We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad, wonderful owner/staff, highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Ranked #63 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed with Riad des terrase des oliviers from 1st-8th December 2012 and we had the most wonderful time in the Riad. Jacques, Youseff, Malachi (sp?) and another member of staff whose name I forget, could not have been more helpful and hospitable. Jacques took the time to inform us of many interesting places to visit at the beginning of our stay, and his help and advice continued throughout the holiday, whenever we needed it. Likewise, Youseff and Malachi were so helpful too, serving a delicious breakfast on the roof terrace or serving mint tea and keeping us supplied with bottles of water and clemetines! As "foodies" we sampled many tagines in Marrakesh and Essaouira, however the tagines in the riad, cooked by Malachi were by far the best we had in Morocco; freshly cooked with fresh, local ingredients - also complete with delicious fresh salad starters and fruit deserts with a twist! (Pomegranate with the juice of an orange and mint. Yum!)
As an extra bonus, it was my Birthday on our arrival, so my husband asked for a bottle of sparkling wine to be ready upon arrival - this was also no problem to arrange.
If you do want to take any excursions, Jacques will happily organise these for you. I would recommend that you ask for Mustafa - we traveled to Essaouira and Cascade D'ouzoud (both an absolute must) with him. While you will pay a little bit more with Mustafa (not much more I must add) you will travel in a very comfortable car with a guaranteed seatbelt and he is also a very safe driver (most Moroccan taxis don't have seatbelts and their driving can be 'interesting' to say the very least). Taking an excursion this way also means that you don't have to get up at the crack of dawn and head down to the bus station to barter for a taxi.
Marrakesh is a wonderful yet very hectic city, and it's easy to get tired here, so having a Riad such as this to come back and relax in was fantastic - we called it our haven in Marrakesh!
One final thing I must say, rest assured that Marrakesh is a safe city. For a westerner, it can sometimes be a little daunting being in such a hectic place, in a Muslim country, but you will get on just fine, providing that you respect their values and also dress appropriately (you will see quite a few westerners showing shoulders/arms above elbows and above the knee shorts or skirts - this is not appropriate, and by doing this, you will only bring more attention to yourself)

I would highly recommend both this Riad and Morocco to anyone - enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 238 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Took advice from friends to stay out of the heart of the Medina. It's a crazy place and a lot to take in. This place was super well located on a quiet street and really provided the necessary tranquility you need after being in the middle of it all. Awesome location for all the sights in and out of the medina. Jacques, the owner and proprietor is the man! Arranged pick up to and from airport, sat down with me for 20 mins when I arrived to walk me thru the map, give me sightseeing tips, restaurant tips and a good lesson in street smarts to handle Marrakech. The staff could not have been friendlier if they tried. Upon arrival I was offered mint tea and snacks and they always offered to and water upon request. The roof terrace was awesome. Great place to sit and relax and eat breakfast. Be sure to have an omelette at breakfast...was excellent. Even better, I took advantage of having dinner at the riad my first night. You MUST do this, it was amazing! Fabulous and very large home cooked meal...Moroccan specialties of your choice. I had the couscous with lamb nd chicken. So good. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I was on the first floor....windows out onto side street, front door out to courtyard. Room was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magellan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very beautiful Riad with helpful and friendly staff. Beautifully decorated in Marocan style, even in the smallest details. The owner, manager and all personnel are really helpful and friendly. They make you feel like your coming back home instead of returning to your hotel.
I can recommend this Riad to everybody going to Marrakech.

Room Tip: It does not really matter which room you choose. They are all excellent (we slept in two different o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieErkelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful house, beautifully decorated. About ten minutes walk to the main square and all the souks. Excellent staff, friendly and helpful without ever being in your face. Breakfast on the terrace is just idyllic.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paultheotherbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in October for our stay in Marrakech. From the minute we arrived, we were thrilled with our choice. Our room was beautiful (we stayed in the "Safa" room), and everyone who works there was wonderful. I was sick with the flu the first night we arrived, and Renaud (the owner) was so helpful and gave me some fresh fruit and bread for supper so we didn't have to go out. We ate dinner in the riad on our last night, and couldn't have asked for a better meal.

I would definitely recommend this riad, and if we ever return to Marrakech, we will stay here! We made several stops on our travels through Morocco and this riad was by far our favourite!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Marrakech, a magnificent, teeming city, can batter a tourist with its wild bustle, noise, and frantic traffic. Coming "home" to Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers is bliss! The staff make the visitor believe that nothing is too much trouble, and that the guest's comfort and pleasure are their only goals in life. The rooms are large and comfortable, the decor deliciously Moroccan, and the staff gracious at all times.

Breakfasts on the rooftop balcony are luscious and relaxing and dinners in the Riad are delicious and beautifully served by Braham, whose 100-watt smile never fades. Malika is cooks like a dream and Jacques, who speaks six languages, is so talented and experienced that he can make anything happen! When we wanted a quiet evening of TV and privacy he managed to have a delicious pizza delivered via scooter to our room, a first in the Riad and a miracle in Marrakech. Three other evenings we enjoyed lovely dinners on the terrace under the stars right in the Riad.

The owner, Renaud, is involved in every aspect of the place and runs a very tight ship. The location is perfect for experiencing the city.

We recommend this Riad with enthusiasm to anyone who wants to experience fabulous Marrakech as if they were staying with dear friends.

Room Tip: HIgher floors offer more light, but if stairs are a problem, the lower rooms are just fine, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynne1martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This Riad is a real joy. Lovely rooms, very atmospheric, fantastic service, delicious food served for dinner and very good breakfasts. The staff are great, friendly and very approachable - nothing is too much trouble. The pick-up from the airport was much appreciated. The location of the Riad makes walking around the Medina very easy. Also the Jardin Majorelle is within easy walking distance. We really enjoyed our stay here and are already planning our return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#40 of 502 in Marrakech
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 502 in Marrakech
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#79 of 502 in Marrakech
349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#70 of 502 in Marrakech
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers

Address: 79, Derb Derdouba | Bab Doukkala - Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $63 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech, in the vibrant neighborhood of Bab Doukkala and easily accessible by taxi, nearby the fabulous Majorelle Gardens and 15 minutes away from the main square Jamaa el Fna. We invite you to enjoy the treasures of the Riad. All the Moroccan craftworks are represented: from the sculpted plaster ceilings, over the various colored tadelakts to the intricate zouak paintings and finely carved zelige. All of this will assure you an authentic and unforgettable experience. Upon your arrival, we will welcome you with the typical Moroccan tea and pastries. We will be available to answer all your questions and will assist you in discovering the real Marrakech. Our staff: Renaud, Malika, Rachida, Youssef and Brahim are at your disposal to make your stay an authentic and unforgettable experience. In the Riad everything is made available to make you feel relaxed: the refreshing splash basin after the frenzy souks, the sundeck chairs on the lush green terrace, the very comfortable couches and pergola, where you will enjoy your breakfasts and dinners, not to mention the different sitting area's, for reading your books or simply dreaming away... The perfect ingredients for a holiday, combining all the comfort with tasteful tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Terrasse Des Oliviers Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing