be the only European face around. We didn't find this a problem as the locals we encountered were mostly friendly and helpful however you will encounter some real poverty in this area as well as some persistent 'would be' guides. Hardened travellers will be less bothered by this but this is real Marrakechi life. Perhaps first timers will need a Riad closer to the square.

The Riad in context was a good 2 star option. The staff were friendly and always willing to help. I booked a taxi transfer with the Riad for 100 dh pp. The riad has 20 rooms and we booked a superior room which was comfortable if a little faded. Beware the beds are hard! The room was clean and the linnen was pristine.
Bathroom was functional with fresh towels daily. One bad point is the showers, which have typical Moroccan plumbing, and don't work with the Air Con on!

The Riad is safe to say falls into the Shabby Chic category. It has a scenic pool, around which breakfast and dinner is served. There are 3 lounges to relax and read in and a sun terrace on the roof with plenty of loungers and chairs available.
Credit cards are accepted here and the Riad will book trips for you on request, though we didn't do this.

Breakfast was brought to your table and was a combination of pancakes, bread, jam, yoghurt and hard boiled eggs. I did see other people ordering different things however i'm not sure if this was extra in cost.

Overall, we didn't book the Mamounia and nither did we pay Mamounia prices. What we got was a reasonably priced Riad in a residential area, 15 minutes walk away from the square.

Laurence

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurenceb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews