We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy experience”
Review of Riad Bahja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Bahja
Ranked #232 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2008

crazy arrival arrived at 2a.m due to6 hours delay on our B.A flight very cold....thank goodness we prebooked a tranfer...yes we were ripped off over fare but the taxi driver had to wait hours and the Riad was difficult to find
Our room was lovely, the staff were so helpful and the meals supreme.The owner went out of his way to help us in our quest for some wine and was good company with a wonderful sense of humour. Only suggestion a couple more space heaters for the courtyard ,it really was chilly in the evenings[ well it was January]
Rick and Sue Exeter

Stayed: January 2008
Thank RafflesExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 120 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2008

Stayed at Riad Bahja for 4 nights for my birthday and it was an amazing experience. We were quite concerned when first dropped off by taxi at the end of a small street which leads into an awning covered local market. We were very lucky a local approached us to help find this place. It was very easy to find your way in and out once you've been shown.

This place is beautifully decorated in a central location with exceptionally peaceful setting. The courtyard is charming and the sun roof is a great place to chill out any time. Our suite overlooks the courtyard and fitted with everything we needed (do not expect TV/radio or internet connection - if you do, look somewhere else).

The manager and staffs were very friendly and helpful (there's only 1 staff each shift with an extra cleaner during the day or a cook during evening if dinner is requested by guests). Service was wonderful in every aspect. They make great mint teas and are happy to put the kettle on when you feel the thirst. Do request to have dinner at least for 1 evening. Their lamb tagine was one of the best we've had during our stay (better than Dar Moha, a rather posh expensive restaurant we've tried, also inside the Medina).

This riad can also help to arrange great excursions to various places depending on your interests. The great service and comfort of this place has made this one of the best holidays I have ever had!

I would go back again to this lovely riad.... Inshalla!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeewah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2007

My friend and I decided to end our stay in Marrakech with a stay at a Riad, and we certainly picked a good one.

The Riad was lovely and clean, the staff were wonderful and the food was the best we had on our stay. The Riad owner must have deals with the local restaurants and hammam as we met other guest from the Riad at restaurants and the hammam he recommended.

Everything was in traditional style and the staff were very helpful. In the summer there is a lovely roof top terrace where you can have your dinner. We sat in the court yard had a very relaxing mint tea before going out in the evening.

The Riad has 4 rooms. 1 on the ground floor, 2 on the first floor and one on the top floor which was the smallest. All rooms can hear if there is any noise in the court yard but the ground floor room is denfinately the worst, so my tip is the rooms on the first floor are probably the best.

The Riad is hard to find as no taxis can park near it and very few taxis even know where it is. Our taxi driver didn't have a clue where it was, but some child did and so we had him lead the way, his friend came too and they carried our suitcases for us (the Riad is down a small alley) to the door. They had done a good job as the taxi driver was totally lost (and I know that in Marrakech or Egypt if anyone offers you help they will want paying for it but these kids had done well and when other friends wanted to join in helping we had to tell them firmly No) so we tipped them well and gave about 15MAD each. Once you know where is it, it's very easy to find and get back yourself from the main square Jemaa El Fna, it's only a 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Weece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Booked twin room in Riad through Last minute.com, On arrival Riad dirty, no twin room available, no alternative accommodation offered. We had to find another Riad ourselves.
Last minute .com have failed to compensate or even contact us dispite a number of complaints.

Stayed: March 2007
3  Thank displeasedEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2007

Before we went to Marrakech we had only managed to find a couple of reviews - one of the ones we saw was the one on here about the dirty alley (and no TV - from an obvious idiot!). If you havnt been to Marrakech (like ourselves) you will be in for some culture shock, the Medina is a warren of dirty alleys, filled with people, motorbikes, bycyles, donkeys, cats and well everything - and its brilliant and amazing and frustrating and tiring... Riad Bahja is in the center of this madness and from the moment you step though the door its your oasis of calm - a least when the call to prayer isnt striking up!

Basically the photos on their site give a good representation of the riad - its very nice, staff are very friendly and welcoming, and we had a lovely stay, I agree with peoples comments about initialy finding the place, there are a number of taxi buses running from the airport, the one we had (prebooked) they guided us to the riad - for your arrival a guide to the riad is essential... you just will not find it without one!


  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TimPascoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2006

The journey from the airport to the Riad Bahja was a real culture shock for me, unfortunately we did contact the hotel via email to try and arrange a transfer but received no response, so we booked through a private holiday taxi company. The street the Riad is on is a bustling market street but this was quite daunting at first, a willing guide was there when we got out of the taxi and showed us to the riad (via a donkey traffic jam!) for a small fee. Once we arrived at the Riad there was total tranquility from the loud streets outside - the layout was exactly as we had seen on the website and it was clean and friendly. Our room was nice and the furniture was traditional Morroccan and looked really smart. Every morning we were greeted with a traditional Morroccan breakfast at a time to suit ourselves, and there was a member of staff in the lobby 24 hours a day.

Although the riad was beautiful, there were a few things I would have liked to known first - not least that the Riad is placed down a side street that isn't very tourist orientated, so this can be daunting when you come home at night - saying that though, the locals were only ever friendly to us. The Riad will give you a bill for any water, tea or juice you have at the end of the week. Jmaa el Fnaa (the main attraction) is a good fifteen minutes walk away and at night time some taxi drivers will only drop you off a five minute walk away. We had the downstairs room and the windows were onto the courtyard, just next to where the staff sit, this meant every word we said could be heard and vice versa! We asked them to keep the noise down one night as there was noise well into the night. One last thing to point out is that there is no mini bar - as advertised.

I would reccommend the Riad Bahja to my friends but if you are going to Marrakesh for a week i think that is maybe too long to stay in the Riad.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tracyg2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2006

Just returned from a four night, half board, stay at the Riad Bahja.

The Riad was the highlight of our visit with it's lavishly furnished suite with traditional lamps, cushions and ornaments.

Our personal chef, Saida, called us down to dinner in the courtyard each evening and then waited on us at table. The traditional Moroccan dishes were superb (soups, stews and fish)

No response to our email requesting collection from the airport though. If the taxi driver can't locate the Riad, the mosque Bab Doukkala is shown on maps and just a 5 minute walk away.
Our Taxi driver appeared to phone ahead as children where waiting by the mosque where we were dropped off and knew
exactly where to take us (for a few coins)without further prompting

It's little hassle for an enjoyable stay and from walking around, all Riads appear to be hidden away down simliar alleyways void of any street signs.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisonHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Barroko
Riad Barroko
#339 of 502 in Marrakech
103 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#163 of 502 in Marrakech
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Asna
Riad Asna
#347 of 502 in Marrakech
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#290 of 502 in Marrakech
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#89 of 502 in Marrakech
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#306 of 502 in Marrakech
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bahja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bahja

Address: 24, Derb el Jdid , Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#132 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#150 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#153 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#182 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $58 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bahja 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Bahja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bahja Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing