We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Karma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar Karma
Ranked #155 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Skipton
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful Riad with only six rooms, based in the Kasbah, a 15 minute walk to the main square. On landing we took our private transfer from the airport organised through the Riad. After a seamless on time pickup we arrived at dar Kama fifteen minutes later.

We stayed in the standard room (4) which was gorgeous and big, really good value for money. The shower was huge, more like a wet room, with a rain shower and stars in the roof. I can only begin to imagine what the other rooms must have been like if ours was only a standard, there was nothing standard about it. From the wrought iron and wood window shutters to our very own castle like front door this room was truly beautiful.

The room was cleaned daily, with fresh towels and new bedding and the cleaner tidied and folded away your clothes. The ed was really comfortable and the room was pitch black at night ensuring a great nights sleep.

The pool was a decent size for a riad and there is a huge day bed on the rooftop to lounge on, as well as other areas that gave you the privacy to feel as if you were a home, including a beautiful log fire.

The service was exceptional Stephanie and her team really looked after us and went out of their way to make us feel welcome, despite a language barrier as mainly French and Arabic are spoken.

The food was the best we had in Marrakech. Organic, fresh produce consisting of made to order Moroccan salads to start, followed by tagine and dessert for £20 per head. This was for private dining wherever you wanted to take it, served by your own waiter. You need to let them know the evening prior if you want to eat and there is no menu for it so let them know if there is something you do or don't like and they will try to accommodate you. I can recommend the lamb and beef tagines. Wine is served on request and for £16 the Morrocan house white was excellent.

Breakfast is served whenever you want and on the rooftop. It consisted of a crepe, toast and preserves, pain au chocolat, yoghurt, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee/tea.

Things happen in this place without you having to request it, they are one step ahead of you meaning a stress free, well run break with everything covered so you can relax.

There isn't really anywhere nearby that's any good eat so we ate in the square at stall one (as recommended on here). We also ate the lamb from Mechoui Alley (check it out) and dined at the riad three times, it was that special).

Well Done Dar Karma. We hope to see you again.



Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SkiptonPhoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
78
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
263 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

The 6-room Riad is just lovely. The design of the rooms and common areas are beautiful and understated. The quiet rooftop is fantastic with comfortable seating.

Dinner is available if you inform them before 10am. The Moroccan fare is delicious, the best we had in our 8 days in the country. Wine and beer are available upon request.

Roger and his staff were warm. In fact, Roger was very kind to let us use his office printer and scanner when we needed it in a pinch.

The only downsides are the spotty wifi signal which comes and goes. Also, the riad is a 15-min walk from the main square. So if you want to eat outside the riad, you need to walk quite a bit (not exactly the easiest route) or take a taxi which involves a challenging negotiation on price with the driver.

Overall, a lovely place with hammam, heated pool, and charm.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is extremely clean, well located, beautiful inside, has a lovely rooftop breakfast, friendly kind and helpful staff. We had dinner in the riad one evening next to an open log fire which was just lovely. Would not hesitate in recommending anyone to stay there. We had a fantastic, convenient and hospitable stay and it was a welcome break every day from the craziness on the streets outside to the quiet tranquility of the Dar Karma.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanghaiManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had a fabulous stay in the Riad Dar Karma and felt very pampered by all of the Riad staff. The airport pickups were seamless, and Roger arranged for a welcome evening meal on arrival as we were too tired to go out into the Medina. Nothing was too much trouble - breakfast at whatever time we wanted, use of the hammam, bottles of water when we needed them etc. We had cut our stay from 8 to 5 nights as our cat had been very ill, and Roger explained he had upgraded us to a suite to make us feel a bit better - what a lovely touch! The room was beautiful, with a huge bathroom and wonderfully decorated walls and ceilings. It was very comfortable, as the air/ heating helped keep the temperature exactly right - I wish some of the more modern hotels could do this!
The situation of the Riad was perfect - 5 mins from the Sadiaan Tombs, and 15 mins from the main square with all the souks etc. in the cooler evenings, taxis were easy to get from the Rue de la Kasbah, a few seconds away. We ate in the Riad one other night, as the food was much better (and much cheaper!) than the tourist restaurants we tried in the centre of town. All in all, a great place to stay, and we can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yachtscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a shock to arrive at the Riad dar Karma just before Eid the annual religious festival of lamb slaughter.End of October, do check the dates as they move each year.
The traffic was increased by about 30% so going to and from the Riad in the Medina was both stressful and dangerous. It was unpleasant seeing the sheep tied by their feet on the side of the road two days before slaughter and others being tied to motor bikes unable to move while knife sharpening was a buzzing trade. Quite disgusting.
Mine host had gone on vacation and the skeleton staff whilst very pleasant had no English whatsoever.
Around us was the horror of sheep being transported to and from the local houses and their bleating could be heard from the roof top dining area where breakfast is taken.

Whilst the Riad was beautiful the swimming pool was cold and because we were the only visitors it lacked atmosphere.
It was a very harrowing experience and we felt that we should have been warned by the owner particularly as he absented himself.

We were forced to eat in for dinner to avoid the mayhem on the streets just outside the door, and were charged 25 Euros each , on one occasion for little more than salad and filled pastry cases with chopped fruit for dessert. Very unsatisfactory.

I am sure under different circumstances the Riad would be a delightful place to stay but please take care when you travel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We would highly recommend Dar Karma. Fantastic hotel in a good location. The staff are genuinely helpful and we had a lovely stay. We stayed at Dar Karma twice - at the beginning and end of our Morocco trip. Modern hospitality in a traditional riad. James & Alison

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have just come to the end of a 5 night stay in Riad Karma, and I am not ready to leave! From the first moment we stepped through the red door to be welcomed into a scented and peaceful courtyard, Riad Karma has proven to be the highlight of our 3 week trip to Europe and Morocco. The Riad has quite a unique blend of feeling thoroughly peaceful and relaxed, while providing attention to every possible detail, whether in a simple mint tea on a tray to a delicious and beautifully presented evening meal. Having travelled extensively over the past decade, and stayed in many types of accommodation around the world, both my husband and I have decided that Riad Karma is an extremely special place to which we will be sure to return. The rooms, decor, pool area and terrace, as described by others, are indeed lovely, but I believe it is the staff and their genuine interest in, and care of, the guests, which make this such a special place. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#147 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Alma
Riad Alma
#104 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#157 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dar Assiya
Dar Assiya
#151 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#69 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#25 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Karma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Karma

Property: Riad Dar Karma
Address: 51, Derb El Mennabha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Karma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the middle of Marrakech's historical center with easy access by car, Dar Karma Riad is an exclusive boutique hotel with 6 rooms (3 suites and 3 singles), and welcomes up to 14 people. With large open patios, housing includes heated swimming pool, hammam, beautiful terraces, internet wifi everywhere.Bread, jams, Moroccan pastries as well as the whole gastronomic European and Moroccan cooking served at the Dar Karma Riad are home made from carefully selected organic products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Karma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Karma Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing