We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A wonderful dream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar al Sultan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar al Sultan
Ranked #712 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Milan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stilish, beautiful and very clean, this place in one of the best location to live for a vacation in Marrakech. You'll fall in love for it.
I found exquisite kindness by the staff and Francesco , the owner, who is a very nice special person. He can give you very good suggestions about interesting and cool places to have dinner, bar and whatever you desire....always with the italian special taste.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antopollini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    1
    0
    8
See reviews for
3
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
utrecht
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

We had a fabulous stay in this ryad. It was very nicely decorated, clean and cosy. The service was very friendly and helpful. It might have helped that it was the end of the season and that we were the only visitors but even then, it was a warm place to be. We didn;t take into account that the small pool in the pictures is next to the dinning and breakfast place. therefore it was not relaxed to have our little babygirl walking around there, however the roof terrace was excellent and safe!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalikaUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

I went against by better judgement and booked this Riad dispite the negatives that were stated here. Complaints??? NO WATER and apparently this happens a lot!!! Why open as an accommodation if you cannot guarantee the basics like WATER to clean your butt??? The guy who spoke English, Adil, wasn't very friendly at all and you do need a guide to get you to the riad for it is tucked away and VERY HARD to find unless you have a guide. We left after one night. Pretty place but not good for staying overnight.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyladytravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

Ignore all previous negative comments !! This Dar has a new management and it is marvellous to stay here. The service is outstanding, the setting is amazing. The staff is so helpfull: they make restaurant-reservations, help with getting around in Marrakech (call taxi, give free map,...) and really know how to pamper you: you can get food any time you like, served anywhere you like: the roof-terrace, in your room (we had the Harim-suite, recommended !!!), nothing is too much to ask.
Unfortunately my wife became a bit ill, so the nice people from Dar Al Sultan arranged a doctor and even went to the pharmacy for us.
The price for this Riad is honest if you consider that we were allowed to stay untill the evening of our last day, in our room (we had a late-night-flight), without paying more. No extra fee for the use of a safe (the room doors can't be locked and this is an experience we had to get used to). This Dar is located a 10-minute-walk from djemaa al fna an 5 minutes from Palais La Bahia and El Badi. The weather in march is fantastic: 25 °C, sunny but not to warm, the evenings are a bit chilly. Don't forget to dine once in the Dar Al Sultan, they really know how to cook a nice meal, for a reasonable price: 30 euros for a 3 course meal.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alainmora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

This is the type of place that gives Riads and Morocco a bad name.

While the physical building is lovely on the surface, any sense of relaxation goes out the window with the jackhammers next door, the inability to communicate with the staff (and I am fluent in French) and the absentee owner.

Our bathroom sink leaked water all over the floor - it took over 45 minutes to get an inch of water in the tub of our junior suite (there was no shower) and none of the lights in the bathroom worked. The bed was rock hard and the rooms were loud - we were frequently awoken by the staff yelling at one another or rap music from the Riad's stereo.

You will not be given a key to the door -yours or the Riad's- and woe be you if the staff have left to pick something up or can not hear you knock - you will be standing in an alley for quite some time.

I had such high hopes for this Riad and was sorely disappointed. Luckily we left and found another that was half the price and so much better - which we found by going on trip advisor which we should have done in the first place.

  • Liked — good mint tea
  • Disliked — Customer service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gaiagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2008

Tucked away within a myriad of narrow alleyways, the Dar al Sultan is a joyful surprise. This is a clean, simple yet stylish riad. Neutrally decorated in whites, silvers, and bleached wood work, the atmosphere is calm and tranquil. The staff are delightful and very helpful although with little if any English. The best meal of our entire stay was at the Dar al Sultan on our first night. Do make sure you eat there during your stay. We would ceraianly recommend the Dar al Sultan, but you will need a good sense of direction and a slight taste of adventure to find the place. We were met from the airport by a taxi that Dar al Sultan arranged and were greeted and taken from the taxt to the riad. We did meet a couple there who had spent two hours trying to find the place on their own! Once found, the riad is very well located. A fasinating 10 min walk to the Jemma al Fna and a couple of minutes from the Bahia Place. As for Marrakech itself, well I couldn't think of a more exciting, cultrually rewarding place to visit for a short break. From extreme poverty to extreme sophistication this place has it all and punches your every sense.

  • Liked — simple style
  • Disliked — not meeting the italian owner
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

Saw this Riad listed as a hidden gem in my travel guide. I did NOT check it in trip advisor or I would have stayed away...never again.

First the positives:
- tastefully decorated
- Jamilla is very sweet and she is a great cook. Her eggplant is superb.
- The place is impeccably clean, and the location isn't bad at all.

Now the negatives:
- There is no ONSITE manager. Giuseppe lives and works in Italy and he runs the place in his spare time. He has a couple of staff that work for him in Morocco but he does not empower them to solve issues.
- Jamilla is 8 months pregnant and probably wont be there when you get there.
- Jamilla does not reside at the riad, but is there from 10am-6pm or so. Jamilla is not allowed to problem solve esp around the rooms, rate, or your booking. So you will no doubt spend (as we did) much time waiting for Giuseppe to answer his Italian phone so that he can tell Jamilla what to do.
- Jamilla is a gem but (understandably) only speaks a bit of english, but great french and arabic
- No one else on the staff speaks anything other than Arabic.
- Hammering that was described in someone elses January review is still going on in mid-March. It went until at least 4am. But with no-
one on site past 6pm except for a tiny wisp of a girl that acts as cleaner and waiter - there was no one available that could solve the problem...oh and she only speaks arabic - which is fine as long as you do too.
- No light bulbs in the bathroom for our 3 day stay.
- No water for much of the time either.
- The bed in the Chambre Superior could not have been more hard if it was poured from concrete.
- We too had an issue with having to dispute the room charges. Finally we left - a day early. And of course, this led to a disagreement:
- Giuseppe will insist on talking to Jamilla for 20 minutes. WHen she cant convey what is needed, he'll offer to talk to you in his perfect english. When you don't give up and insist on asserting your frustration, he'll decide that he can't speak english anymore. Then he'll want to speak in French. When (after another 20 minutes) he realises that he isn't wearing you down, he will insist that he can't speak french to you any more but he needs to talk to Jamilla again. After another 20 minutes, they'll compromise with the suggestion of two bills. One that you can agree on, and an additional one that he won't put through (and you wont sign) until you resolve your disagreement. DO NOT FALL FOR THIS. Both transactions ar eimmediately put through and you cannot dispute them with VISA. Trust me. DO NOT SIGN THE VISA SLIP UNLESS YOU WANT TO PAY HIM.

Personally, I feel ripped off, and I would NEVER recommend this riad to anyone I liked. Instead, click on TripAdvisors popularity index and stay away from this place.

There was no welcome to speak of, no explanation for where we were in the Medina, no sense of looking out for your guests or trying to make their experience in your city pleasant.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — owner is not onsite and there is no recourse when the stuff hits the fan. we were ripped off
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank trav44trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#29 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#148 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#96 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar al Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar al Sultan

Property: Dar al Sultan
Address: 26 Derb El Arsa | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Médina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #712 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing riad, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing