We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis Dream in Marrakech...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Azzar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Azzar
Ranked #561 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis Dream in Marrakech...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Not one detail has been overlooked in this exquisite Riad. After a long day's travel and maneuvering through the chaos of Marrakech, Riad Azzar could not have been a more perfect place to land. Apart from the magnificent surroundings, the staff could not have been more welcoming and attentive. The food is also impeccable. I almost didn't want to leave the riad as it is so magnificent! What stands out most though, is the care that the proprietors take in assuring their guests feel at home. I would in fact say that if it weren't for the guidance and suggestions given by the Lady of the riad, my trip to Morocco would not have been what it turned out to be. It was definitely among the best travel experiences I've ever had. When in Marrakech, don't dream of going anywhere else - let Riad Azzar be your oasis...

Room Tip: Email for more information and you will be promptly and attentively responded to. Just let them kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuriyalaTanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
62
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in November. The staff were attentive; anything we wanted was taken care of, and done with a smile. Breakfasts were great, as was the lunch, the one time we ate in. The Riad itself is beautiful and well maintained, the decor is stunning as well as feeling homely.

I had emailed the owners before our arrival for advice on things to do and they responded quickly and helpfully. The location is great, just around the corner from the main square and almost in the Souks itself, so easy to get everywhere.

A charming stay, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dicky25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

A lovely quiet oasis in the middle of a hectic hectic city. All of the team are lovely - it helps if you speak a little french but you can easily get by with english. Contact the riad before you travel and ask them to arrange transport from the airport. A guide is very very useful to find the riad. Breakfast on the roof terrace is lovely and we had a couple of lunches and dinners during our stay which were also gorgeous. Well located for all of the sites - the best place we went to was the ben youssef koran school - highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heaton45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed in this beautiful Riad in October. If you want to be near the Medina this is a perfect haven. The owners and staff are lovely, intelligent and helpful people, who went over and beyond to make us comfortable, informed and welcomed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarissa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Owners - knowledgeable, helpful, charming
Other staff - simply lovely and completely trustworthy
Rooms- stunning, chic and comfortable
Food - absolutely gorgeous, possibly the nicest dinner I have ever had (no menu, just ask for what you want and they will cook it for you!)
Location - perfect, a stones through from the main square

All in all an absolutely incredible place to stay I genuinely can not rate this hotel high enough!

Room Tip: Marmoucha - lovely (definitely get a room with ac if you're travelling in the summer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenjaminItchyFeet
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed in Azzar for 4 nights in the summer. It's a prefect and evocative Riad with period features and brilliant, personal service. The Dutch owners are extremely helpful and sociable. The breakfast is completely insane (I still dream about it) and if you choose to eat there, the food is marvellous. Overall, it's a touch on the pricey side but makes up for it with beautiful rooms and a great atmosphere. Just the place to escape the Souks.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminItchyFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is a fantastic Riad in the Medina of Marrakech. The tranquil and luxury surroundings of this Hotel is in stark contrast to the madness that you will experience in Medina. Just what you need if you are spending a few days tackling Marrakech's streets. As you step through the small traditional door of the Riad, it's like stepping in to a different world from the busy Medina streets.

Our room was on the ground floor. The room was fairly small but full of character and quality fittings. The room looked out to the courtyard and the bathing pool - nice views. At night, you can pull over the shutters and get a good night's sleep.

There is a rooftop terrace at the top - again, the peace and quiet there is hard to believe considering you are in the Medina. My wife and I loved the Moroccan tea on the rooftop at night - great way to end a busy day. We didn't eat in Azzar but I probably would if I could do it again. The food looked fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt-jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#54 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#26 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#100 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Talaa 12
Riad Talaa 12
#285 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Due
Riad Due
#98 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#32 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Azzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Azzar

Property: Riad Azzar
Address: 94, derb Moulay Abdelkader - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #561 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Azzar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Azzar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing