We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A place to stay in Marrakesh!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Jonan
Ranked #65 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
beaune
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A place to stay in Marrakesh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just returned from 6day trip from Marrakesh, and I feel Riad Jonan was a place to stay.

Located in 15 minutes away from the main square and just hop away from rue de la Kasbah,
this riad offers a cozy and comfortable atmosphere with helpful and friendly staff.
My room had a overlooking view of Patio and the plunge pool, was beautifully decorated with moroccan taste.
I've heard that there are some riads who may push you to buy things in certain places,(so that they get a commission.)
But staffs here was always helpful to advise me the areas(not the shop) to buy things in a right prices.

Breakfast is simple but great with freshly squeezed orange juice, breads and choice of egg or an homemade yogurt.
I didn't have the chance to have dinner here but other guest seems to be enjoying it.

Mainstreet rue de la Kasbah, is always crowded with people,and I didn't feel insecure going back to Riad even after 10pm.

It was a incredible moment to stay at this Riadh, and I can't wait to visit Riad Jonan again for next Moroccan trip!!

Room Tip: Wifi access is limited to lounge area but some rooms near lounge may have access
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Damayant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    98
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
67
370
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

EasyJet delay meant we were too late for a meal on out first night, but Hassan was more than helpful by email, including delaying our driver too. Room great, breakfast good, staff attitude should be bottled and sold to every UK company..
The riad is a bit of a warren, with lots of unexpected passages and roof access points, with a beautiful plunge pool and great lounging opportunities. It's a bit of a shock ( natch) to step out from the calm to the challenges of rue de la Kasbah but we survived to tell the tale. It felt as if we were observing real life rather than the tourist frenzy of the main square.
High points: great advice, musical instrument availability, coffee to stand a spoon up in ( in a good way), charm and tranquillity. A bit challenging: having to leave!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have just come back from a 3 night stay in Marrakech and had the pleasure of staying in the Riad Jonan , Service was excellent ,staff always helpful and informative, roof terrace a real sun trap and the food was amazing .....Riad is approximately a 20 minute walk to the square and souks .. A very enjoyable trip ... thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spigy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here a few nights on recommendation of Tripadvisor reviews. The riad itself was what I expected a riad to be. Do not expect everything to be schmick, it is what it is....a riad. I paid for a basic room but was upgraded on my first two nights, perhaps due to my last minute booking through Booking.com. I extended my stay for another two nights booking directly with the owner of the riad and was moved to a smaller but equally pleasant room.
WIFI is mainly confined to the reception/dining courtyard area.
Breakfast was quite good with a choice of eggs accompanied with OJ, coffee/tea and sweet breads.
Staff are courteous and helpful, but, I would not say outstanding as generally described by other reviewers. I have had much better service in my travels. I noticed one of the staff fraternizing with two guests to their delight and encouragement. Not very professional, but, who am I to judge!
The riad is perfectly located in the heart of the kasbah and a short stroll to all major sites in the medina. The taxi driver had abit of trouble finding it at night (expect to pay approx MAD 25 to 30 from the train station at night). Note, there are only a couple of restaurants within a couple of minutes walking distance from the riad. I found the Kasbah Café, located 1 min walk from the riad, was most notable for good food and service. Most restaurants can be found in the Jemaa el-Fnaa square approx. 10-15 mins walk from Riad Jonan.

Room Tip: Rooms near the dining room courtyard can get WIFI to some extent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mahiwahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at Riad Jonan, and like everyone else could not praise the staff or the food highly enough. The Riad has a really nice homely feel, due to it's size. Staff looked after us really well, providing advice on negotiating at the souks, booking trips and transport, and even escorting us to an argon oil co-operative we asked about nearby. Air conditioning in the bedrooms and the chance to unwind on the roof terrace with a bottle of wine at the end of a busy day was great, we ate dinner there twice as the food was so good. I would 100% stay there again if I was back in Marrakech

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaneen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a thoroughly good time in Marrakesh although I did flag in the heat towards the end.
The staff at Riad Jonan were very helpful and friendly especially on our arrival with maps and tips on how to survive the offers of 'help' from locals. The room was small but clean and the food that we ordered was excellent. In fact it was some of the best food that we had during the whole trip.
The location was good- a steady 20 min walk to the Souks up the street of 1000 taxis!
Our airport transfer was fine except for going back to the airport when he was late but the staff did offer to drive us to the airport instead and we got there on time.
I would definitely recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day break with our friends and the Riad Jonan is the place to be. The staff are very good and attentive nothing is too much trouble from making sure you are ok to arranging taxis, trips etc. This Hotel is approximately 15 to 20 minute walk to the square and souks were it is a different world especially in the evening. Our flight was delayed and we were late arriving but Abdul found time to show us our rooms and even provided us with mint tea, coffee and sandwiches. Would have no hesitation in going back to this hotel and would certainly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chrissyh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#59 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.5 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#45 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#73 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#58 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#71 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Property: Riad Jonan
Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jonan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing