We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A private paradise”
Review of Dar al Sultan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar al Sultan
Ranked #698 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We visited the Rhiad for Valentine week end in 2011. It's a small paradise. Very intimate, romatic, relaxing and with a great atmosphere. The staff is amazing and very kind. A great position inside the Medina. The room was a perfect mix of design and traditionand, typically furnished with the chic marocco style. Loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Dar al Sultan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 54 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2011

Wonderful place near the main square but not so near to be engulfed by the overwhelming crowd and smells of the souk. Also near to the taxi parking which is another huge plus.
Very stylish and sleek. The rooms are furnished with local pieces assembled with Italian taste. The best of both cultures.
The owner Francesco is a truly charming person and his hints and company really made our journey unforgettable!
Marrakech is rich with amazingly chic spots which however the ordinary tourist might miss without the right advice.
I really enjoyed my trip and will go back for sure!

Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Betta1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

I stay at Dar al Sultan with my colleague. We were in Marrakesh for an inspiration trip. We work with product design. Dar al Sultan is absolutely beautiful. It is a refuge from the noise and colour and smells of inspirational Marrakesh. Everywhere you go in the Riad, you meet Francesco's good taste and delicate details. He has built his Riad with love, and it shows and you feel it.
If you want to stay in the small, peaceful place, in the Medina, be close to everything and are a person who values beauty, stay here.
The friendness from the staff and the surroundings will not disappoint you.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magical1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

My wife and I came upon this gem from other friends who had just stayed a few months ago. We had a fantastic time and found all of the staff to be helpful and very nice. Francesco gave us good advice and was a perfect host. We loved Dar al Sultan and will certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodcritic45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stilish, beautiful and very clean, this place in one of the best location to live for a vacation in Marrakech. You'll fall in love for it.
I found exquisite kindness by the staff and Francesco , the owner, who is a very nice special person. He can give you very good suggestions about interesting and cool places to have dinner, bar and whatever you desire....always with the italian special taste.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antopollini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We had a fabulous stay in this ryad. It was very nicely decorated, clean and cosy. The service was very friendly and helpful. It might have helped that it was the end of the season and that we were the only visitors but even then, it was a warm place to be. We didn;t take into account that the small pool in the pictures is next to the dinning and breakfast place. therefore it was not relaxed to have our little babygirl walking around there, however the roof terrace was excellent and safe!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalikaUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I went against by better judgement and booked this Riad dispite the negatives that were stated here. Complaints??? NO WATER and apparently this happens a lot!!! Why open as an accommodation if you cannot guarantee the basics like WATER to clean your butt??? The guy who spoke English, Adil, wasn't very friendly at all and you do need a guide to get you to the riad for it is tucked away and VERY HARD to find unless you have a guide. We left after one night. Pretty place but not good for staying overnight.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazyladytravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Camilia
Riad Camilia
#3 of 502 in Marrakech
398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#22 of 502 in Marrakech
889 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#14 of 502 in Marrakech
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 502 in Marrakech
450 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#23 of 502 in Marrakech
535 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Attajmil
Riad Dar Attajmil
#17 of 502 in Marrakech
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar al Sultan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar al Sultan

Address: 26 Derb El Arsa | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Médina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #698 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $104 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing riad, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dar al Sultan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing