We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay”
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Jonan
Ranked #84 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked the riad through Thomas Cook and were not disappointed. The riad is just off the Rue de la Kasbah, is easy to find and a straight forward walk to the Jemma el Fna (20mins on average but 30-35mins in the evening human traffic). The Saadian tombs are on the same street as well as a very large fixed price store with currency conversion at a very good rate. Every member of staff at the riad was friendly and helpful with everything we asked about / for. There are many tours on offer through the city but the riad organised ours to the Atlas Mountains with our own personal driver and not only was it an amazing day, the price beat that offered elsewhere. The rooms were cleaned and serviced regularly. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryGirlNCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for Riad Jonan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 673 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We Stayed in Riad Jonan in May 2013. We stayed for 6 days altogether using the Riad as a base to explore Marrakech and further afield in Morocco. When we booked were unsure about the location but it was only a 5/10 minute walk into the main square and we felt perfectly safe walking about the Medina. The staff were excellent; incredibly friendly and helpful. They all had a high standard of English, which was huge benefit in helping us plan trips. As we went away for a few trips we ended up staying in 3 of their standard rooms, all of which were clean and nicely decorated in an authentic style. Breakfast was included in our rate, which was really nice, with a good range of choices. We also had a meal in the Riad the night we arrived which amazing and enough to feed 20! We would definitely recommend this Riad to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SineadOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I had a wonderful holiday in Marrakech, and the riad Jonan was largely why I enjoyed my stay so much. The manager planned all my trips out of the city and booked those trips for me. The staff were very helpful and helped me tour the city with a very accurate map that they had designed. The breakfasts at the riad were plentiful and delicious .Fresh squeezed orange
juice each morning, and home made yoghort.The rooms were very comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly. All the outside noise seemed to be drowned out , even on the roof garden.I had a very nice stay here and cannot criticise anything. Jane Dowse

Room Tip: What appears to be just a small house can be the most comfortable and delightful place to stay.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Riad Jonan is situated up a small alley just off the road, compared to some riads, it is a doddle to find. Upon arrival we were given traditional mint tea and pastries and then shown to our room which was on the first floor. The room was tastefully decorated in morocan style, with an adjoining bathroom/shower. There is a roof terrace with chairs and sun loungers, sun hats are provided. Breakfast was appetizing though basic and would probably become repetitive if you were staying more than a few days, nethertheless it started the day nicely. There is also free WiFi which worked great for us though our room was above the office. The riad is a little oasis in the hussle and bussle of Marrakech life and somewhere were you can find a corner and truly relax.

It is approx a 10 minute walk to the square, it is a relatively straight forward walk though the staff at the riad had given us a map. dont worry if you get lost, you will, its part of the experience especially in the souks at the north end of the square. One word of warning, do not under any circumstances allow anybody to show you to some location because they will expect you to pay them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

riad is well situated with a 5 minute walk to the square. Many nice cafes nearby. The staff are all so very helpful. Arranged tour to Essaouria, good day out. Hassan upgraded us to a beautiful room with 4 poster bed. Air con not marvelous but they gave us a fan as well. Couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and a good choice of options. Thank you to everyone of the staff for making our trip so enjoyable. Try to avoid the false guides on the Kashba, especially a guy named Mohammad.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KerrieGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

After arriving in a bit of a stress because we hadn't been able to locate our pre-ordered taxi at the airport, we finally found Riad Jonan. We were greeted warmly by Hassan, who appolagised profusely for the mistake and as the riad was quiet upgraded us to a beautiful bigger room for the pre-arranged price of a smaller room which we were extremely grateful for. The service was excellent, breakfast was from the same menu every day but at least you could vary your order and was always freshly made. We didn't eat an evening meal but the food sounded great. The room we stayed in was the large one next to the punge pool on the bottom level. I personally loved it; it was authentic, well equipt and cleaned every day. The riad was only a short walk away from the centre, and I never felt unsafe in the area. We went on the excursion to the sahara which was good but a bit too much travelling for the amount of time spent in the sahara. All in all it was a good holiday made great by the Riad, especially Hassan. Thank you, we loved it and would definately reccommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here for the week, the staff are marvellous, very friendly and very helpful.
Would recommend eating here, you won’t find much better food throughout Marrakech and it’s authentic Moroccan, suggest taking a bottle of the house Rosé and having your meal up on the roof terrace.
We booked our trips thorough the riad and all of them were excellent value, with your own driver you can stop wherever and whenever you want to, would suggest taking the walking tour around Marrakech on your first day to get yourself orientated, a word of advice, if you get lost around the souks (markets) find your way back to the main square and start again!!
All in all, a lovely holiday, very comfortable, the riad is ideally situated, you can easily walk up to the main square in 10 to 15 minutes, the food is excellent, the breakfasts are lovely, the prices are reasonable, would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#87 of 502 in Marrakech
333 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 502 in Marrakech
944 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#119 of 502 in Marrakech
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#50 of 502 in Marrakech
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#66 of 502 in Marrakech
547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#55 of 502 in Marrakech
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $64 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jonan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing