We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
88
102
65
40
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
102
65
40
106
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 401 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a traditional room on the top floor overlooking the courtyard. At first sight we were a little disappointed, but the room grew on you and the traditional furnishings, tho' a little tired, were charming. Fatima and her team were very helpful and friendly - and seemed to be permanently cleaning! The public areas were traditional but could have been a bit more comfortable - and would have been nice if the lighting was upgraded and the heaters kept on in the colder weather. We ate there on our first evening and were not disappointed with the Morrocan soup and chicken tagine, washed down with some acceptable beer and all reasonably priced. Location is grand - you are straight into the hustle and bustle of the Medina and only 15 mins or so from the "big square", yet indoors you would never know that as very quiet and tranquil. Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diningqueen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We just came back from a stay at Riad Amssaffah and what a great find!
The staff were so genuine and friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
Our bedroom was very traditional and made our holiday that bit more special.
The bed is the most comforable bed we have ever slept in.
Fatima and the team put some hospitality professionals in this country to shame!
We will definitely return, but will book direct this time and not through rip-off merchants Thomas Cook.
Can't wait to stay here again. Thankyou for an amazing holiday!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great staff here, always smiling and willing to help.
My room was a little dirty, no heating (I was freezing in December!)....My toilet was broken.
Rooms need updating and cleaning...
Location is great, although I did feel unsafe at times walking around.
Thank you to the staff, they were brilliant.

Room Tip: Great location, great staff....Be careful walking around, especially at night. I felt unsafe. If you are visiting in winter, pack a big jumper as I had no heating.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

ok the rooms and the place need updating but the staff and the location is first rate and at the end of the day, isn't that what really matters? Ok the rooms too, but they were big enough but a little basic but this reflected in the costs being charged.
Fatima and her staff are always willing to help and advise and you are a 10 minute walk from the main square and yes there are better riads, but a lot more cost too. But in a way for us that added to the charm of the place. Yes it could do with a touch up and a bit of TLC but from what we saw of the other riads, this place had the character.
I would probably forgoe the dinner in the evening at the riad as plenty of places nearby and cheaper but breakfast, whilst not 5 star, was certainly filling and included in the price we paid. Not sure about the 16 dirhams each for tax though?
All in all for the cost (£165) for 5 nights ( inc. flights from England) and a great location, it gave us no room for complaint but if you are looking for 5 star luxury this is not for you. But if you want value for money in a short holiday to Marrakech with great location and indeed an interesting riad...this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Avoid the trip to the pharmacy next door if you want to save time and beware anybody offering to help/guide you, it could prove expensive and do go on the tour to the Atlas mountains arranged by the hotel, its cheaper than most.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sboydman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a nice Riad, fresh tangerine juice of a morning, helpful staff, but spoilt by the fact that some lights are not working, bedside lamps in room not operational. We also had one morning at around about 6am a very noisy bunch of French tourist who decided to talk at the top of their voices while at breakfast.

The Riad is ideally situated to get to the market and other sites.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec7228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews