We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Catalina Deserves a Better Rating”
Review of Riad Catalina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Catalina
Ranked #194 of 1,148 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Riad Catalina Deserves a Better Rating”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Everything went well here--room on top floor was clean and cool (important!). Good size room with interesting but functional layout of bathroom, shower, and sitting area. Creative updates. King size bed was divided into twins for my son and me.

Pool was across the way also on the rooftop. And the pool was refreshing.

Breakfast was under a canopy in a garden with a turtle moseying about and eating lettuce. Service was attentive and effective. In the afternoons, there was a bar, and in the evenings a dinner special.

I don't know why it sits as low as it does in the ratings. And equally I don't know what else they could do to improve their score.

The place was interesting, clean, attractive, and very quiet. Located down a narrow lane but a short walk to the Koutoubia mosque and with views of it and the Atlas Mountains, its location was excellent for its removal from the mainstream and its proximity to the city center.

Staff were helpful about logistics and assistance.

Room Tip: Inside, top floor is all we know, and it was quiet with a sun porch. The center garden was cooling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeniVidiFrui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    109
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
36
189
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kapellen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Arriving there was a disappointment ! Birds everywhere, also while enjoying breakfast, trying to pick your food. Room (blue room, garden) is very small and not very clean. Price is too high for what you get. But the staff is very friendly. Location is ok, but very busy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

A quiet base from which to explore Marrakech. Wonderful friendly service, good food and atmospheric setting. Ten minutes walk to the Souks and central square. Quickly gets you into the feel of this wonderful city. Small number of rooms makes the place very intimate. Great views from the roof top swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Riad is very beautiful but quite old so a little "Shabby Chique". The rooms themselves, whilst very comfortable and clean are very small. We had the Blue Room the bed was comfy and the covers look very plush but we could hardy walk around the bed the space was so limited. The staff were without exception very friendly and efficient. You take your breakfast in the central courtyard which is full of trees and a central fountain. It can be quite chilly in here in the morning before the sun reaches it. Breakfast consists of coffee fresh orange juice, bread with jam or honey and cake or pastries. The location of the Riad is very good for reaching all places around the Medina. It is located down a shabby looking alley (as are most of the riads in the Medina) but it is very safe and easy to find. It is only a 10 minute walk (max) to the Square. You can see the Koutoubia Minaret from the Riad so aim for that and you're not far away. Another landmark to look out for is the Islane Hotel. The road behind that hotel is the road that takes you back to the riad alley entrance. The riad has a small dip pool on the roof with a few sun beds and chairs which is nice to sit in the evening as the rooms only have very small windows so can be rather dark.

Room Tip: All standard rooms are the same size just different colours For more room you would need to book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jongleurgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Within 1/2 a mile of manic central Marrakesh the Catalina is an oasis of calm. The excellent staff are their for your every need and are always smiling and attentive. Would recommend this Riad, and would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesFlitwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you want to visit Marrakesh this is the place to stay. Ticks all the boxes....authentic, amazing staff, lovely food, CLEAN and extremely relaxing.
I would reccomend this Riad without a doubt in my mind!

Room Tip: If you can afford it get room 104 the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have been in June 2012 for my birthday.
It was really comfortable stay. Service was nice and friendly.
Thanks to Diana, the manager. Beautiful Lady and very helpfull.
Definetively will go again.
See you soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcomdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#68 of 499 in Marrakech
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#66 of 499 in Marrakech
1,430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Elizabeth
Riad Elizabeth
#182 of 499 in Marrakech
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#39 of 1,148 in Marrakech
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#11 of 1,148 in Marrakech
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Rimal
Riad Al Rimal
#98 of 1,148 in Marrakech
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Catalina

Property: Riad Catalina
Address: 21 Derb Abdellah Ben Hssaine | Bab Laksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 1,148 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Catalina 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Catalina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing