We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty, good taste and solitude”
Review of Dar al Sultan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar al Sultan
Ranked #701 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Beauty, good taste and solitude”
Reviewed December 14, 2010

I stay at Dar al Sultan with my colleague. We were in Marrakesh for an inspiration trip. We work with product design. Dar al Sultan is absolutely beautiful. It is a refuge from the noise and colour and smells of inspirational Marrakesh. Everywhere you go in the Riad, you meet Francesco's good taste and delicate details. He has built his Riad with love, and it shows and you feel it.
If you want to stay in the small, peaceful place, in the Medina, be close to everything and are a person who values beauty, stay here.
The friendness from the staff and the surroundings will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magical1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    1
    0
    8
See reviews for
3
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Islamorada, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

My wife and I came upon this gem from other friends who had just stayed a few months ago. We had a fantastic time and found all of the staff to be helpful and very nice. Francesco gave us good advice and was a perfect host. We loved Dar al Sultan and will certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodcritic45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stilish, beautiful and very clean, this place in one of the best location to live for a vacation in Marrakech. You'll fall in love for it.
I found exquisite kindness by the staff and Francesco , the owner, who is a very nice special person. He can give you very good suggestions about interesting and cool places to have dinner, bar and whatever you desire....always with the italian special taste.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antopollini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We had a fabulous stay in this ryad. It was very nicely decorated, clean and cosy. The service was very friendly and helpful. It might have helped that it was the end of the season and that we were the only visitors but even then, it was a warm place to be. We didn;t take into account that the small pool in the pictures is next to the dinning and breakfast place. therefore it was not relaxed to have our little babygirl walking around there, however the roof terrace was excellent and safe!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalikaUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I went against by better judgement and booked this Riad dispite the negatives that were stated here. Complaints??? NO WATER and apparently this happens a lot!!! Why open as an accommodation if you cannot guarantee the basics like WATER to clean your butt??? The guy who spoke English, Adil, wasn't very friendly at all and you do need a guide to get you to the riad for it is tucked away and VERY HARD to find unless you have a guide. We left after one night. Pretty place but not good for staying overnight.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyladytravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Ignore all previous negative comments !! This Dar has a new management and it is marvellous to stay here. The service is outstanding, the setting is amazing. The staff is so helpfull: they make restaurant-reservations, help with getting around in Marrakech (call taxi, give free map,...) and really know how to pamper you: you can get food any time you like, served anywhere you like: the roof-terrace, in your room (we had the Harim-suite, recommended !!!), nothing is too much to ask.
Unfortunately my wife became a bit ill, so the nice people from Dar Al Sultan arranged a doctor and even went to the pharmacy for us.
The price for this Riad is honest if you consider that we were allowed to stay untill the evening of our last day, in our room (we had a late-night-flight), without paying more. No extra fee for the use of a safe (the room doors can't be locked and this is an experience we had to get used to). This Dar is located a 10-minute-walk from djemaa al fna an 5 minutes from Palais La Bahia and El Badi. The weather in march is fantastic: 25 °C, sunny but not to warm, the evenings are a bit chilly. Don't forget to dine once in the Dar Al Sultan, they really know how to cook a nice meal, for a reasonable price: 30 euros for a 3 course meal.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alainmora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

This is the type of place that gives Riads and Morocco a bad name.

While the physical building is lovely on the surface, any sense of relaxation goes out the window with the jackhammers next door, the inability to communicate with the staff (and I am fluent in French) and the absentee owner.

Our bathroom sink leaked water all over the floor - it took over 45 minutes to get an inch of water in the tub of our junior suite (there was no shower) and none of the lights in the bathroom worked. The bed was rock hard and the rooms were loud - we were frequently awoken by the staff yelling at one another or rap music from the Riad's stereo.

You will not be given a key to the door -yours or the Riad's- and woe be you if the staff have left to pick something up or can not hear you knock - you will be standing in an alley for quite some time.

I had such high hopes for this Riad and was sorely disappointed. Luckily we left and found another that was half the price and so much better - which we found by going on trip advisor which we should have done in the first place.

  • Liked — good mint tea
  • Disliked — Customer service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gaiagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Camilia
Riad Camilia
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
886 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Attajmil
Riad Dar Attajmil
#18 of 500 in Marrakech
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
809 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#24 of 500 in Marrakech
447 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar al Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar al Sultan

Property: Dar al Sultan
Address: 26 Derb El Arsa | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Médina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #701 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing riad, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dar al Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing