We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Riad - Beautiful rooms and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Ranked #68 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Riad - Beautiful rooms and friendly staff”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in Terrasse des Oliviers for five nights in August. We are a family of four, with two children aged four and seven. We stayed in the Haloul suite, which was lovely and the right amount of space for four people (hard to find in a riad.) Our children loved the dipping pool. The riad is just beautiful, a real haven from the chaos of Marrakech. Jacques, Malika and Yousef really went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, and they were all lovely with our children (important when you have a family.) Also, the food is outstanding! We ate here almost every night on the beautiful rooftop under the stars. If you're going to Marrakech you won't be disappointed with this riad!

Room Tip: The suite on the rooftop is perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrib186306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    25
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
125
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was probably on of our favourite Riads that we stayed in. Jacques has spent time restoring the Riad so that it includes lots of Moroccan features, however with a touch of French finesse! The rooms are beautiful, light and airy in the daytime but so dark in the evening, resulting in a great nights sleep! The staff are attentive and really make you feel welcome. The owner is also fluent in both French and English, and he really gives you plenty of tips of what to do and where to go. The highlight though was seeing the Riad lit by candle light in the evening. This is an exceptional Riad in a great location, we woul definitely recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahed55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I decided to stay in this riad after reading the reviews and I am happy I did. Jacques was great in making the whole process of booking and taking care of transportation. He was there to welcome me and explain a bit about the city and where to go. I went to my room (the suite Hana) where I was served a superb mint tea with little Moroccan sweets. It is a beautiful, quiet room, on the first floor, that opens to the little street where the riad is located. I loved it. I enjoyed listening to the children playing after dinner (considering it is Ramadan, it was late night) but it was also very quiet and relaxing until late morning. The bed was excellent, the decor superb, the bathroom huge, the air conditioning working perfectly... Couldn't have asked for more. The riad is located in an area where you can see the real Marrakech life (not so many tourists or other riads in the area), yet a stone's throw from the souk and all the attractions. It is indeed a beautiful place and an oasis of calm and I will be certainly coming back and recommending it to my friends. Last but not least, the team - Youseef, Malika and Rachida - are simply the best. Always happy to help.
As all cooking is fresh, do not forget to order your dinner during the morning, otherwise they will not be able to accomodate you.

Room Tip: Suites are really large. I would recommend the 1st floor as the risk of the rooms on the ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CeciliaGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent 4 nights in Terrasse des Oliviers and liked it so much that we decided to come back for 6 more nights after a short stay in Essaouira. The riad is beautifully decorated, both the patios and the rooms. The beds are large and very comfortable. In the suite, one of the aircons had a bit of a hard time keeping up with the 50-degrees outside, but overall, the rooms are a haven of cool and romantic bliss. The roof terrace is excellent for a nice breakfast or for relaxation in the evening, with the muezzin completing the 1001-night fairytale.
If there was one thing to improve; please add some fruit to the breakfast, in a city where fruits are so abundantly available in the streets.

Overall; a wonderful stay, 15 mins from the main square, close to restaurants, spa's, souks, transit and a large supermarket; and an awesome staff with impeccable service (thanks to Jacques, Youssef, Malika and Rachida!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC8519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Jacques and his team go out of their way to make the stay a pleasure I all respects. The rooms and the overall Riad are distinctively Moroccan and its an experience worth trying and amazing value as well

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This Riad was just amazing. A really beautiful place and a welcome oasis of calm at the end of a busy day sightseeing.
My partner and I chose to stay in the Salam suite which we found to be exceptionaly clean and decorated beautifuly in the traditional Moroccan style. Every morning we were served with a fantastic breakfast (fresh fruit, omlette, bread and jam) which was huge and kept us going every day until lunch time. We ate out most nights but chose to eat in at the riad on our second night. Malikas cooking is amazing, make sure to sample it once!
The riad owner, Jacques, was very helpful giving us a map and pointing out the best places of interest. He also directed us to a couple of good places to eat. The rest of the riad team Rachida, Malika, Youssef and Ibrahim were warm and welcoming at all times. I would highly recommend this riad to other travelers and we really hope to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We can't thank Jacques and the team (Rachida, Malika, Youssef and Ibrahim) at La Terrasse enough for making our first stay in a Riad such a fantastic experience. The Riad has bags of charm, the suite was lovely and spacious and comfortable, and the roof terrace was an oasis. All the staff have been there ages and are tireless in helping their guests. The breakfast on the roof terrace was huge and just perfect to start the day. We ate dinner there too twice during our 4 night stay as it beats anything else we found - the food was excellent and extremely good value. We would highly recommend this and hope to return for an even longer stay. Many thanks to them all.

Room Tip: We had the Salam Suite which was lovely and on the ground floor so cool as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#102 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#74 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#33 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.1 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#80 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#73 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers

Property: Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Address: 79, Derb Derdouba | Bab Doukkala - Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#72 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech, in the vibrant neighborhood of Bab Doukkala and easily accessible by taxi, nearby the fabulous Majorelle Gardens and 15 minutes away from the main square Jamaa el Fna. We invite you to enjoy the treasures of the Riad. All the Moroccan craftworks are represented: from the sculpted plaster ceilings, over the various colored tadelakts to the intricate zouak paintings and finely carved zelige. All of this will assure you an authentic and unforgettable experience. Upon your arrival, we will welcome you with the typical Moroccan tea and pastries. We will be available to answer all your questions and will assist you in discovering the real Marrakech. Our staff: Renaud, Malika, Rachida, Youssef and Brahim are at your disposal to make your stay an authentic and unforgettable experience. In the Riad everything is made available to make you feel relaxed: the refreshing splash basin after the frenzy souks, the sundeck chairs on the lush green terrace, the very comfortable couches and pergola, where you will enjoy your breakfasts and dinners, not to mention the different sitting area's, for reading your books or simply dreaming away... The perfect ingredients for a holiday, combining all the comfort with tasteful tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Terrasse Des Oliviers Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing