We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Personality and charm at a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Karma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar Karma
Ranked #143 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Personality and charm at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We loved our stay at Dar Karma. After a busy day of sight seeing we lounged on the roof top terrace with the best mint tea Morocco has to offer. And as there are several areas to rest and unwind at this charming riad we typically had the rooftop to ourselves (other people seemed to prefer being poolside or in the courtyard). The rooms are full of personality--we were in one of the bigger rooms, and our kids were in one of the smaller rooms. One evening we chose to dine in--I wish we had done that every night. The food was delicious and because they will serve your meal wherever you'd like you are dining privately. Our kids needed a change from Moroccan food so they made them spaghetti, which was delicious. The only potential downside I could imagine for guests is that this riad isn't right in the middle of the action. We were picked up by a guide each day so this didn't impact us, and our guide said our riad was in a family friendly part of the medina so was very safe (friends staying at a different riad in another area were threatened when walking around at night). I'd rather be further away from the action and consequently experience peace and quiet when we return "home", but being further away may not appeal to everyone. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandC1294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
76
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

A beautiful Riad with first class service.We stayed during July when it was both very hot and during Ramadan,n consequently had the whole place to our selves.The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and couldn't of made us feel any more welcome.On 2 days we were up early to go out on excursions and it was no problem for them to make and serve our breakfast early. The food was also very good and the location ideal-about 10 mins walk from the centre square.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank secretsdontmake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a 5* hotel at 3* prices, the whole place is absolutely gorgeous, it is like staying in someone’s luxury house with lovely friendly people to make your stay stress free and comfortable. The food was lovely, we ate in every night … chicken, lamb and beef tagines all cooked to perfection. We had a guided tour around the Medina, a trip to the Atlas High Mountains and a trip to the coast at Essouria using the guides recommended by the hotel. They were smashing lads, knowledgeable and had comfortable 4x4 air conditioned cars. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anneinoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful Riad with only six rooms, based in the Kasbah, a 15 minute walk to the main square. On landing we took our private transfer from the airport organised through the Riad. After a seamless on time pickup we arrived at dar Kama fifteen minutes later.

We stayed in the standard room (4) which was gorgeous and big, really good value for money. The shower was huge, more like a wet room, with a rain shower and stars in the roof. I can only begin to imagine what the other rooms must have been like if ours was only a standard, there was nothing standard about it. From the wrought iron and wood window shutters to our very own castle like front door this room was truly beautiful.

The room was cleaned daily, with fresh towels and new bedding and the cleaner tidied and folded away your clothes. The ed was really comfortable and the room was pitch black at night ensuring a great nights sleep.

The pool was a decent size for a riad and there is a huge day bed on the rooftop to lounge on, as well as other areas that gave you the privacy to feel as if you were a home, including a beautiful log fire.

The service was exceptional Stephanie and her team really looked after us and went out of their way to make us feel welcome, despite a language barrier as mainly French and Arabic are spoken.

The food was the best we had in Marrakech. Organic, fresh produce consisting of made to order Moroccan salads to start, followed by tagine and dessert for £20 per head. This was for private dining wherever you wanted to take it, served by your own waiter. You need to let them know the evening prior if you want to eat and there is no menu for it so let them know if there is something you do or don't like and they will try to accommodate you. I can recommend the lamb and beef tagines. Wine is served on request and for £16 the Morrocan house white was excellent.

Breakfast is served whenever you want and on the rooftop. It consisted of a crepe, toast and preserves, pain au chocolat, yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee/tea.

Things happen in this place without you having to request it, they are one step ahead of you meaning a stress free, well run break with everything covered so you can relax.

There isn't really anywhere nearby that's any good eat so we ate in the square at stall one (as recommended on here). We also ate the lamb from Mechoui Alley (check it out) and dined at the riad three times, it was that special).

Well Done Dar Karma. We hope to see you again.



Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SkiptonPhoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
263 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The 6-room Riad is just lovely. The design of the rooms and common areas are beautiful and understated. The quiet rooftop is fantastic with comfortable seating.

Dinner is available if you inform them before 10am. The Moroccan fare is delicious, the best we had in our 8 days in the country. Wine and beer are available upon request.

Roger and his staff were warm. In fact, Roger was very kind to let us use his office printer and scanner when we needed it in a pinch.

The only downsides are the spotty wifi signal which comes and goes. Also, the riad is a 15-min walk from the main square. So if you want to eat outside the riad, you need to walk quite a bit (not exactly the easiest route) or take a taxi which involves a challenging negotiation on price with the driver.

Overall, a lovely place with hammam, heated pool, and charm.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is extremely clean, well located, beautiful inside, has a lovely rooftop breakfast, friendly kind and helpful staff. We had dinner in the riad one evening next to an open log fire which was just lovely. Would not hesitate in recommending anyone to stay there. We had a fantastic, convenient and hospitable stay and it was a welcome break every day from the craziness on the streets outside to the quiet tranquility of the Dar Karma.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanghaiManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a fabulous stay in the Riad Dar Karma and felt very pampered by all of the Riad staff. The airport pickups were seamless, and Roger arranged for a welcome evening meal on arrival as we were too tired to go out into the Medina. Nothing was too much trouble - breakfast at whatever time we wanted, use of the hammam, bottles of water when we needed them etc. We had cut our stay from 8 to 5 nights as our cat had been very ill, and Roger explained he had upgraded us to a suite to make us feel a bit better - what a lovely touch! The room was beautiful, with a huge bathroom and wonderfully decorated walls and ceilings. It was very comfortable, as the air/ heating helped keep the temperature exactly right - I wish some of the more modern hotels could do this!
The situation of the Riad was perfect - 5 mins from the Sadiaan Tombs, and 15 mins from the main square with all the souks etc. in the cooler evenings, taxis were easy to get from the Rue de la Kasbah, a few seconds away. We ate in the Riad one other night, as the food was much better (and much cheaper!) than the tourist restaurants we tried in the centre of town. All in all, a great place to stay, and we can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yachtscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#142 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#215 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#129 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Alma
Riad Alma
#102 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Massiba
Riad Massiba
#144 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad la Fibule
Riad la Fibule
#420 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Karma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Karma

Property: Riad Dar Karma
Address: 51, Derb El Mennabha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Karma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of Marrakech's historical center with easy access by car, Dar Karma Riad is an exclusive boutique hotel with 6 rooms (3 suites and 3 singles), and welcomes up to 14 people. With large open patios, housing includes heated swimming pool, hammam, beautiful terraces, internet wifi everywhere.Bread, jams, Moroccan pastries as well as the whole gastronomic European and Moroccan cooking served at the Dar Karma Riad are home made from carefully selected organic products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Dar Karma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Karma Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing