We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad and lovely staff”
Review of Riad Amira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Amira
Ranked #359 of 1,165 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Beautiful riad with amazingly helpful and friendly staff. They were never in your face but always did everything they could to help.

Short walk from Square and souks. Nice evening meal or lunch if required and ordered.
Very quiet so easy to sleep.

I am well traveled but have never seen such chaotic and dangerous driving. Great care must be taken crossing roads. Though the locals are friendly nobody appears to do anything for nothing. If someone shows you the way or gives directions they expect paying and some can be a little aggressive when refused. I found saying NO loudly and firmly but with a smile and walking on worked best.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madhatter001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 163 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2010

The Riad is beautiful and the girls who run it were absolutely fabulous. Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely and we had an evening meal which was also really nice. The biggest selling point for us was that it has a little pool and as we went in August we really did need a dip in the pool! Great value for money - room was comfortable and very clean. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hach123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Set within the city walls, in the Kasbah, Riad Amira is indeed a caven of calm. Once walking through the door, you are welcomed into a stunning Riad together with a plunge pool ideal in the heat of Marrakesh in August. The double bed sunloungers on the roof top were fantastic and the rooms were traditionally decorated and kept to a high standard. Breakfasts are lovely and access to the Souks are a 15 min walk away. Most impressive about this Riad however, is the service. All of the ladies working here helped with booking taxis and phoning tourist spots to check opening times. They were very onliging and nothing was a probelm. A big thank you to them all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManchesterDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Seeing the few reviews of the Riad on the website I decided to share my experience with Riad Amira even if it was in September 2006.
We stayed there a week with my wife (with a 2 days break in Essaouira) and had one of the best hotel experience in my life there. This was mainly due to the exceptional service offered by the owners Tim & Alix.

You Never Get a Second Chance to Make a First Impression: they didn’t need it as we had been upgraded with a superior room at our arrival.
I know that the entrance of the riad has now changed since my trip but I’m sure the sensation must remain the same. You were just outside in a crowdy, noisy place (well in Marrakech of Course !!) and just pass the door and you are in an incredibly quiet and peaceful place with it adorable patio ! You may be surprised by the narrow street where the riad is located but don’t worry it is really safe and not difficult to find. Furthermore as the hotel as a dedicated taxi service you will certainly often use it for your night trips.

The rooms were great with a big double bed, a large bathroom, air conditioning and classical Moroccan furniture. The hotel is well furbished and the top roof place is ideal to have a drink before or after dinner. The “swimming pool” is too tight to swim but large enough to cool yourself and give the patio its unique atmosphere!

But the main asset of the riad is its service. The staff is excellent and the place is always clean. As for the food it was excellent, probably the best we had in Morocco. Breakfasts are great but do not forget to book a dinner at the hotel. Traditional Food is prepared by a Moroccan woman and it was just excellent nothing else to say.

As for the owners Tim & Alix they were just great with us, giving tips and advices about where to go, what to do and so on. Always available to book a restaurant or a taxi for you.
They even booked our bus ticket to Essaouira. Both graduated from a high class Hotel school they try to offer a taylor made 5 stars service in a traditional Moroccan accommodation!

Finally we had really friendly relationship with them and liked to discuss with them at night.

In riad Amira, you’ll feel at home in Marrakech. As there are only few rooms you’ll also have the opportunity to meet other guests if you want and share part of life experience.

I definitely want to come back again in Riad Amira and would advice to anyone to go there.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Very friendly riad just of the maddness of the medina. Very child friendly our 3 and 5 year old loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geckogirlstroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

First timer in Morocco, and we didn't really know what to look for. This Riad is in a narrow alley a few "blocks" off the main gate. Once inside it is a completely different experience! The rooms are minimal but elegant and the roof top space is top notch with views of the center of Marakech and the Atlas Range. The beds were quite comfortable and it got real cool at night. Breakfasts were a delight too. Step foot outside at night and it definitely feels more adventurous, especially when the city looses power! It's a great stroll to the souks since you pass by so many streets, vendors, and people. We got to meet the owners, who are young, and probably still learning some tricks of the trade, but if this is new to them, they they are going to be successful before long. There is staff there 24/7, they were incredibly helpful for us, but don't be surprised if it takes a few minutes for someone to show up b/c they are probably asleep in the night hours!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

We originally booked for just one night, but after a change of plan was so glad we stayed for two! It's a bit of a mission to find, but so worth it! Stayed with my gorgeous boyfriend and his lovely 13 year old daughter & we were all absolutely delighted with the welcome & hospitality shown to us.

The rooms & decor of the whole place are absolutely stunning with amazing attention to detail. The rooms are large, air-con works, bathroom was vast with plenty of luxury soaps, lotions & potions!

Food prepared by Hassanya was among the best we have eaten in Morocco & we have both been going to Morocco for 20 years & more.

The pool and Spa are stunning, relaxing, calm and fun!

In short, we can't wait to go back to Villa Amira - and will return most definately!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#119 of 501 in Marrakech
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 501 in Marrakech
566 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Eliane
Riad Dar Eliane
#358 of 501 in Marrakech
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#63 of 1,165 in Marrakech
283 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Amira Victoria
Riad Amira Victoria
#474 of 1,165 in Marrakech
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Bayti Marrakech
Riad Bayti Marrakech
#85 of 1,165 in Marrakech
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amira

Address: 52, 23 Derb Benzina - La Kasbah | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 1,165 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $48 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Amira 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Amira is composed of 7 beautiful individually decorated rooms blending the best of east and west. Only a short walk away from the Jemma El Fna square and easily accessible by car the Amira is perfectly placed to avoid the stress of the center while being close enough to stroll in when you desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Amira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amira Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing