We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A private paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar al Sultan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar al Sultan
Save
You added Dar al Sultan to your Saves list
Ranked #841 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Piacenza, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A private paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We visited the Rhiad for Valentine week end in 2011. It's a small paradise. Very intimate, romatic, relaxing and with a great atmosphere. The staff is amazing and very kind. A great position inside the Medina. The room was a perfect mix of design and traditionand, typically furnished with the chic marocco style. Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    1
    0
    8
See reviews for
3
32
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Wonderful place near the main square but not so near to be engulfed by the overwhelming crowd and smells of the souk. Also near to the taxi parking which is another huge plus.
Very stylish and sleek. The rooms are furnished with local pieces assembled with Italian taste. The best of both cultures.
The owner Francesco is a truly charming person and his hints and company really made our journey unforgettable!
Marrakech is rich with amazingly chic spots which however the ordinary tourist might miss without the right advice.
I really enjoyed my trip and will go back for sure!

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Betta1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

I stay at Dar al Sultan with my colleague. We were in Marrakesh for an inspiration trip. We work with product design. Dar al Sultan is absolutely beautiful. It is a refuge from the noise and colour and smells of inspirational Marrakesh. Everywhere you go in the Riad, you meet Francesco's good taste and delicate details. He has built his Riad with love, and it shows and you feel it.
If you want to stay in the small, peaceful place, in the Medina, be close to everything and are a person who values beauty, stay here.
The friendness from the staff and the surroundings will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magical1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

My wife and I came upon this gem from other friends who had just stayed a few months ago. We had a fantastic time and found all of the staff to be helpful and very nice. Francesco gave us good advice and was a perfect host. We loved Dar al Sultan and will certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodcritic45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stilish, beautiful and very clean, this place in one of the best location to live for a vacation in Marrakech. You'll fall in love for it.
I found exquisite kindness by the staff and Francesco , the owner, who is a very nice special person. He can give you very good suggestions about interesting and cool places to have dinner, bar and whatever you desire....always with the italian special taste.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antopollini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utrecht
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We had a fabulous stay in this ryad. It was very nicely decorated, clean and cosy. The service was very friendly and helpful. It might have helped that it was the end of the season and that we were the only visitors but even then, it was a warm place to be. We didn;t take into account that the small pool in the pictures is next to the dinning and breakfast place. therefore it was not relaxed to have our little babygirl walking around there, however the roof terrace was excellent and safe!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalikaUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

I went against by better judgement and booked this Riad dispite the negatives that were stated here. Complaints??? NO WATER and apparently this happens a lot!!! Why open as an accommodation if you cannot guarantee the basics like WATER to clean your butt??? The guy who spoke English, Adil, wasn't very friendly at all and you do need a guide to get you to the riad for it is tucked away and VERY HARD to find unless you have a guide. We left after one night. Pretty place but not good for staying overnight.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyladytravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#108 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#135 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,396 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,575 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#51 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar al Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar al Sultan

Property: Dar al Sultan
Address: 26 Derb El Arsa | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Médina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #841 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing riad, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing