We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely terrible.”
Review of Riad Bahja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Bahja
Ranked #245 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2009

I booked Riad Bahja on lastminute.com and received email confirmation of the booking. I (a female) and my sister arrived into Marrakech at 6pm as night was falling. I had read online that the riad was down a few alley ways and indeed the riad is. This would not have been such a problem except that when we arrived at the riad and buzzed the front door there was no answer. We stood in a dark alley with a local man who'd helped us with our bags for about 15-20 minutes buzzing the doorbell and trying to contact the riad by telephone (the phone rang out repeatedly). Ultimately, we gave up and had to rely on this local man (completely unknown to us) to take us to another riad (if you can imagine, this was quite worrying for two western female travellers in Marrakech). Fortunately, he led us to a decent riad so we had a roof over our heads for the night. This was a very stressful situation and I am hoping (!) for a full refund of my pre-paid accommodation at this riad.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LondonBluecloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 116 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2009

We were delighted with our experience at the Riad Bahja. The second you step in through the front door, the peace, calm and cool hits you. The central courtyard was beautifully decorated with roses all over the place.

We were very surprised to be the only guests there for the whole of our five day stay! We had a fabulous room on the first floor - very spacious, with a comfortable bed and lovely soft bed linen and effective air conditioning. Nice bathroom too.

The staff looked after us very well and were charming and courteous. We did, however, find that messages weren't always passed on - such as requesting dinner at the riad one evening. But there's plenty of choice for other places to eat so it was not a major problem!

Breakfast was delicious but carb-heavy. Amazing fresh orange juice though.

Don't be put off by the shabby-looking route to the Riad - the worst 'harrassment' we got as two young females was a 'bonjour les gazelles'. Definitely recommend asking the riad to book a transfer from the airport (200dh, rip off but probably worth it to avoid the stress) - we didn't get a response to our email so had to call (phone number is [ --XXX X XX XX XX XX -- ] - it's wrong on their business cards, lastminute.com and everywhere else we tried to look it up). On the way back, though, we just walked up to the taxi rank at Bab Doukkala and got a taxi to the airport for less than 20dh!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_UK_member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

This riad was our favorite in Morocco. Yet it was not overpriced, and the cost was negotiable. The riad was unique and beautiful. We had a huge private rooftop terrace with a view of the medina. It was spotless. The riad owner was very educated and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbuds1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

crazy arrival arrived at 2a.m due to6 hours delay on our B.A flight very cold....thank goodness we prebooked a tranfer...yes we were ripped off over fare but the taxi driver had to wait hours and the Riad was difficult to find
Our room was lovely, the staff were so helpful and the meals supreme.The owner went out of his way to help us in our quest for some wine and was good company with a wonderful sense of humour. Only suggestion a couple more space heaters for the courtyard ,it really was chilly in the evenings[ well it was January]
Rick and Sue Exeter

Stayed: January 2008
Thank RafflesExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

Stayed at Riad Bahja for 4 nights for my birthday and it was an amazing experience. We were quite concerned when first dropped off by taxi at the end of a small street which leads into an awning covered local market. We were very lucky a local approached us to help find this place. It was very easy to find your way in and out once you've been shown.

This place is beautifully decorated in a central location with exceptionally peaceful setting. The courtyard is charming and the sun roof is a great place to chill out any time. Our suite overlooks the courtyard and fitted with everything we needed (do not expect TV/radio or internet connection - if you do, look somewhere else).

The manager and staffs were very friendly and helpful (there's only 1 staff each shift with an extra cleaner during the day or a cook during evening if dinner is requested by guests). Service was wonderful in every aspect. They make great mint teas and are happy to put the kettle on when you feel the thirst. Do request to have dinner at least for 1 evening. Their lamb tagine was one of the best we've had during our stay (better than Dar Moha, a rather posh expensive restaurant we've tried, also inside the Medina).

This riad can also help to arrange great excursions to various places depending on your interests. The great service and comfort of this place has made this one of the best holidays I have ever had!

I would go back again to this lovely riad.... Inshalla!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeewah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2007

My friend and I decided to end our stay in Marrakech with a stay at a Riad, and we certainly picked a good one.

The Riad was lovely and clean, the staff were wonderful and the food was the best we had on our stay. The Riad owner must have deals with the local restaurants and hammam as we met other guest from the Riad at restaurants and the hammam he recommended.

Everything was in traditional style and the staff were very helpful. In the summer there is a lovely roof top terrace where you can have your dinner. We sat in the court yard had a very relaxing mint tea before going out in the evening.

The Riad has 4 rooms. 1 on the ground floor, 2 on the first floor and one on the top floor which was the smallest. All rooms can hear if there is any noise in the court yard but the ground floor room is denfinately the worst, so my tip is the rooms on the first floor are probably the best.

The Riad is hard to find as no taxis can park near it and very few taxis even know where it is. Our taxi driver didn't have a clue where it was, but some child did and so we had him lead the way, his friend came too and they carried our suitcases for us (the Riad is down a small alley) to the door. They had done a good job as the taxi driver was totally lost (and I know that in Marrakech or Egypt if anyone offers you help they will want paying for it but these kids had done well and when other friends wanted to join in helping we had to tell them firmly No) so we tipped them well and gave about 15MAD each. Once you know where is it, it's very easy to find and get back yourself from the main square Jemaa El Fna, it's only a 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Weece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Booked twin room in Riad through Last minute.com, On arrival Riad dirty, no twin room available, no alternative accommodation offered. We had to find another Riad ourselves.
Last minute .com have failed to compensate or even contact us dispite a number of complaints.

Stayed: March 2007
3  Thank displeasedEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Asna
Riad Asna
#352 of 501 in Marrakech
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#143 of 501 in Marrakech
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#284 of 501 in Marrakech
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
2Ciels Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#33 of 501 in Marrakech
583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar El Assafir
Dar El Assafir
#315 of 501 in Marrakech
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bahja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahja

Address: 24, Derb el Jdid , Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#137 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#153 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#158 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#182 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $58 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bahja 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Bahja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bahja Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing