We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Amssaffah
Nearby Hotels
$219
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Vendome & Spa Marrakech(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$56
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$399
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$635
$443
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$361
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$321
$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$458
$439
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,070
$1,030
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
88
102
65
40
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
102
65
40
106
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 401 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Booked with Blue Skies Travel, Cardiff. After being dropped off by the airport transfer in a very busy street + told to wait, I was ready to go back and book us into a 5 star hotel we had passed in the new town. When appeared Aziz the travel rep + a young lad who I called the bell boy. Carrying both cases we followed the pair for about 5 - 10 mins through a maze of busy cobbled streets, what an eye opener, this was real Marrakech. Eventually under an arch way finding the Riad.
It was an oasis of peace and tranquillity after the chaos in the narrow streets. We were shown our room, which was typical Morrocon decor, with a massive Queen size bed, hard but very comfortable, we slept like logs every night. Plenty of storage space ( loads of coat hangers in the wardrobe ). Bathroom was spacious, with walk in shower, powerful and very hot. Rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels.
The staff were always helpful, great having the Rep there to give out the maps + advice, because you will get lost, we did, but it didnt take us long to get our bearings. Breakfast was basic, fresh orange juice, very tasty fresh bread, butter, jam, yogurts and fresh hot coffee. Be prepared to be hassled by boys in the streets trying to give you directions, and you have to haggle for everything.
Although the Riad was a walk from the main square I would not have wanted to have stayed anywhere else, we saw the real Morrocon way of life. Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tuscanyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Amssaffah for 5 nights as a birthday treat from my husband. This was our first visit to Morocco, so we were rather nervous, especially when we were told the taxi would drop us at a Riad 7 mins away, and that there was no promise of anyone to walk us the rest of the way.

We booked a private (rather than group) transfer to the Riad, and the driver took us most of the way by car, then walked us the rest of the way, for which we were hugely grateful wheeling our suitcases which was hugely appreciated.. we were exhausted after a long days travel. We tipped him of course.. everything costs money here so try and get some bits of change before you fly out, or at least get some small notes in the airport)

The room was a bit odd because there were no outside windows, just wooden shutters that opened into the court yard. The bed was huge, and comfortable, we slept well with the help of the extra blanket that was in the wardrobe. The power sockets are in the most unhelpful places you could imagine (behind the huge bed head, high above the shower in the bathroom, and behind the huge dresser near the door) but we managed :-D The shower did get lovely and hot if you waited a while for the hot water to come through!

The staff - Fatima and Aziz were very polite, helpful and quite friendly.. all we had to do was ask for help and it was given. Fatimas map was very useful - we found the "after 8pm route" was the best way to go, as it was straightforward.

The breakfasts were simple but good, and we had our evening meal there one night. They didt have a veggie Tagine on their list, but they made one for me, which was appreciated!

Hamid the holiday rep who visits the Riad every morning was wonderful!!! He speaks good English and fluent French, is very friendly and happy just to sit down and chat, as well as helping with tours or evenings out, like Fantasia.

We went on the Fantasia trip, which was unintentionally hilarious, partly because it rained, so the display poor and soggy (would have been poor anyway but the heavy rain just made the whole thing funny!) The food at the evening was Ok, and they created a veggie option for me.

The building itself is 300 years old, but was made into a Riad about 12 years ago. It is a really beautiful building, with lots of traditional (and probably original) decorations, so staying there was a pleasure.

I would love to go back at some point, its a City that assaults your senses, and is so very different to the UK!

Tips for Marrakesh.. learn a few important phrases in French if nothing else "Non Merci" is useful, tip waiters, ignore people (or say no thank you) to people who offer to help you find your way, be polite, smile, and haggle hard, decide on your price in advance, and if they are not willing to go down that far, just walk away. There are LOADS of stalls all offering the item/s you are after!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for the room away from the Mosque unless you want to get woken by the Call to Prayer at 5am.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Amssaffah in February and found it to be an ideal place to experience Marrakech. We had our transfers organised by the Riad and were met at the airport, a slight word of caution the transfers guy (not connected with the Riad) might try and sell you 'experiences' these are at over inflated prices dont book them!

The Riad is right in the heart of old town so you have to walk a little out of the van - great introduction to the crazy small streets of Marrakech. The Riad itself is a wonderful traditional 300 year old Riad and we were made to feel very very welcome.
Fatima the hostess was lovely and helped us out so much - from sourcing us food when starving from the plane to helping us not get lost. Our room was a large double with a massive bed and good shower (decorated in that classical embellished moroccan style) and we had no complaints.

The breakfasts were served each morning with either a fried crepe (Beghrir) or Morocoo style pancake (Rghaif), amazing fresh orange juice, bread and yoghurt. We found the dinners to be very nice too and good for if you just wanted something without any hassel. You can find better value out in the city but the Tagines at the Riad were very tasty, we also highly highly recommend their Chicken Pastilla's which Fatima made for us on request, amazing.

The location is easy to find once you know your way round the city, its right next to the Souks and a short walk to the main square. Just following the instructions the first few times and you get to know it pretty quickly.

Lastly one of the highlights of the Riad was just the open feel to the place, it was great being able to read on the rooftop as the sun went down. The whole place felt like a little haven while still being quintessentially Moroccan.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyDeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have just come back from three nights stay at this riad.Whilst the staff were friendly and helpful the hotel is a cold dark and uncomfortable in the extreme. Our huge bed with its greying linen was like a block of concrete. There were no windows in the room. IT was like an underground bunker. The tiolet seat was hanging off. Towels thin and grey. Breakfast passable. Our friends room had no working bathroom light so they were moved up a floor. The aircon/heaterdidn't work and they froze. They had trouble gettng into the room but Aziz managed the lock. The next morning,unable to unlock the door he had to climb out of the window (at least they had one!) no glass just shutters to raise the alarm.My advice would be to stay in the ville nouvelle at a modern hotel. You'll be glad to get out of the medina after a days harrassment and grime!

Room Tip: somewhere else
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having never travelled to Morocco or stayed in riad-style accommodation before I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but I was pleasantly surprised by this riad. We were collected from the airport and dropped off at the Riad without a hitch. Not sure we'd have found it ourselves, so we were glad we opted for the 'transfer'. The riad itself is beautiful, although a little rough around the edges. The rooms are basic, but clean. It is a really good base for exploring the souk and the map that Fatima (the owner) gave us was perfect. Fatima and the staff are very accommodating, and were very forthcoming with advice on where to go and what to see. I would definitely opt to stay here again if I travel to Marrakesh again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STR675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews