We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order your stay with confidence, you've chosen wisely!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Charai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Charai
Ranked #200 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Order your stay with confidence, you've chosen wisely!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

As always I chose this Riad with the help of Tripadvisor, we weren't disappointed so much so my wife wishes to celebrate her 50th birthday here. We started our trip with a driver waiting to pick us up at the airport eliminating the stress of finding the location off our own devices.
As others have described being inside the Medina isn't for the faint hearted but we wanted the experiences for our 2 boys (!2,10) as well as ourselves. Yes its true entering the riad from the "easiest" side for the tourists can be off puting but this is the same throughout the Medina.
This is what one wants when trying to imagine what it was like in the medina say 100 yrs ago?? yes??
We ordered the apartment (jasmine) where we had a queen size bed and another bedroom where 2 single bed were placed. Apartment was stylishly decked out and a bathroom to match.Towels changed every day. Breakfast is modest with a basic continental "moroccansk style" with heaps of mint tea and to drink. You won't be bursting at your belt buckle but its adequate :)
We found the staff were pleasant and helpful with our questions we had them to organise our bus tickets to Essaouira as well as transfers around the medina to the new part of Marrakesh.
We never ate at night time but we did have our christmas there and together with their sister riad Charma/Sharma we enjoyed our christmas dinner at riad dharma.
Those who enjoy a quiet wine at the end of a hectic day must realise that there is no alcohol served inside of the Medina , however it is allowed for the riad's guests to consume what they purchase inside the riad.
Our stay wasn't 100% perfect but when we needed to be heard, management addressed our concerns with the professionalism I would expect as a paying customer.
In finishing would I stay here again?? Absolutely!! staying at the riad was a highlight of our trip!!

Room Tip: Jasmine (apartment)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozzyoslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    43
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
31
88
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Riad Charai was the highlight of our week stay in Marrakesh and one of the most beautiful places we have stayed in. A stunning and relaxing retreat to chill out in after a busy day sight-seeing and going on excursions. Staff, including the riad driver, were friendly and very helpful.Could not recommend higher to anyone looking for accommodation in Marrakesh!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

we have been at Riad Charai, everything has been perfect, clean very located at the old city (Medina), friendly suf, Majid is helpful man speaks very good English always there to greet you and assist you, i highly recommond this place and hope we will be able to go back again in the future

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here (2 adults, 2 children [9&11]) for 5 nights and had a fantastic time. The whole place was beautiful, the service really good and the experience very positive. It was February, so we didn't get to use the pool - although it looked lovely! We didn't use the spa facilities either. We ate in on the last night and it was 'ok' but not one of the highlights of the place. Overall, I would highly recommend it - I'm unlikely to return to Marrakech, but if I did, I would stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at the Riad with friends for 4 nights early February, blown away! We were met from the taxi and walked through the Medina to the front door, quite an experience for first time in Marrakech but once we stepped inside it was like a different world- so calm, cool and sophisticated. We were treated to mint tea and nuts/biscuits to relax beside the pool before being shown to our lovely rooms. As we had arrived in the evening we ate in the hotel restaurant, very intimate, very low chairs! atmospheric, lovely food and Morooccan wine. Breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine every morning and sunbathing on other terrace in afternoon- lovely for early February. We all enjoyed the hammam and my friends also had a massage which they recommended, lovely experience. Staff couldn't do enough for us, everytime we came back we were treated to more mint tea, felt as if we were in our own private Riad although there were other guests there. Stay here if you want to feel pampered and special, a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Riad will send a guide with you to show you the way back, always take your map with you! It is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crees50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very Moroccan chic. It's a gem. Once you have found the place which is an experience in itself, you'll find a beautiful, typical Moroccan riad. The entrance, the central pool area, the roof-top terrace for a delicious breakfast. My room, no. 4 if I recall, right in front of the pool, was just awesome. Lots of special lighting, woods, ceramics. 16 ft ceiling, fireplace. You can find certain flaws but it is a very old building, but its charms over weigh all that. The hostess and all the personnel were truly welcoming and it was always a pleasure to serve us.
The riad is difficult to find if you haven't been to Marakesh before. When you get a taxi to drive you there for the 1st time, ask the driver to call the riad so they can pick you up at the Bab Takzouk, the closest plaza.
People who say it's not in a nice area don't appreciate the uniqueness of living in the Medina. It's definitely not an american type of neighborhood. But you won't regret it if you' re looking for something different, yet with all your wifi, TV, AC and so on.

Room Tip: I had room 4 which I recommend, right in front of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We got married at Riad Charai in September. It was perfection!

We took over the riad for 3 nights. The staff, service, food, experience was amazing. We will be back.

Robin and Meriem are so helpful and speak great English. Yousef is wonderful!

I think the location is a good spot for exploring Marrakech. The main taxi rank is a 2 minute walk. You can get a taxi into the Medina or to the new town. It seems a bit scary at first but you get used to it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekahjoy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Shama
Riad Shama
#188 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#159 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#64 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Zen House
Riad Zen House
#199 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
4.1 mi away
Caravanserai
Caravanserai
#185 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#86 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Charai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charai

Property: Riad Charai
Address: 54 Diour Jdad | Zaouia El Abassia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Charai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Charai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing