We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad...”
Review of Riad Amssaffah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Amssaffah
Ranked #471 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not bad...”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Booked this via Lastminute.com and it is satisfactory. Fatima (the third wife of the elderly owner) organised a car pick up from the airport. The driver spent the time texting instead of focusing on the road and ran down two men en route to the riad. We were sat in the back while a big row ensued. Fatima was less than sympathetic when we arrived. We ending up paying 50% of the agreed (high) price as we explained that we felt we had nearly been injured with such an experience. Throughout our stay we felt that the atmosphere was frosty, although Aziz the waiter was kind. He gets well tipped by tourists at the end of their stay and he is helpful so deserves it. The walk to the Djmaa El Fna is straightforward once you grasp it - and it takes a while. You get a lot of hassle from boys/men telling you the wrong way so they can step in and help you once you are lost. You end up paying for this with money or they get aggressive. Fatima has a hand drawn map but it is not that great. Ask a fellow tourist to tell you the way! If this had not been part of my lastminute.com trip I would get a riad nearer the square I think. Also one with slightly friendlier service.
Bonus was the gigantic bed. I did sleep really well here but did have ear plugs and an eye mask! Breakfasts are more than adequate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lizziedjango30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    102
    65
    40
    106
See reviews for
48
178
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a great hotel, as long as you can find it through the souks! It took a couple of days, but we eventually found our way around. In Marrakech, you kind of just have to go with the flow and not plan on getting from A to B by a set time.

The staff were exceptional - I have nothing but good things to say about Fatima, Asma, Aziz and all the others. We felt like part of the family. Aziz tended to every need, any time of day or night.

The rooms were good (I believe we were in upgraded rooms) - large rooms, huge comfortable beds, working air con, good bathrooms. All very clean.

They really made this weekend a success!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAMair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just got back from a week at this beautiful Riad. The staff are every bit as good as the location and decor. Owned by a Moroccan family, the food (extra cost apart from breakfast) is delicious and each room is different (but on the basic side). The cleaners and Aziz work extremely hard and take time to remember things about you if you spend time talking to them. The pool is perfect for cooling off and a short swim and the sun terrace is sparsely furnished but spacious and a great place to hear the call to prayer from the surrounding mosques (you can't really hear it from other parts of the riad). The location in the Medina amongst the souks is brilliant and they advise you to follow the Rue Moussaine to the Jemaa El Fna which takes 10-15 minutes. All round we had a fab time and would love to go back.

Room Tip: The double rooms have beautiful beds and make sure you ask for anything you don't have eg. fridg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yorkiehannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Arrived in the dead of night after having our luggage lost, everyone was very helpful. We stayed for a week in February 2012, the riad is in a great location for the souks, the decor throughout is lovely, plenty of places to sit and relax, good but basic roof terrace for sunbathing. When we were there the weather was too cold to go in the small pool but it would be great for dipping toes in the heat of summer.

Staff were great, especially a young boy who runs errands, he took us to the shop, helped us find taxis and put logs on the fire for us. We felt very welcome at all times.

Thoroughly recommend this Riad

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosao91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

we have just got back from a three night stay and in the short time there was made very welcome by all of the staff, who drew us little maps and walked us to local attractions, admitted finding your way back in the dark is an experience but there are plenty of people willing to take you back for a few dirham, i usually tipped between 10 and 20, there are around 13 to the pound so not a huge expence, we found this only added to the whole experience of Marrakesh. It was without a doubt the most eye opening and lively experience on holiday we have ever had the pleasure to be part of, and we will return next year to this riad with our four children as its definitely something everyone should experience.
A few things to be aware of are the men and youths who say they will take you to a place to eat/buy something or see something, totally do not believe anything they tell you as they are on to a tip from the bar or shop owner and will expect a tip from you as well, also if a shop keeper says 500 dirhams, offer what you think its worth as they are looking at how much thay think they can get out of you, be firm and polite and have a laugh with them and you usually can get a fair price. In my experience 500 dirhams can value the item at anything from 50 dirhams to around a 100.
Apart from that keep a very open mind and enjoy the whole assault on your senses.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

booked here to stay with my mum for a week on the 28th of march, had read reviews before and expected a quite basic, small riad. we arrived about 8 o'clock and the minibus dropped us about 5 minutes away as the streets were too small for it to get down, one of the drivers helped with our suitcases and walked us to show us the way to the riad, to be honest we were quite scared as we were walking because it was very dark and there were a few men standing around the streets looking as we walked past but when we got into the riad it was lovely. very traditional beautiful Moroccan decor just as we wanted, it is also quite big with loads of seating space and a large roof terrace. the staff were all friendly and fatima was especially helpful making us a map of the best way to get to the square and around marrakech. breakfast was nice and the room was very clean, room cleaned every day and given new toilet rolls and clean towels each day. the souks are great and the big square is about a 10/15 minute walk away through these. best to get a taxi home after 8 o'clock, and make sure you tell the driver to take you right to the door. the moroccan people are very nice as long as you are nice to them and not ignorant like some people were, we stopped and spoke to them everyday and got to know them well. another thing i was worried about is what to wear, we thought we might have to be covered up to respect their culture but any clothes are okay. i wore shorts and vest tops many days and this was fine, i also seen a lot of people wearing this type of stuff. the weather wasnt great, quite warm but cloudy and rained a few nights. overall we had a brilliant time and would definitely come back to marrakech and riad amssaffah!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laura y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in March 2012. Nice welcome, homely stay, very friendly and pleasant service and always happy to advise and help beyond expectations. Rooms were better than what we were expecting for a Riad - and were pleasantly surprised. Good location, right in the centre of Medina and walking distance for the main square, souks and other sightseeing areas in Medina. Fatima, the receptionist looked after us well and was extremely helpful, and so were the other staff. A truely good Riad experience. AJ

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#45 of 499 in Marrakech
1,237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#231 of 499 in Marrakech
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#80 of 1,148 in Marrakech
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 499 in Marrakech
1,967 reviews
11.8 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amssaffah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amssaffah

Property: Riad Amssaffah
Address: Bab Taghzout Diour Saboun Amssafah,, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #471 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Amssaffah 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Amssaffah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amssaffah Marrakech
Riad Amssaffah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing