We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Azzar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Azzar
Ranked #508 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in Marrakech for 3 nights in Riad Azzar in December 2012. The riad is beautiful, just a few blocks away from the bustling bazars. So, location is excellent. Be aware that a mosque is nearby which means that you will hear the prayers early in the morning. For those that sleep light, this could affect their sleep. The owners, a Dutch couple, Cees and Maryk, are so hospitable and service minded - helping out with shopping tips, restaurant booking for the evening and car rental. The rooms are clean and beatifully decorated by Maryk. We statyed in suite Zayan on the second floor, a spacious room with a balcony outside. Highly recommended. Breakfast was served at the roof terrasse, coffe, tea, fresh orange juice and toast, pancakes and jam. The only thing we missed were some healthy alternatives to the white bread and jam - eggs or fruit salad would have been great.

We also spent our New Year's Eve in Marrakech - enjoying a wonderful dinner arranged by Cees and Maryk for all their guests at their other Riad (which is a dimond for the eye...). After a few days in Marrakech we headed for the desert, to Erg Chigaga, a luxury desert camp in Sahara. Those nights out there were unforgettable. We would highly recommend Riad Azzar to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnettHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 138 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We just returned over a short stay at the Riad over New Year's and couldn't recommend it enough!
Entering the ever-shrinking intricate alleys off the souk and finally making it through the heavy door really make you feel like you stepped into the Arabian Nights.

The owners Cees and Maryk are really friendly and welcoming and nothing is ever too much trouble for every single member of the staff. We couldn't praise them enough.
Starting the day - and the year - with a marvellous breakfast spread on the sun-filled roof terrace was an experience we'll cherish for a very long time.

If we return to Marrakech (and we probably will, as 3 days were not enough to savour it fully) we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We were in the Marmoucha room on the ground floor and it was delightful, with a big fireplace and fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

One of the absolute nicest places i have stayed in over the years. The riad is tiny but perfectly formed. There's only six rooms and even when quite busy you never feel like you're living on top of the other guests.

I was holidaying with a friend so stayed in the twin room. While it wasn't huge, it had everything we needed and the most adorable bathroom with handcrafted basin and lovely toiletries.

Breakfast on the roof was the best possible start to our days, and the location in the middle of the Medina was just great for popping out to the square for a spot of people-watching. And the trip to the Atlas mountains organised by the riad manager was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful riad. I didn't know what to expect from either the riad or Marrakech, and both exceeded our expectations. The owner, Maryk, was incredibly helpful, from our extensive email questions to organize a walking tour of the medina and day trip to the Atlas Mountains. She never hesitated to make time to personally help, not just us, all her guests. We really appreciate her hospitality. Her staff were all genuinely friendly. Their cook was amazing....the best dinners during our visit were all at the riad! The breakfast on the roof terrace was incredible too - not only was it a lovely setting with sunshine and views, but the home made local breads / pancakes were just too delicious, plus he freshly squeezed orange juice and mint teas were a highlight! The riad itself is stunning and stylish. Every room is tastefully decorated. We had the Taznarth room, which was very elegant and spacious...loved the big bathroom, tall ceilings, big windows and a separate room for the closets & luggage. We had plenty of hot water and the rooms were very clean + tidy. Overall, the riad was very relaxing and a great oasis from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. It is in a great location...super convenient to walk to the famous square, medina and other highlights in the center. Staying in a riad is the best way to experience Marrakech, and staying at Riad Azzar was the highlight for us! Beyond the riad, I wanted to comment on the nice local people in Marrakech. Nearly everyone we met was friendly, not pushy, which was a pleasant surprise. I would not hesitate to return to Marrakech and to stay a the Riad Azzar!

Room Tip: The higher the room, the more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K2KBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Being our first time to Marrakech, my girlfriend and I wanted to stay at a Riad but wanted one that had two beds, larger bathroom and on a second level. The Taznarth room was perfect as it has a double bed and they added a single bed, which was very comfortable. I travel a lot and have stayed at many places. I couldn't find one negative thing about this Riad. It was beautifully decorated, wonderful hospitality with staff that cater to your every need, the lady owner is an amazing host with wonderful guidance on where to go, super clean and delicious breakfast on the roof terrace. Although you are right in the hectic city centre you leave all that behind the minute you walk through the door. Such a relaxing atmosphere after a busy day of sightseeing and shopping. This was one of the highlights of my trip!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEdington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Fantastic location, minutes from the hustle and bustle of the Souks and Jemaa el Fnaa. Cees and Maryk are excellent hosts; the staff are friendly and efficient and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mutleysyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Not one detail has been overlooked in this exquisite Riad. After a long day's travel and maneuvering through the chaos of Marrakech, Riad Azzar could not have been a more perfect place to land. Apart from the magnificent surroundings, the staff could not have been more welcoming and attentive. The food is also impeccable. I almost didn't want to leave the riad as it is so magnificent! What stands out most though, is the care that the proprietors take in assuring their guests feel at home. I would in fact say that if it weren't for the guidance and suggestions given by the Lady of the riad, my trip to Morocco would not have been what it turned out to be. It was definitely among the best travel experiences I've ever had. When in Marrakech, don't dream of going anywhere else - let Riad Azzar be your oasis...

Room Tip: Email for more information and you will be promptly and attentively responded to. Just let them kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NuriyalaTanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#126 of 499 in Marrakech
321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#13 of 499 in Marrakech
1,306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#23 of 499 in Marrakech
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,309 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#77 of 499 in Marrakech
2,109 reviews
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Azzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azzar

Address: 94, Derb Moulay Abdelkader - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #508 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $155 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith and Priceline so you can book your Riad Azzar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Azzar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing