We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“authentic feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Catalina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Catalina
Ranked #174 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“authentic feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a really nice place. The rooms and courtyard are delightful. Not polished and overdone, it looks and feels authentic. We were lucky to be upgraded to a superior room with a terrace outside and woke to the sounds of the birds in the tops of the courtyard trees. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Our evening meal at the riad gave us probably the best and most subtle tajine meal we ate in Morroco during our 5 day stay, however, the same could not be said for breakfast. Apart from the very nice fresh orange juice the rest was disappointingly dull.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDBUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    105
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
33
171
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We are not ones to normally go against the trend but we didn't like Riad Catalina. The courtyard is lovely, especially at night when they make a huge effort placing candles and lamps around, creating a lovely atmosphere and the proximity to the Jemaa El Fna square and souk is just an easy, interesting 5 to 10 minute walk away. Our room, which was only just OK, was reached via a flight of dimly lit, steep, narrow, twisting steps with a hand rail which kept swapping from side to side due to the twists. Our bathroom was an obstacle course, with a step into it, another step to the toilet and two steep steps up to the shower followed by a very steep step down into the shower tub with no grab handles. The tub itself was made of a material and colour which resembled the old walls of Marrakech. The marble basin was chipped and looked grubby, the tap was loose which made altering the water temperature difficult. The only window opening to the outside was high up on the bathroom wall and reached by standing on the top step leading to the shower. Fortunatly although aged 65 and 75, we are fit.
Breakfast and the one evening meal we had there, was taken in a beautiful room off the courtyard (it was too cold to sit outside), but there are only coffee tables in this room which makes eating a meal uncomfortable, however we did see one couple sitting at a proper table in the courtyard one evening under a gas heater.
We decided not to complain or ask for another room, we were there for only 4 nights, it had been our choice to stay in a Riad, maybe they are all the same and when you see beggars in the square with hungry children or missing limbs, things are put into perspective. The last straw came on our last morning just as we about to leave for the airport when we were presented with a bill for 240 dirhams (about £18) for city tax. We tried to explain to the young man at the desk that this bill would have been paid by our tour operator but he didn't understand so he put me on the phone to his boss. I was greeted with ''I am the Manageress, why are you making all this trouble for us?'' I tried to explain but she kept talking over me and wouldn't let me speak. In the end we gave the young man the last of our Dirhams, kept for buyng coffee and snacks at the airport, we just wanted to leave Riad Catalina and Marrakech and go home.
The Riad has since apologised to our tour operator, admitted their mistake and refunded the money. Anyone can make a mistake but there was no reason for the manager to be so rude, we wil not be returning, our trip to Marrakech doesn't leave us with happy memories

Room Tip: Make sure you are fit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janCardiffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you don't like birds or you want a clinical first class place to stay this will not be for you.It just sums up Morrocco .The breakfast room was wonderful.The staff amazing ,particularly the waiter in the evening .Some tips from the rep-don't go into the northern part after dark when the souks end leave after 6pm.Always offer at least half of what they suggest the price is.We much preffered Morrocco to Turkey and Tunisia the hagglers are not rude at all.
Some tips from us.Take a phone with GPS as there are no signs and you can't ask people as you will end up in their relatives shop.The police don't know where anywhere is either and we gave up trying to find one of the museums.
We ate at the Riad a couple of times and it was good and three courses the red wine was ok but the white tasted like sherry.
On our last day.Gutted we found a really good place to eat la porte Du Marrakech on the Toulet Kennaria It was great and only £8 for two meals and drinks.The food was really well presented as well not just dumped on a plate.We ate at one of the recommended ones on the square and found the service bad and they didn't give us change .The Riad was really central and we found some short cuts .We loved this place and would def go back.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room with a balcony would recommend lovely in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We visited Marrakech for a week-end to celebrate a significant birthday, and wanted to stay in a riad for a truly Moroccan experience. Riad Catalina ticked all the boxes for us. From the moment we stepped from the narrow alleys of the medina through that sturdy door into the beautiful courtyard, we were enchanted. The interior was peaceful and leafy, full of birdsong by day and lit by lanterns at night. We have happy memories of tiled floors and walls, a marble fountain centrepiece, orange and fig trees, doves and tortoises, and a very friendly atmosphere. Our room was comfortable and quiet with traditional charm. The city beyond those sheltering pink walls was as weird and wonderful as expected. We enjoyed Jemaa el-Fna by day and night, bartered in the souks, and just wandered around hither and thither to relish all the unfamiliar scents, sights and sounds. Then we returned to nearby Riad Catalina to relax in very pretty surroundings and eat delicious home cooked food away from the melée. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwynfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Everything went well here--room on top floor was clean and cool (important!). Good size room with interesting but functional layout of bathroom, shower, and sitting area. Creative updates. King size bed was divided into twins for my son and me.

Pool was across the way also on the rooftop. And the pool was refreshing.

Breakfast was under a canopy in a garden with a turtle moseying about and eating lettuce. Service was attentive and effective. In the afternoons, there was a bar, and in the evenings a dinner special.

I don't know why it sits as low as it does in the ratings. And equally I don't know what else they could do to improve their score.

The place was interesting, clean, attractive, and very quiet. Located down a narrow lane but a short walk to the Koutoubia mosque and with views of it and the Atlas Mountains, its location was excellent for its removal from the mainstream and its proximity to the city center.

Staff were helpful about logistics and assistance.

Room Tip: Inside, top floor is all we know, and it was quiet with a sun porch. The center garden was cooling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeniVidiFrui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapellen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Arriving there was a disappointment ! Birds everywhere, also while enjoying breakfast, trying to pick your food. Room (blue room, garden) is very small and not very clean. Price is too high for what you get. But the staff is very friendly. Location is ok, but very busy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A quiet base from which to explore Marrakech. Wonderful friendly service, good food and atmospheric setting. Ten minutes walk to the Souks and central square. Quickly gets you into the feel of this wonderful city. Small number of rooms makes the place very intimate. Great views from the roof top swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#161 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#65 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#112 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#17 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Rimal
Riad Al Rimal
#77 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Ambre et Epices
Riad Ambre et Epices
#46 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Catalina

Property: Dar Catalina
Address: 21 Derb Abdellah Ben Hssaine | Bab Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Catalina 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Catalina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing