We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Oasis of calm in mad Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Jonan
Ranked #67 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm in mad Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just back from 4 nights at Riad Jonan. Friendly, attentive and really helpful staff made this a great place to stay and the pretty, tranquil and comfortable Riad was a haven of calm in the midst of Marrakech. Breakfast always great - prunes in orange and cinnamon with the homemade yoghurt highly recommended and we had dinner in one night which was excellent - delicious tagines and very generous portions. Great position about 15 minutes walk to the main square and ideal for visiting all the sights. Definitely recommend this Riad

Room Tip: Loved being woken by the cockerel and the call to prayer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    98
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
67
370
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely Riad. Could highly recommend staying here. Attentive professional staff who were always happy to help with booking restaurants etc. Passed on many helpful tips.
Lovely roof terrace but we only discovered it the day we left.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Perfect service, really helpful staff, good breakfast, nice location near the palaces, would recommend. We booked Riad Dubai but due to an error on their part they were over-booked and Riad Jonan agreed to take us and were helpful with everything. Nicely decorated roof terrace and communal areas. Stayed in tantan; the ensuite is actually a small walled off part of the room so not very private but fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leo1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just returned from a 5 day stay at Riad Jonan and we loved it. We arrived in the evening and were picked up at the airport by someone organized through the riad. We were greeted at the riad with mint tea and biscuits and then sat down to a very nice traditional Moroccan dinner which we had organized before arriving. Dinner consisted of four different spiced vegetables with bread, vegetable tagine for myself and chicken tagine for my boyfriend, cous cous, and oranges with cinnamon for dessert. We also shared a half bottle of rose wine. It was by far enough food! Breakfast was included each day and was one of my favourite parts of the day. You could choose one of any item on the menu (scrambled eggs, omelette, cereal, yogurt, etc.) and this was followed by pastries (croissants, toast, crepes), fresh orange juice and coffee and tea. There are a few different areas in the riad to sit down and relax, as well as a rooftop terrace to take in the sun. The terrace has lounge chairs, each with a towel and a sun-hat. Our room was upgraded to a superior room upon arrival, (known as the Meknes). The bed was very comfortable with lots of pillows, and the ensuite bathroom was also nice. The room also included a hairdryer, fridge, safe, iPod dock and a seating area. The riad was quiet and we had good sleeps each night. It was a little strange sleeping in a room with no windows as it was so dark in the morning, but the nearby rooster usually let us know it was morning! I enjoyed tea before going to bed which the staff were always willing to prepare for me when we got in. The riad was just a 10 minute walk to the main Medina, and just a couple minute walk to the Saadian Tombs. We always felt safe in the area, even when coming back later in the evening. The staff were very friendly, professional and attentive. We sat down with a staff member our first morning, and he provided us with a map and lots of information on Marrakech which was helpful as this was our first time in Marrakech. He gave us information on different day trips and we ended up booking the Atlas Mountain tour (it was nice to visit the mountains, but be prepared to spend quite a bit of money as you are dropped off at different places along the way, all of which ask for extra money, even when you tell them you are not interested in having a guide or getting your picture taken with a camel they still somehow manage to reel you in). I really can't say anything bad about the Riad Jonan, but if were forced to critique anything it would probably be the pool which was quite small and I didn't se anyone swimming in it while we were there. Was still pretty and a tranquil area to sit by either way. They organized a driver to take us to the airport on the day we left as well. I would definitely recommend this riad to anyone thinking of traveling to Marrakech. It provided us with a safe calming haven to come back to each day, which is definitely needed in a place like Marrakech! Thanks for the wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kait85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We enjoyed the friendly and professional service, and the arabic charm of this Riad with all its colourful tiles and decorative lamps, little pools in the courtyards, and its roof garden. The night we arrived we had beef tagine with orange sauce and it was really excellent. When we had a small problem with our room, we were offered another without hesitation. In fact the staff were always attentive and friendly. The atmosphere of the Riad was pleasantly quiet, and that's just what you need after walking through the souks and noisy streets of Marrakech, jumping out of the way of scooters, horse and carriages, donkeys, and cars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from a one week stay at this riad. It was lovely, just like the photos. The staff were very welcoming. Service was consistently good. Breakfast was enjoyable and the lunch we eat there was good and fairly priced. It was easy to find your way to the main square from here, and well located for the Jewish quarter. The views from the roof terrace are difficult to see, due to the walls being quite high, but it's still possible to see the mountains and the roof tops of the medina. Good value for price.

Room Tip: All rooms ok but deluxe was worth the extra dh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RikkythecockroachRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at this riad. Not just outside the medina walls as I had thought but 10 mins walk. This as it happened turned out to be a bonus as was a very easy straight walk to the medina and meant we didnt have to negotiate loads of dark alleyways which are very typical of the riads within the medina.
We were picked up from the airport promptly, the driver had a sign clearlly stating Riad Jonan and took us to the door of the riad. Once inside we were given mint tea, our bags taken to our room and the manager talked to us about the area and gave us a map. Hassan was so welcoming and made us feel at home straight away. The rooms are lovely as is the whole place, lots of places to sit and read inside and out, making it very easy to be by yourself or chat to the other guests . The beautiful roof terrace has comfortable sun beds ready with towels laid out and a sunhat for you, you can have lunch or a drink up there and even in January it was hot enough to sunbathe. Now to food - breakfast is juice, coffee/tea the usual pastries, fresh bread and a choice of eggs or cereal served to your table, nice and hot and fresh.Light lunches and sandwiches if you are fussy are available at a reasonable price. We chose evening dinner on the night we arrived which we found to be expensive, way too much food even for the big eater and not that great (this I must stress is the only thing that I could be negative about and feel guilty for doing so as the staff are so nice!) The whole feeling is one of relaxation and being somewhere exotic. If you want 5 star with lavish furnishings this is not the place for you but if you want to experience the madness of Marraketch and come back to a safe haven where the staff are kind and attentive and make you feel like you are home this is the place to be and If I go back it will be most certainly be to stay here. Our special thanks has to go to Siad, he made us laugh, taught us how to haggle and booked us a great trip to the Atlas Mountains.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, they will upgrade you to a better room if they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayqueenBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#59 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#45 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#71 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#143 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Property: Riad Jonan
Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jonan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing