We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem!”
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Jonan
Ranked #86 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Riad Jonan was everything we had hoped for and more. When deciding on Marrakech for our destination, we wanted to be in the heart of things, small, friendly, calm.... we got this in bucketfuls. I always check out Trip Advisor before I book anywhere and try and bear in mind the positives and negatives - ok, the shower was a bit dodgy and the plumbing a bit wiffy - so what? If you want a wide screen TV, mirror and lighting to do your make-up in (!!) and mini toiletries for a bubbly bath, go to the large corporate hotels outside Marrakech - after all you could be in any City in the world in one of those places!!! This place is simply beautiful and the staff, particularly Abdul and Hassan were so kind, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and un-assuming. The décor is lovely, the rooms large enough, comfortable with clean towels every day, the food is simple but very tasty. We loved to spend time in the evenings after our return from the craziness of the Square and the Souks to the peaceful roof terrace for a beer or bottle of wine. We met some other lovely guests while we were there and we were all so happy to have chosen such a perfect little place in an ideal location. We went for a week, but took a 2 day trip in the middle of that week to Casablanca - I've done a separate review on that - well worth the train ride if you stay in the right place. Marrakech itself is a sensory overload - colours, sounds, smells and once you get used to their bartering, banter and the fact that if you point a camera within around half a mile at the snake charmers and stall owners, they'll spot you - then it's very much to be enjoyed. Don't think about it - just do it :-D

Room Tip: They all looked lovely - no outside window in ours, but it didn't bother us, just meant it was d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 677 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great rooms. Nice rooms, well decorated, clean and comfortable. Excellent location. impeccable service. Would live to stay longer here. Good service and attentive staff. Staff even showed us around the riad on arrival to make us we felt at home. A lovely touch to get tea and a snack on arrival too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shellyanne61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived late in the evening to be greeted by Abdul, who showed us through to the lounge area and brought us some refreshing mint tea and pastries, before showing us up to our first floor room.
The rooms are not large but adequate in size and tastefully decorated, we had upgraded to a superior room, not sure wether I would class it as superior? We ate in the restaurant on the first night and had one of the best meals of our three day stay, I had Meat Tagine, and my wife had Fish Tagine - this was fantastic.......
The staff really cant do enough for you, very friendly and polite, even drew us a map to guide us around - still got lost in the Medina though as everyone does.
There is a lovely roof terrace as well, with lots of seating and sun loungers with towels and sun hats provided. You can even take your meals up there if you wish, the wine (red) is superb and is localy made nr Cassablanca.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We planned a holiday to barcelona to catch up with friends and decided to also visit marrakech not being too far from barcelona. Booked a stay at the Riad Jonan..the accomodation was amazing but what really made our holiday was the incredible attention given to us by the staff at the Riad. Hassan,Abdul,Hassan and Said were very attentive and so welcoming..made our stay very comfortable..certainly would not have no hesitation to return to Riad Jonan.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms at the Riad would be pretty much perfect..probably pick a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgenoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Tucked away behind an unassuming door, Riad Jonan is a delightful place to stay away from the hustle of Marrakech centre but a short walk to get to everything. We were able to stay in a triple room with my teenage daughter and took advantage of the in house menu for odd meals and snacks. There are lots of nooks and crannies so there is always somewhere to sit and relax with a book and the roof top terrace is a delight. The staff were excellent, the room was clean, food great. Cannot fault this place - it has a really relaxing vibe that made it a welcoming place to stay.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Sara250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The ryad itself is pretty, well maintained and clean. No complaints about our suite, other than the fact that the shower head essentially sprayed everywhere in the bathroom, but the shower. The floors were a soaking mess.
Our main issue were the staff/owners. Firstly, we essentially never saw the owners, when the staff needed approval or had a question, they would ask the owners, then respond to us, however literally the owners office was 2 meters away, why couldn't we simply speak with the owners themselves? They pretty much avoided their guests completely.
Also, when asking about a day trip, we were advised to go to the bus station at 830AM and simply purchase tickets which would be easier. Upon following this staff members advice, we were told at the bus station (after a long search and cab ride) that the tickets were sold out. Upon our return to the riad, all we hoped for was an apology and perhaps some advice on how to spend our now free day, what we got was rudeness, denial and a staff member claiming we essentially imagined that entire conversation and that none of this ever happened. How I knew which station to go to and at what time? Well, apparently it was a hallucination.
So, stay for the place,but don't expect kind or even civil interaction.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M, Propriétaire at Riad Jonan, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for the positive feedback given about the Riad. I must say that I am very surprised and sorry about your bad feeling about the relationship that we have had with you. During your stay the riad was full and we spent a lot of time talking with our guests. Of course when we are busy every member of the staff is competent to discuss and advise the clients in most of the subjects. They usually don’t need our help. At your arrival, you were advised about all kind of trips and excursions that you could do, and for most of them we can book them for you to avoid any disappointment. By the way you have chosen a trip to Essaouira with Supratour, that is a nice and cheap way of travelling, but the problem is that we cannot book tickets for you, neither by phone, nor by internet. I don’t know exactly what was told you when you came back but you must know that all the members of the staff are always very helpful in such case as all the tripadvisor advices underline it. To be quite honnest you can also tell that we have organized for you a Sahara trip (2 days, 1 night), and that everything was quite OK... Anyway I think that you enjoyed your stay with us because you had only booked for 1 night and you finally stayed 4 nights. We hope you keep a very good souvenir of your stay in Marrakesh and that we can welcome you another time, and take a little more time to talk with you. Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A perfect place to stay if you want to get the real feel of Marrakech whilst also having a comfortable and peaceful haven from the bustle of the souks. All the staff are wonderful - friendly and helpful. We couldn't have chosen better. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Froghollow24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#81 of 502 in Marrakech
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 502 in Marrakech
963 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#149 of 502 in Marrakech
344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#110 of 502 in Marrakech
321 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $59 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jonan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing