We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad well-located in Marrakesh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Azzar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Azzar
Ranked #547 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Riad well-located in Marrakesh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a very nice riad well located in the Marrakesh medina. The rooms were a bit smaller than those we had elsewhere in Morocco, but very nicely appointed. Our meals were very good. The service was good, but not great. Once I spoke to the manager, the service improved. All and all, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katimil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the riad and loved the place. There is nothing to add/change it is simply the perfect retreat from the buzzling streets of the medina. The owner is very helpful and friendly. The location excellent to explore the medina.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Says it all really!?!?! After a rather stressful arrival in the city, the Riad just calmed everything down and welcomed us to Morocco. From putting together a meal when we arrived very late in the evening to helping us with bag issues after we left, the Riad Azzar could not have done more for us. A beautiful setting right in the heart of Marrakech, as loud as it is outside, all you will hear from inside is the occasional call to prayer which is blasted all around the city. The breakfast is all you need to get you started and the staff are friendly and extremely helpful. I would recommend this Riad to all and I would stay again in heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim0n32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The riad is tucked down a quiet little street away from the madness of the square and souks. Behind a tiny, Bilbo Baggins style door, is a beautiful and peaceful place to stay. We were welcomed at the door by Cees who sat and had a drink with us and gave us information about Marrakech. As we had arrived late in the evening, they had prepared a delicious meal for us. We stayed in the Taznarth room which is gorgeous. Very comfortable bed and nice bathroom. We had breakfast on the roof terrace in the sunshine - pancakes, bread, coconut cake and freshly squeezed orange juice. We met Maryk who is lovely and gave us lots of good advice. The only downsides for me were the prayer call at about 5am - however, this is an issue wherever you stay in Marrakech - and secondly, as the riad is so small (6 rooms), you can hear other people talking and moving around in their rooms. I would thoroughly recommend this riad and we'll definitely stay there again. Beautiful building and first class service from the owners and staff.

Room Tip: The Taznarth room is considered to be the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrooveArmada58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This riad in the heart of the medina provides excellent personalized service. The breakfasts and dinners were delicious. I was travelling alone and they went out of their way to make me feel comfortable. The standard on the rooms is excellent - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in Marrakech for 3 nights in Riad Azzar in December 2012. The riad is beautiful, just a few blocks away from the bustling bazars. So, location is excellent. Be aware that a mosque is nearby which means that you will hear the prayers early in the morning. For those that sleep light, this could affect their sleep. The owners, a Dutch couple, Cees and Maryk, are so hospitable and service minded - helping out with shopping tips, restaurant booking for the evening and car rental. The rooms are clean and beatifully decorated by Maryk. We statyed in suite Zayan on the second floor, a spacious room with a balcony outside. Highly recommended. Breakfast was served at the roof terrasse, coffe, tea, fresh orange juice and toast, pancakes and jam. The only thing we missed were some healthy alternatives to the white bread and jam - eggs or fruit salad would have been great.

We also spent our New Year's Eve in Marrakech - enjoying a wonderful dinner arranged by Cees and Maryk for all their guests at their other Riad (which is a dimond for the eye...). After a few days in Marrakech we headed for the desert, to Erg Chigaga, a luxury desert camp in Sahara. Those nights out there were unforgettable. We would highly recommend Riad Azzar to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnettHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We just returned over a short stay at the Riad over New Year's and couldn't recommend it enough!
Entering the ever-shrinking intricate alleys off the souk and finally making it through the heavy door really make you feel like you stepped into the Arabian Nights.

The owners Cees and Maryk are really friendly and welcoming and nothing is ever too much trouble for every single member of the staff. We couldn't praise them enough.
Starting the day - and the year - with a marvellous breakfast spread on the sun-filled roof terrace was an experience we'll cherish for a very long time.

If we return to Marrakech (and we probably will, as 3 days were not enough to savour it fully) we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We were in the Marmoucha room on the ground floor and it was delightful, with a big fireplace and fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
7.1 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#30 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
7.4 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#147 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Riad Camilia
Riad Camilia
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
7.0 mi away
Riad Due
Riad Due
#148 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
7.1 mi away
Riad Talaa 12
Riad Talaa 12
#410 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Azzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azzar

Property: Riad Azzar
Address: 94, derb Moulay Abdelkader - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #547 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Azzar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Azzar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing