We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Jonan
Ranked #52 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Tucked away behind an unassuming door, Riad Jonan is a delightful place to stay away from the hustle of Marrakech centre but a short walk to get to everything. We were able to stay in a triple room with my teenage daughter and took advantage of the in house menu for odd meals and snacks. There are lots of nooks and crannies so there is always somewhere to sit and relax with a book and the roof top terrace is a delight. The staff were excellent, the room was clean, food great. Cannot fault this place - it has a really relaxing vibe that made it a welcoming place to stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    95
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
66
364
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The ryad itself is pretty, well maintained and clean. No complaints about our suite, other than the fact that the shower head essentially sprayed everywhere in the bathroom, but the shower. The floors were a soaking mess.
Our main issue were the staff/owners. Firstly, we essentially never saw the owners, when the staff needed approval or had a question, they would ask the owners, then respond to us, however literally the owners office was 2 meters away, why couldn't we simply speak with the owners themselves? They pretty much avoided their guests completely.
Also, when asking about a day trip, we were advised to go to the bus station at 830AM and simply purchase tickets which would be easier. Upon following this staff members advice, we were told at the bus station (after a long search and cab ride) that the tickets were sold out. Upon our return to the riad, all we hoped for was an apology and perhaps some advice on how to spend our now free day, what we got was rudeness, denial and a staff member claiming we essentially imagined that entire conversation and that none of this ever happened. How I knew which station to go to and at what time? Well, apparently it was a hallucination.
So, stay for the place,but don't expect kind or even civil interaction.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M, Propriétaire at Riad Jonan, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback given about the Riad. I must say that I am very surprised and sorry about your bad feeling about the relationship that we have had with you. During your stay the riad was full and we spent a lot of time talking with our guests. Of course when we are busy every member of the staff is competent to discuss and advise the clients in most of the subjects. They usually don’t need our help. At your arrival, you were advised about all kind of trips and excursions that you could do, and for most of them we can book them for you to avoid any disappointment. By the way you have chosen a trip to Essaouira with Supratour, that is a nice and cheap way of travelling, but the problem is that we cannot book tickets for you, neither by phone, nor by internet. I don’t know exactly what was told you when you came back but you must know that all the members of the staff are always very helpful in such case as all the tripadvisor advices underline it. To be quite honnest you can also tell that we have organized for you a Sahara trip (2 days, 1 night), and that everything was quite OK... Anyway I think that you enjoyed your stay with us because you had only booked for 1 night and you finally stayed 4 nights. We hope you keep a very good souvenir of your stay in Marrakesh and that we can welcome you another time, and take a little more time to talk with you. Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A perfect place to stay if you want to get the real feel of Marrakech whilst also having a comfortable and peaceful haven from the bustle of the souks. All the staff are wonderful - friendly and helpful. We couldn't have chosen better. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Froghollow24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It's all been said, as I see, in the Riad's guestbook and here on Trip Advisor: but it's all true! - I'd call it "home from home", but my own home is not so beautiful! The place has everything: location - half a minute down the "derb" [= cul-de-sac alley] and you're on the Rue de la Kasbah main street; peace - quietness outside and tranquility inside; food - excellent breakfast, and the optional evening meals are excellent; decor - beautiful traditional Moroccan. But: above all - the staff! I can't avoid the cliches about friendliness and service; this was hospitality, welcome, 110%.. And they were all fluent in English and French: more than that, I heard them welcome guests in better Spanish and Italian than I have. This Riad made our week's stay in Marrakech a pure pleasure. Book them!

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room - we heard no complaints. Half the rooms are ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DafyddM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The Riad was beautiful, the owners couldn't do enough to help and the staff attentive and really nice... and the food, have the prunes and homemade yoghurt for breakfast divine!! The perfect place to retreat from the absolute craziness that is Marrakech! It has a really central location perfect for exploring the city. We booked through teletext holidays and my only criticism would be that our transfer didn't turn up.. But after that an amazing holiday in a truely unique city.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calli73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

There may be more luxurious Riads in Marrakech but there can't be one that is more welcoming and friendly with attentive service, delicious breakfasts and helpful information!
We chose to stay in a Riad for an intensified Moroccan experience, large hotels can be very anonymous, and that is what we enjoyed.
Returning to the Riad after many hours exploring the noisy, chaotic, crowded and, at times, verbally exhausting city we were greeted at the door by a welcoming, smiling member of staff who politely enquired if we had enjoyed our day. It really felt like returning home! Inside was an oasis of pools, greenery and Morrocan decor. Our favourite place to unwind was, however, the roof terrace with it's loungers, mosaic tables, arabic tents and a view of the snow clad Atlas mountains, from the top terrace. We also enjoyed excellent breakfasts up here - fresh orange juice, good coffee, pastries, crepes and a choice of mushroom omelette,scrambled eggs, cereals or homemade yoghurt with cinnamon and orange prunes.
Hassan, and his wonderful team, suggested and organised trips for us, to the Ourika valley and an amazing, not to be missed, visit to a nearby Hamman.
From the time of booking I was impressed by the emails that were sent to us. Hassan confirmed our booking and sent information regarding airport collection (we were met promptly at arrivals, by our driver, holding a "Riad Jonan" sign) and their dinner menu in case we needed food on arrival. E mails flowed and I was able to confirm certain room and collection details providing me with the confidence that we were in competent hands.
Our rooms were just the standard ones but were traditionally decorated and provided all that we needed. There was little external noise to disturb our sleep and we were woken by the cockerel's greeting.
We all loved the busy street that leads to the Riad, Rue de Kasbah, with it's friendly stall holders and kebab vendors and, after initial wariness, tried the food on offer and were rewarded with some of the best tasting food of the trip. From then on we were greeted as we passed. This lively street was our favourite location in the whole of Marrakech!
Thank you Hassan, Hassan and Abdou for your smiles and wonderful, caring service.
Do stay here and enjoy the amazing Morrocan hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieFra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I booked a week at Riad Jonan as part of our honeymoon based on previous tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. Before we arrived I had contacted Hassan via email with an abundance of questions, all of which were responded to immediately. Hassan arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport which was great. On arrival we were greeted by Abdou who gave us a great map of the area and even better advice on where to go, what to do.
We booked 2 tours through the Riad and Hassan also booked us into a nearby spa for amazing treatments and even though they don't offer this excursion, Hassan organised a cookery lesson for us at a nearby Riad.
Nothing was ever too much trouble and the service from the moment we arrived til the moment we left was better than any 5 star hotel we've stayed in.
The food at the Riad was amazing and very reasonably priced and the roof terrace was very relaxing
We stayed in a superior room which was really nice and comfortable. There was a small amount of street noise but if you're going to opt for a Riad that's what you'll get. It was really only kids playing which wasn't a big deal. The location of Riad Jonan was in my opinion was a great one. The street had some great people and we even got to know some of the street vendors by name! Lots of character and a great buzz.
The staff at Riad Jonan are all amazing and there is a very friendly atmosphere there constantly.

I would highly recommend a stay at Riad Jonan and if we ever go back to Marrakech we will stay here again.

Room Tip: If staying for more than a few days go for bigger room we stayed in Zagora and it was a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mheg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#29 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#62 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#63 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#59 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#48 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Property: Riad Jonan
Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jonan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing