We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines
Ranked #280 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Lovely place to stay away from the noise of the city. Service excellent and delightful staff.
Location is a bit out of the main centre of the Medina but easily walkable. Breakfast was excellent and not the usual boring buffet. We had dinner there twice which was good but a bit pricey

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms are a little noisy in the morning as the staff arrive and prepare breakfast. Upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angsana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at Angsana Riads Collection during recent trip. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us highlighting about the service provided by our colleagues & culinary experience during breakfast and dinner.

I also have noted on your ‘tip’ regards to noise in downstairs which I have communicated with concern team to increase acknowledgement of ‘guest area’.

Kindly be assured that your feedback is shared to our entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a great motivation for us to reach higher standards of excellence in the future. Thank you for recent stay with us, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.

Kind regards,

Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    32
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
12
60
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very tired decor and extremely noisy, not at all the luxury accommodation we were sold. The riad is on a square in constant use by cars, motor bikes, dogs and children playing football. We were told by the manager that guests frequently complain about the noise, when after 2 nights we had only had a few hours sleep. The roof terrace is in desperate need of updating, as facilities are very worn . Best part of this riad are the staff .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Storeys12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angasana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

Your valuable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the unique experience Angsana Riads Collection is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. At the same time, I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations.

I have noted your overall feedback regarding on condition of the facilities. Please note that I have discussed in details your concerns with our Engineer in charge who will communicate and review condition of our public areas exteriors with the whole team and work through the touch ups but at the same time preserve 18th century old historic Riad which is one of uniqueness of Marrakech. I have also noticed your feedback regarding the noise from the local neighbor, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. I have discussed with our security team to increase the patrolling to control over the and children playing around the Riad.

I also have noted on highlighting about the service provided by our colleagues. Kindly be assured that your feedback is shared to our entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service & property's quality. I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting Angsana Riads Collection in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality Angsana Collection is renowned for.

Regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Noisy and tired decor. We stayed in riad angsanna lydines , whilst the room was lovely the noise from the square at the front was unbearable , children playing football, dogs howling, cars and motor bikes all night and we were told this was a regular occurrence which guest frequently complain about . We would not recommend .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Storeys12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angasana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

Your valuable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the unique experience Angsana Riads Collection is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. At the same time, I was concerned to read that on this occasion we did not meet some of your expectations.

I have noted your overall feedback regarding on condition of the facilities. Please note that I have discussed in details your concerns with our Engineer in charge who will communicate and review condition of our public areas exteriors with the whole team and work through the touch ups but at the same time preserve 18th century old historic Riad which is one of uniqueness of Marrakech. I have also noticed your feedback regarding the noise from the local neighbor, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in this respect. I have discussed with our security team to increase the patrolling to control over the and children playing around the Riad.

I also have noted on highlighting about the service provided by our colleagues. Kindly be assured that your feedback is shared to our entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service & property's quality. I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting Angsana Riads Collection in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality Angsana Collection is renowned for.

Regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I never thought I would write the above words about a stay in Marrakesh but after several trips over the last fifteen years or so, we have just stayed in a very disappointing riad; particularly so as it is part of the Angsana Banyan Tree Group and we expected so much more. The riad itself had none of the "wow" factor we have come to expect from everywhere else we have stayed. Our room was badly lit and, when we arrived there was a broken toilet flush, a dodgy light fitting and a broken kettle. These faults were dealt with but should not have been left until we arrived.
There was little privacy as the windows were tall and without shutters. The decoration was tired in the extreme; there were cracks in the plaster in our room and the courtyard needed some refurbishment. There was the most unattractive plastic cover over the courtyard which completely ruined the appearance. Presumably this was intended to keep the rain and birds out but it appeared to be a permanent fixture.
Breakfast was very disappointing indeed. Terrible quality bread and not a huge choice. However, the cook did make lovely Moroccan pancakes and these appeared every morning once we asked. This is sold as a first class riad. Only one table actually outside for breakfast or dinner. The one dinner we had was wonderful cooking but we ate in solitary state. When drinks were ordered, they arrived without any form of canape or accompaniment. One night we ordered wine and both bottles were corked and on our last night there was no gin and we had to wait forty minutes as they asked for some to be sent in!!!
The chambermaids spent more time rearranging our possessions than sorting out the room and replacing items which had been used. One afternoon we arrived back to no towels in the bathroom as the laundry had not come back. I cannot believe that a riad of this supposed rating has only one set of laundry per room and we did eventually manage to have clean towels.
The staff on the whole were very kind and the lady chef produced the most amazing cooking but there was no real service during the day after breakfast unless lunch or dinner had been ordered in advance.
When we left, we were told we would have to walk to meet our car. It wasn't at the meeting place but had been waiting outside the riad for ten minutes. As my husband is in poor health, this was the last straw! Fortunately for us, the second part of our holiday was spent at the wonderful L'Heure Bleu Palais in Essaouira.

Room Tip: As far as I could gather from talking to other guests, the lack of privacy and the poor lighting s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue2652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on tripadvisor following your recent stay in Angsana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. I hope that you had a pleasant return journey.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the various issues you encountered. I appreciate you taking the time to write and your concerns have been discussed at length with the relevant Department Managers.

Your experience is certainly not the usual standard of service we provide and I can assure you that the necessary corrective actions will take place in order to prevent recurrences in future.

We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion and would sincerely appreciate you giving us an opportunity to redeem ourselves.

I am sorry that I was unable to see you during your stay, however, I hope that you intend to return in the near future at which time I look forward to meeting you.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor and thereby giving us the opportunity to enhance our service & property's quality. I do hope that this incident will not deter you from visiting Angasana Riads Collection in the future and you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the ultimate hospitality Angasana Riads Collection is renowned for.

Kind regards,
Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A beautifully refurbished small Riad in a less hectic part of Marrakech's medina but still within easy walking distance of everything. What made our stay was the staff. They were so welcoming, warm and hospitable, even offering to get cough medicine and generally looking after us when one of us was ill. I hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BibiHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at Lydines for 3 nights from 9th January 2013, twin room with breakfast. Riad is well maintained, quite simple but beautiful with lovely roof terrace. Imagine that later in the year provides a very welcome break from the heat. Location is great - 2 mins from the Saadian tombs, 15 mins to the souk etc.

But the people make it - Ismail and Fatima were very helpful and lovely. We were pretty independent but I imagine they know lots and would genuinely help you out with pretty much everything and anything should you need it. Well recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicobobinus78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

we have been back 4 months, but, still remember the great staff at the hotel it was so peaceful clean and an overall amazing experience. Location was perfect as was the hospitality. we recommend it to anyone looking for the perfect hotel! a big thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: we stayed in the private Terrance however when we was there no one else was using hotel therefore wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkTourist81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Almaha Marrakech
Almaha Marrakech
#271 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
12.3 mi away
Ksar Salha
Ksar Salha
#254 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#214 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#24 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#13 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#56 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines

Property: Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines
Address: 45 derb Abda | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#145 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#159 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#185 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Marrakesh's historic medina, within a stone's throw of the Saadians Tombsand and Royal Palace, Angsana Collection - Riad Lydines welcomes 10 minutes walking from the famous Jamaaa El Fna Square. It features 7 guest rooms, each one with a unique interior design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Lydines Hotel Marrakech
Angsana Riad Lydines Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing