We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I would give this riad 6 stars if I could!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Ranked #93 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I would give this riad 6 stars if I could!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed at this riad for a week and the experience was exceptional. From the breakfast, to the surrounds, to the friendly and accommodating staff, every aspect of the service provided has been meticulously thought through to ensure a first rate presentation. It was a pleasure to stay at Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers, and would do so again without hesitation - a home away from home.

Room Tip: Every room is unique and we had the luxury of spreading our stay across 2 rooms, which almost made t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveHolidays2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
111
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We are frequent travellers and spent a few days in Marrakech around Easter (our first visit to Morocco). The Riad is easy to reach and perfectly located. It is very tastefully decorated, with care to details. It felt warm and very genuine. And a real oasis of peace. We were very impressed by the airy, luxurious simplicity of our room (Safa). We were even more impressed by the kindness and warm professionality of Jacques and its staff. Upon arrival Jacques gave us plenty of great advice that got our exploration of Marrakech started in the best way (it can be quite confusing to make sense of where things are and how to reach them if you've never visited before). We had dinner twice in the Terrasse overlooking the roofs on top of the Riad (Malika's cooking is really really amazing - it would have been a shame to have missed it out). Breakfast was tasty and we really appreciated the fact that it gave us a chance to taste different types of Moroccan breads. Jacques, Malika, Youseff, Rachida and the others make a fantastic, friendly team. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pobi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I only stayed in the Riad for a night but instantly felt at home - Jacques and all the staff are so lovely, helpful and welcoming. The Riad is perfectly located, within the Medina but not right in the thick of it so you have a nice but short walk to get to the souks/square etc. Tucked away down a little alleyway you wouldn't give it a second glance but once you go through the door a beautiful, tranquil house opens up. The rooms are all individually decorated, tasteful and immaculate and the terrace on the roof is amazing, especially for breakfast in the sun!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyM2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in Riad La Terrasse des Olivers for 4 nights the end of January we were welcomed by Ruschida who served us mint tea whilst we waited to be introduced to the manager Jacques, he was so helpful and instructed us about getting about the Medina and the Souk. We had dinner twice on the terrace which had been cooked with fresh vegetabes fruit & meat, absolutely delicious and the breakfast was excellent. Jacques and his staff Ruschida, Malika, Youseff & Brahim could not do enough for us whilst we were there, we loved Marrakech but after a busy day sightseeing it was a pleasure to return to the Riad with its tranquil and peaceful atmosphere..... the room was beautifully decorated very clean and comfortable. Hopefully will get back to Marrakech and would most definitely stay at this Riad..... P.S. we arranged with Jacques to be dollected at the airport on our arrival and it was most convenient.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpvaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Riad des terrase des oliviers from 1st-8th December 2012 and we had the most wonderful time in the Riad. Jacques, Youseff, Malachi (sp?) and another member of staff whose name I forget, could not have been more helpful and hospitable. Jacques took the time to inform us of many interesting places to visit at the beginning of our stay, and his help and advice continued throughout the holiday, whenever we needed it. Likewise, Youseff and Malachi were so helpful too, serving a delicious breakfast on the roof terrace or serving mint tea and keeping us supplied with bottles of water and clemetines! As "foodies" we sampled many tagines in Marrakesh and Essaouira, however the tagines in the riad, cooked by Malachi were by far the best we had in Morocco; freshly cooked with fresh, local ingredients - also complete with delicious fresh salad starters and fruit deserts with a twist! (Pomegranate with the juice of an orange and mint. Yum!)
As an extra bonus, it was my Birthday on our arrival, so my husband asked for a bottle of sparkling wine to be ready upon arrival - this was also no problem to arrange.
If you do want to take any excursions, Jacques will happily organise these for you. I would recommend that you ask for Mustafa - we traveled to Essaouira and Cascade D'ouzoud (both an absolute must) with him. While you will pay a little bit more with Mustafa (not much more I must add) you will travel in a very comfortable car with a guaranteed seatbelt and he is also a very safe driver (most Moroccan taxis don't have seatbelts and their driving can be 'interesting' to say the very least). Taking an excursion this way also means that you don't have to get up at the crack of dawn and head down to the bus station to barter for a taxi.
Marrakesh is a wonderful yet very hectic city, and it's easy to get tired here, so having a Riad such as this to come back and relax in was fantastic - we called it our haven in Marrakesh!
One final thing I must say, rest assured that Marrakesh is a safe city. For a westerner, it can sometimes be a little daunting being in such a hectic place, in a Muslim country, but you will get on just fine, providing that you respect their values and also dress appropriately (you will see quite a few westerners showing shoulders/arms above elbows and above the knee shorts or skirts - this is not appropriate, and by doing this, you will only bring more attention to yourself)

I would highly recommend both this Riad and Morocco to anyone - enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Took advice from friends to stay out of the heart of the Medina. It's a crazy place and a lot to take in. This place was super well located on a quiet street and really provided the necessary tranquility you need after being in the middle of it all. Awesome location for all the sights in and out of the medina. Jacques, the owner and proprietor is the man! Arranged pick up to and from airport, sat down with me for 20 mins when I arrived to walk me thru the map, give me sightseeing tips, restaurant tips and a good lesson in street smarts to handle Marrakech. The staff could not have been friendlier if they tried. Upon arrival I was offered mint tea and snacks and they always offered to and water upon request. The roof terrace was awesome. Great place to sit and relax and eat breakfast. Be sure to have an omelette at breakfast...was excellent. Even better, I took advantage of having dinner at the riad my first night. You MUST do this, it was amazing! Fabulous and very large home cooked meal...Moroccan specialties of your choice. I had the couscous with lamb nd chicken. So good. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I was on the first floor....windows out onto side street, front door out to courtyard. Room was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magellan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olhao, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very beautiful Riad with helpful and friendly staff. Beautifully decorated in Marocan style, even in the smallest details. The owner, manager and all personnel are really helpful and friendly. They make you feel like your coming back home instead of returning to your hotel.
I can recommend this Riad to everybody going to Marrakech.

Room Tip: It does not really matter which room you choose. They are all excellent (we slept in two different o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieErkelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#121 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#96 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#92 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#69 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#114 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers

Property: Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Address: 79, Derb Derdouba | Bab Doukkala - Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#73 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech, in the vibrant neighborhood of Bab Doukkala and easily accessible by taxi, nearby the fabulous Majorelle Gardens and 15 minutes away from the main square Jamaa el Fna. We invite you to enjoy the treasures of the Riad. All the Moroccan craftworks are represented: from the sculpted plaster ceilings, over the various colored tadelakts to the intricate zouak paintings and finely carved zelige. All of this will assure you an authentic and unforgettable experience. Upon your arrival, we will welcome you with the typical Moroccan tea and pastries. We will be available to answer all your questions and will assist you in discovering the real Marrakech. Our staff: Renaud, Malika, Rachida, Youssef and Brahim are at your disposal to make your stay an authentic and unforgettable experience. In the Riad everything is made available to make you feel relaxed: the refreshing splash basin after the frenzy souks, the sundeck chairs on the lush green terrace, the very comfortable couches and pergola, where you will enjoy your breakfasts and dinners, not to mention the different sitting area's, for reading your books or simply dreaming away... The perfect ingredients for a holiday, combining all the comfort with tasteful tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Terrasse Des Oliviers Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing