We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Attentive service, beautiful Riad Amira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Amira
Ranked #331 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Attentive service, beautiful Riad Amira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Set within the city walls, in the Kasbah, Riad Amira is indeed a caven of calm. Once walking through the door, you are welcomed into a stunning Riad together with a plunge pool ideal in the heat of Marrakesh in August. The double bed sunloungers on the roof top were fantastic and the rooms were traditionally decorated and kept to a high standard. Breakfasts are lovely and access to the Souks are a 15 min walk away. Most impressive about this Riad however, is the service. All of the ladies working here helped with booking taxis and phoning tourist spots to check opening times. They were very onliging and nothing was a probelm. A big thank you to them all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    33
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
61
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Seeing the few reviews of the Riad on the website I decided to share my experience with Riad Amira even if it was in September 2006.
We stayed there a week with my wife (with a 2 days break in Essaouira) and had one of the best hotel experience in my life there. This was mainly due to the exceptional service offered by the owners Tim & Alix.

You Never Get a Second Chance to Make a First Impression: they didn’t need it as we had been upgraded with a superior room at our arrival.
I know that the entrance of the riad has now changed since my trip but I’m sure the sensation must remain the same. You were just outside in a crowdy, noisy place (well in Marrakech of Course !!) and just pass the door and you are in an incredibly quiet and peaceful place with it adorable patio ! You may be surprised by the narrow street where the riad is located but don’t worry it is really safe and not difficult to find. Furthermore as the hotel as a dedicated taxi service you will certainly often use it for your night trips.

The rooms were great with a big double bed, a large bathroom, air conditioning and classical Moroccan furniture. The hotel is well furbished and the top roof place is ideal to have a drink before or after dinner. The “swimming pool” is too tight to swim but large enough to cool yourself and give the patio its unique atmosphere!

But the main asset of the riad is its service. The staff is excellent and the place is always clean. As for the food it was excellent, probably the best we had in Morocco. Breakfasts are great but do not forget to book a dinner at the hotel. Traditional Food is prepared by a Moroccan woman and it was just excellent nothing else to say.

As for the owners Tim & Alix they were just great with us, giving tips and advices about where to go, what to do and so on. Always available to book a restaurant or a taxi for you.
They even booked our bus ticket to Essaouira. Both graduated from a high class Hotel school they try to offer a taylor made 5 stars service in a traditional Moroccan accommodation!

Finally we had really friendly relationship with them and liked to discuss with them at night.

In riad Amira, you’ll feel at home in Marrakech. As there are only few rooms you’ll also have the opportunity to meet other guests if you want and share part of life experience.

I definitely want to come back again in Riad Amira and would advice to anyone to go there.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stroud
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

Very friendly riad just of the maddness of the medina. Very child friendly our 3 and 5 year old loved it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geckogirlstroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

First timer in Morocco, and we didn't really know what to look for. This Riad is in a narrow alley a few "blocks" off the main gate. Once inside it is a completely different experience! The rooms are minimal but elegant and the roof top space is top notch with views of the center of Marakech and the Atlas Range. The beds were quite comfortable and it got real cool at night. Breakfasts were a delight too. Step foot outside at night and it definitely feels more adventurous, especially when the city looses power! It's a great stroll to the souks since you pass by so many streets, vendors, and people. We got to meet the owners, who are young, and probably still learning some tricks of the trade, but if this is new to them, they they are going to be successful before long. There is staff there 24/7, they were incredibly helpful for us, but don't be surprised if it takes a few minutes for someone to show up b/c they are probably asleep in the night hours!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We originally booked for just one night, but after a change of plan was so glad we stayed for two! It's a bit of a mission to find, but so worth it! Stayed with my gorgeous boyfriend and his lovely 13 year old daughter & we were all absolutely delighted with the welcome & hospitality shown to us.

The rooms & decor of the whole place are absolutely stunning with amazing attention to detail. The rooms are large, air-con works, bathroom was vast with plenty of luxury soaps, lotions & potions!

Food prepared by Hassanya was among the best we have eaten in Morocco & we have both been going to Morocco for 20 years & more.

The pool and Spa are stunning, relaxing, calm and fun!

In short, we can't wait to go back to Villa Amira - and will return most definately!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

We booked our stay at Riad Amira through Hipmarrakech.com and stayed for 2 nights before moving on to Villa Amira (which is run by 2 sisters of Riad Amira owner Alix).
Prior to our holiday we had been provided (by email) with a map and directions for how to find the Riad (many thanks to Amanda at Hipmarakech.com for your assistance) and this was very accurate and helpful as the Riad is tucked away in a narrow street of the busy Rue de la Kasbah.
Our stay was during the low season period just after New Year and the Riad was therefor only part full and the owners Tim & Alix were themselves away on holiday. The staff who looked after us were very friendly and helpful and provided breakfast and tea/coffee on the roof terrace if requested.
Breakfasts were lovely and included yoghurt, croissants, bread, coffee and set you up for the day.
Riad Amira is a great base for exploring the southern Medina area of the city including the Saadian Tombs & El Badi Palace (recommended).

  • Liked — Location just off the Rue de la Kasbah
  • Disliked — Communication as owners not present
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YORKIE-ROB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

Stayed at Riad Amira for 8 nights in early October and had a very pleasant time.

We had arranged a taxi to meet us at the airport through the owners Tim and Alix and yes it did turn up - cost 100 dirhams though they tried to charge 150 but we had already checked what the price was.

First impression was 'what the bloody hell have we booked' as you are dropped off in a side street with locals milling everywhere and then taken down even smaller alleyways until you come to a door next to an empy building site - the door was Riad Amira. Once inside however everything changed and you are transported into a tranquil oasis.

We had to wait a while for our room Esmeralda to be ready but we had arrived early so didn't mind. The room was great a big double bed and a third bed which was used as a dumping ground, very big bathroom and plenty of storage space.

The whole place was spotless and the ladies which run the Riad are a credit to it as they do a wonderful job and are very fiendly and accommodating at all times.

Location wise it's next to the Saadian Tombs and the Kasbah Mosque to it's easy to tell a taxi where to drop you off.

Couple of bits of feedback for the owners:

A location map in each room would be useful to show us where we are and how to get to the main places (square etc) - during our stay 2 couples were unable to find the square on the first day.

A price list and what is available drink wise and also details of what the ladies will cook for you at either lunchtime or evening - it's alright them asking what you want but if you dont know what they have or can do it doesn't help.

Also suggestions of other restaurants (with directions) that serve alcohol in reception or in your room would be useful, in addition to ideas of places to visit etc. as if you are not around in the evening when Tim and Alix arrive there is nobody to ask because as lovely as the ladies were there English was very limited.

All in all an excellent stay - very recommendable.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — lack of information from owners
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#60 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ryad Amiran
Ryad Amiran
#120 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#98 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Amira Victoria
Riad Amira Victoria
#449 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Shaden
Riad Shaden
#190 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Agdim
Riad Agdim
#258 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amira

Property: Riad Amira
Address: 52, 23 Derb Benzina - La Kasbah | Medina, Marrakech 40008 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Amira 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Amira is composed of 7 beautiful individually decorated rooms blending the best of east and west. Only a short walk away from the Jemma El Fna square and easily accessible by car the Amira is perfectly placed to avoid the stress of the center while being close enough to stroll in when you desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Amira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amira Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing