We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
88
102
65
40
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
102
65
40
106
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 401 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Traditional and comfortable rooms, well decorated in traditional style. Riad is a little difficult to find so recommend you get the address in English and Arabic but do not expect to dropped at the door!! The sisters who run the Riad are a mind of local info and have great maps to get you around. They will help with absolutely anything. All the staff are friendly and can't do enough for you. Breakfast is a bit repetitive, the evening meal we had at very short notice was very good even if the portions were a bit small, i.e just meat no veg or cous cous but do try to give them notice and you will have greater choice. Also they seemed to need notice if you wanted wine as they had none chilled, this was surprising. Cold Beer is available at anytime and at a reasonable price Be aware that the roof is not really geared up for sun bathing, however if pushed they will bring out some beds (not sun beds), this is a shame as the roof could be a fantastic assest and it could be used for a lot more. Splash pool is very refreshing. Amazing building and very quiet once you get past the front door, really very relaxing. Marrakech is busy and noisy and people will not take no for an answer which after a while can get annoying, in general most people are very pleasant but some are very rude.
Reccomend Cafe Arabe for good Italian food and fantastic roof top for beers, wines and cocktails and views. Also Al Barraka is good experoence but not cheap but definately worth it. Even the square offers good food very cheapily and they do make you laugh with Del Boy impressions and repeating Asda and Sainsbury ads!!!! Strongly recommend this Riad and this city.

Room Tip: insist on a/c and fridge. We heard that some rooms had
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptbseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We loved the Riad, it was incredible. The staff were lovely and kind, the rooms were very comfortable and the place was beautiful. Not comparible to large modern hotels- (some comments on here have criticised a lack of tea/coffee amenities etc.) We had a magical experience here, and felt like royalty in this beautiful little palace. It is a very calm and quiet place amongst the hullabaloo of the souks, which are wonderful but can be overwhelming. It is a little walk from Djemma el Fnaa (about 10 mins through the souks), from where you can get taxis etc. Let us impart with you a little direction advice in order for you to find the square:

Turn to the right,
Turn to the right,
Head through the stonnnnes (Two stones under arch)
Cafe Arab to the left,
Bain to the left (Shop that had bath outside, but you can identify this part of the journey simply as a crossroads where you...)
Turn to the right....

Cafe Bourganviiiiiiiiilia (to the tune of the Marseilleise)
Turn to the left
Bear to the right
Bear to the right
DJEMMA EL FNAA!

Overall we would recommend this riad, particularly for couples. Staying in the middle of the souks does wear you out, so if you would prefer some distance from the craziness of the old town then maybe stay a little further out, perhaps in the new town. (There were even some hotels we passed in Ourika valley that looked amazing, but about half an hour's drive from the medina.) If you have a large family or are a big group of friends, perhaps the riad might be a bit quiet for you, (because it is so beautiful and the staff are so polite.)

I wouldn't recommend making your first trip out of the riad at night, as this is what we did and got lost, which was a bit scary in the dark on our first day.

If people tell you a road is closed or 'this is the way to the square' say 'no thank you' and persevere with your map reading, or getting lost, or reciting a helpful song in your head- whichever works for you.

Breakfast was lovely, bountiful supply of food, coffee and tea. Lovely lovely ladies who waited on you hand and foot.

We booked with Teletext holidays and it was very cheap.

Another final tip- listen out for the little birds that dance around the courtyard at night, stand on the roof terrace and listen to the call to prayer in the evening. Apart from this, it is amazing how much of the noise of the medina is trapped out of the riad.

ENJOY

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matthan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Just returned from a stay in Riad Amssafah. When we arrived and I saw the entrance beneath an arch I was worried about what I had booked but when the door opened, wow 100% traditional moroccan, it was fabulous. No there wasnt tea and coffee as previous guest has written on here but it is Marrakech not Blackpool. I took my travel kettle and tea and coffee with me as I did not expect to find it here. Can be difficult to find when wandering around so on the map I had in my travel guide I asked receptionist to mark the Riad and we had not trouble at all. A Riad is a traditional home for extended Moroccan families in the past and it does have a homely feel about it. Rooms also have a fridge which is great to keep water and wine cool. Had a fabulous night out at the Fantasia show which is on, wonderful traditional Moroccan meal and then a show with beautiful horses in the outside arena to follow, all finished off with a firework display. Also done a great trip into Atlas mountains, breakfast with a Berber family and lunch in a beautiful hotel all included for around £30. Will stay here again if i return.

Room Tip: Get good travel guide with map of the medina enc.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Recently come back from here and would not recommend anyone to go. First day we got robbed (threatened with violence unless we paid a sum of money) literally on the doorstep of the riad. The receptionist found it funny and did not offer to call the police etc. The rooms very rarely have hot water. The location is the opposite side of the souks from the main square, which although is a 15-20 min walk it's very scary and hostile when dark. The entrance is down a dark secluded alley and very hard to find. If you must go to Marrakech stay elsewhere, best to stay out of the old town. It's ok for a day walking around but not that much to see apart from a few museums and mosques.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CFreestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I wanted to experience Morrocco - and opted for a Riad as opposed to a hotel.
It was sold as a four star... It was Mis-sold.
Once a fine building, it is now evidently living on past glories.
Oozing a decadent charm it tries it's best but I expected more.
The rooms although clean, didn't have tea/ coffee facilities, or regular hot water. Shuttered windows meant we heard everything from prayer calls, other guests, cleaners- it wasn't relaxing.
The roof terrace was under stocked and smelt of cat urine.
And the unimaginative breakfast... Groundhog day!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malajusted1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews