We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Superb riad in the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Jonan
Ranked #67 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb riad in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

The Riad Jonan is an attractive boutique hotel in the heart of the Medina. You will feel safe and looked after, as you relax away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Centrally located and easy to walk or get a taxi anywhere. Our party of 5 stayed over New Year and we were given loads of advice about good local restaurants etc.

Your hosts will look after you and the staff couldnt be more helpful. The food was delicious and when we were stranded by our airline for 2 extra days, the riad took us back for 2 more nights and helped us get over the stress of it all!

Good value, great hospitality, super location and ideal if you do not fancy a faceless international style hotel but somewhere with personality!

Recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank laurencewaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    95
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
66
364
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

Having never been to Morocco before, really did not know what to expect - but Riad Jonan was a perfect start. Yes, the weather was a tad unlucky, but the Road more then made up for it. Perfect location in the old town with easy walking access to a host of sites, great facilities and wonderful staff, help make this a perfect retreat whether you are looking for a weekend break or maybe a bit longer.

All the staff we excellent, and they even helped arrange collection and delivery from the airport. Help like this, coupled with a great menu make this an ideal place to stay!

  • Liked — Great location, comfortable, great staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank porkgrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

This was my third trip to Marrakech, and the Riad Jonan. I came back because I travel alone, and I knew I would recieve a warm welcome and be well looked after at the Riad. It really exceeded my expectations this time - since I was last there in May 2007 they have completed a major re-build / refurbishment of the house next door therefore doubling the size of the Riad, and by taking on more staff and improving the bedrooms things have really changed. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble for them. They now offer a more varied menu, including lunches which previously were not available, and the food is delicious. The owners are English, and the Moroccan staff all speak excellent English (and French too). It is an oasis of calm and beauty when returning from a day out in haggling in the Souks!

  • Liked — Comfort & cleanliness
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We were travelling as a group of six to celebrate a special birthday and wanted to stay in a traditional riad and Riad Jonan's name came up several times. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. The bedrooms were extremely clean, beds comfortable and everything you could ask for. Breakfast was a realxing experience in the open courtyard and trips arranged with ease.

We would recommend Riad Jonan to anybody travelling to Marrakesh looking for a relaxing oasis central to all facilities and attractions and extremely competitvely priced.

  • Liked — The staff, bedrooms, ambience
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank paulmingay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

We had never been to Marrakech before and were very impressed with the service we received. The Riad itself was both full of character and welcoming. The kasbah can seem intimidating to newcomers at first, but the hosts gave a great deal of useful information to help us find our way around. They alsoprovided additional services for a (very reasonable) additional charge, such as hotel pickup and a car and driver for trips out of town. The riad itself was very impressive, with good food comfortable rooms and a lovely sun terrace. We will be returning!

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartandMaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

Well worth booking an airport transfer as this place is hard to find. Agree with most other reviews really. The Riad is lovely, although a distance from the main square, we did not mind this.

Staff very helpful and good recommendations on where to eat and go on day trips. Love the relaxing feel of the riad and the roof terrance especially.

When we arrived, the owner said that he did not have the superior room we had booked. However, he refunded us the difference which we were happy with.

Some rooms open right onto the courtyard and not very private. Our room was on the first floor and you could hear everything. If people were chatting and drinking late there was not chance of sleeping and you also got the impression that those below could hear you sneeze.

There was a problem with our sink that was fixed quickly. The drains were smelly as others had observed. I mainly put this down to Marrakech, rather than the Riad.

Despite the above, generally, excellent value for money and we had a great holiday.

  • Liked — Staff and setting
  • Disliked — Noise and smells
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

We booked to stay at Riad Jonan after reading the reviews on trip advisor and wasn't disappointed in the least. I wanted somewhere special to celebrate my 40th birthday and the Riad and Marrakech certainly hit the mark. I loved every minute from the great breakfast and friendly staff at the Riad to exploring Marrakech and all it had to offer. We stayed 6 nights and this was perfect to give us plenty of time to visit all the sights including the palaces, museums, gardens and of course wandering around the Souks getting frequently disorientated !
The Riad is in a great location and I would definately recommend it for anyone wanting to visit Marrakech

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfy room, friendly staff and hotel dog, Keko
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Custard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#32 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#66 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#59 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#58 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#48 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Property: Riad Jonan
Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jonan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing