We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tranquil Oasis just steps away from the Madness of Marrakech Life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Jonan to your Saves list
Riad Jonan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Monteleone d'Orvieto, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Tranquil Oasis just steps away from the Madness of Marrakech Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

The raid is a few meters off of the main street of the Kasbah and is a peaceful oasis after a long day of shopping and sightseeing. The rooms are all different but all decorated in traditional moroccan style. The Riad's owners, Martyn and Howard were charming and very helpful, giving us advice on the best places to eat and things to see. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they were always there when you needed them to make bookings, give directions or just make a cup of tea. I had never been to Morocco before and just wanted a bit of winter sun but ended up having a wonderful time. I would defiantly recommend this small but perfectly formed Raid.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TotalHolidayJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    95
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
65
362
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hamilton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Had a great 3 nights in this Riad. After a very long time getting through passport control, the taxi we'd organised through the Riad's owner whisked us through the chaos of Saturday evening traffic into the delights and culture shock of the Kasbah. Inside the Riad was an oasis of calm in contrast to the vibrant, frenetic street life just outside its door. The meal we'd pre-ordered was lovely and the service was both pleasant and efficient throughout our stay. We had a lovely time, and enjoyed the added benefit of the roof terrace which must be a lifeline in the hot summer months.
The only slight criticism is that it would have been nice to have some more luxurious toiletries in the bathroom, but the towels were changed on a daily basis which was more important.
We'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marieHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadjonan, Owner at Riad Jonan, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Firstly , we are pleased to read your excellent review. Regarding your comment on the toiletries in the rooms we are in the process of changing this and we have just collected an order from Les senses de Marrakech of shampoo, shower gel etc in a nice presentation stand. I am now putting them in the superior and deluxe rooms . It seems we were on the same wave length!.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We would highly recommend this little gem of a place. Nestled in the middle of the old town near the Kasbah mosque and the gardens, this is a really good find. They picked us up from the airport and from the moment we stepped into to the riad we had mint tea poured for us. The attendant was really friendly and explained to us how to navigate the area for our fist night, which was useful.
I wont write a long review, all i can say is you will not be disappointed with the service. Even when my wife was ill, the hotel went the extra mile to make sure she was comfortable and served her food even out of normal hours. This place is very good value for money and if you want to be treated with the best service, you wont go wrong with this Riad.
Ps.you can sunbathe on the roof or read a book in the seating area - defintiely worth having a look.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelcritic_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

What a crazy city marrakech is we enjoyed our stay very much 3 hours from London and we were in another world. This great little hotel is the perfect place to stay full of charm, lovely owners and helpful staff eager to advise.Try and stay here you will enjoy it!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveferris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

had a brilliant time in marrakech, glad we stayed in a riad rather than a hotel. we arranged pic up from airport and was greeted by the friendly english speaking staff at riad jonan who gave us mint tea and pastries on arrival and advice on where to go. we stayed in a stylish bedroom with a four poster bed loved the decor, enjoyed the breakfast served with plenty of tea and coffee. after lots of walking and the madness of marrakech it was nice to return to the riad and enjoy a bottle of wine served on the lovely roof terrace, very romantic.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billyboy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Had a lovely 3 nights in Marrakech staying in Riad Jonan. They looked after me giving me advise on places to see. Being on my own it was nice to come back each evening and relax having a drink on the lovely roof terrace then coming down to the beautiful decorated patio to be served my evening meal by attentive staff would recomend this to any solo traveler!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendywheelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Riad Jonan for a short break and were very glad with what we found...

Stayed for 4 nights in Jan2011 and found it a great riad for exploring Marrakech, located in the Kasbah area and 10mins walk from the main square.

Howard and the team were great right from the start helping in any way possible to make the stay relaxing and even moved us to a deluxe room which was lovely and matched the rest of this traditional Riad which included a spacious roof Terrance, plunge pool and TV area...

Somewhere abolutly to recommend and to revisit

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex_gilead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#146 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#64 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#65 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#27 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Property: Riad Jonan
Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jonan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing