We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and peaceful but close to the centre”
Review of Riad Jonan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Jonan
Ranked #74 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
newark on trent
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful but close to the centre”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

In Marrakech over Christmas for a few days staying at this excellent Riad. Tthe atmosphere was calm and the rooms clean and attractive. The staff were attentive and always keen to help and happy toarrange trips .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    104
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
74
381
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just got back from Marrakech. My family and I stayed at the Riad Jonan. The staff were wonderful and the Riad's atmosphere was relaxing and extremely comfortable. Food was delicious and nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff. I would certainly visit again and would recommend it highly to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Loved our stay here, great Riad, comfortable, with great service from team.

Great things - service everyone was fantastic, welcoming and helpful. Room was clean tidy and comfortable. Atmosphere relaxed and quiet.

Minor Niggles - brekfast was lovely but there for a week and not much choice, so got a bit bored with the choice.

All in all perfect base to explore wonderful city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiddlemLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This Riad is top notch. The staff are always available and helpful and everyone speaks English (as well as French and Arabic). If you go, you MUST arrange to have one of the traditional evening meals. Ours was stupendous, the Tagine (I had chicken in orange sauce) was the best meal I had in two weeks in Morocco, and I had some really good meals! Great beds, roomy rooms, quiet, clean, just like being at home.

Room Tip: Deluxe room next to the dipping pool has added bonus of opening out to the open sky in winter. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Riad Jonan was the perfect place to begin our Moroccan vacation. Marrakech is hectic, like they say; however, at Riad Jonan you are offered a blissful haven complete with cozy rooms, custom-tailored service, and the best concoction of mint tea in the country. As a couple, we don't have much more to add other than what the excellent reviews already mention. We didn't realize how good we had it until venturing to other riads throughout Morocco.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have just returned from four nights at the Riad Jonan. A really lovely, quiet place to stay. This was our first trip to anywhere like Marrakech and way out of my comfort zone so had really done our homework on riads, areas etc. and thus decided on Riad Jonan from reviews read on TA. We were not let down! Super, authentic, tastefully decorated en-suite rooms with comfortable, clean beds. Great roof terrace to sit during the day if the sun is shining or at night when it becomes very atmospheric with the lighting. Brilliant position - felt very safe walking back after eating in the hectic, lively square of an evening. Very helpful staff - nothing too much trouble. We had pre-booked a meal in the riad for our first night which was superb and is a really good idea. This set us up ready to hit Marrakech with gusto the next morning with the help of a guide (who was brilliant) who had been organised by Hassan for us. Cannot compare the riad with any other as this was our first time here but we were very, very happy there and happily recommend it to anyone going to Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolinedevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hassan and the staff couldn't be more helpful and knowlegable. The riad is just 8 - 10 minutes from the main square filled with snake charmers, bowls of old teeth, horse and carts, mad mopeds and lively acrobats. It is also very close to The Tombs and two palaces. Plenty to see and do. Food is very good and breakfast's not too large but good quality.The room was smallish but ok.A lovely roof gardens for a relaxing beer or the competent Moroccan wine. You quickly get used to the cockerel next door and the erratic water system, That's just the character of Marrakech. It's the ideal base for trips to the Sahara, the coast and only 10 minutes from the airport. You will get a flavour as to what is happening on the street but still have the benefits of this safe haven.

Room Tip: Maybe book a superior room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Escapee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
940 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#47 of 500 in Marrakech
386 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#133 of 500 in Marrakech
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#64 of 500 in Marrakech
544 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#86 of 500 in Marrakech
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#53 of 500 in Marrakech
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jonan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jonan

Property: Riad Jonan
Address: 35 Derb Bzou | Rue de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jonan 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Jonan is a traditional house of Marrakesh recently renewed. It offers you all the comfort of a modern hotel in a sumptuous decor . You have the choice between 10 comfortable rooms complemented with hand made furniture from the craftsmen of the Medina. All rooms are en-suite and have heating and air-conditioning. Some have satellite television, English speaking channels and music system, a safe and a mini-bar. The breakfast is a delightful moment at Riad Jonan, and is usually served in the courtyard around the fountain or on the roof terrace. Our cook can prepare all kinds of delicious traditional Moroccan dishes (couscous, tajines, vegetable salads... ) All homemade with fresh products, or little snacks. Our staff, all English speaking, can help you in any situation and can advise you excursions and visits,and book them for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Jonan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Jonan Marrakech
Riad Jonan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing