We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely place, fantastic”
Review of Riad Safar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Safar
Ranked #457 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 31, 2008

This Riad is great and very accessible to everything once you get your bearings. Personally, rather than accessing the Riad from the "big square" I found it easier to go via Rue Fatima (opposite the Mosque), you should find the Rue on a map. Continue up the street for about 200m or so and you will see an entrance to the Medina (an archway on your right with a pharmacy opposite). Then just enter the archway and go straight until you get to a kind of a junction, take a left and keep straight (Cafe Arabe is a good landmark, it's also in the Rough Guide which was a great help for travelling around Morocco). You will know you are one the right track if you see it on your left (I highly recommend it too and it sells alcohol). The turn into the little street for Riad Safar is about 100m away from Cafe Arabe. Again, just continue on straight all the way. Ask someone if you need help although you will probably have to drop a tip if someone shows you directly. 5 or 10 diram would work. Thanks to whoever left the chalk marks! They really helped us once we entered in the alleyways close to the Riad!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kaz_d1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Riad Safar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 72 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2007

I concur with previous feedback which is entirely accurate and on which I based my visit! The first thing I'd say is to make sure your passport has 6 months validity as we nearly got caught out with it on arrival at Marrakech. You instantly know you're in a different world when after arranging a transfer (absolutely essential by the way!), a cloaked man met our transport at the road side and whisked us off through a miriad of the medina alleyways and 10 minutes later, arrived at a simple blue door behind which was a very welcoming site indeed. Riad Safar is totally beautiful, stylish and traditionally Moorish. It's such a contrast to the 'outside' which is initally scary and 'medieval' - one would say is the charm of Marrakech. I was horrified to think I'd have to find my way out of the Riad but the staff at the Riad walked us to the square (5 mins away) and even offered to walk us back if we give them a call. We did this without speaking a word of French! Essential equipment to stay at this Riad is chalk (useful to mark on the walls your way home) and a good French dictionary (if you dont speak any like me). If you go in winter, remember Riads have open tops so if your a cold morsel, yuo could get a bit chilli. Stretch to the most expensive suite which provides a fireplace and living room area if you want total luxury. Dont leave without having dinner there. The staff are very hospitable, food quality is fantastic and compared to other restaurants in terms of quality and cost, this was excellent value, given you have such personal service. Dont miss Cafe Araba which is very close by. Fab food and one of the few alchoholic watering holes. Unusually, you can order a bottle of wine at the Riad as well. The Moroccan wine is actually quite good and well priced. In summary, I would say the Riad Safar is an excellent choice if you like exclusivity and a 'local' experience, in my opinion you've missed out on the whole point of Marrakech if you don't!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliewLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2007

Stayed at Riad Safar for 3nts from 21st January booking through Maroc Selection. Emailed agents and arranged collection at airport (15 Euro for 2) and then met by Assam from the Riad who carried our luggage through the alleyways. For first time visitors this is highly recommended as many Riads inaccessible by car. It also saves the drama of negotiating the taxi fare for the uninitiated. The Riad is beautiful, spacious, light and tastefully furnished. The only slight disappointment is the roof terrace which is quite small, however, in January we only used it for sitting in for a short time so not an issue for ourselves. It is well furnished though and gives views over the rooftops to the mosques. The staff are very helpful, breakfast freshly prepared and served when and where you would like. We ate dinner one night which again was freshly prepared and a lovely experience. Staff will also arrange a Hammam or a massage, indeed anything you want they will doe their best to organise. One word of warning however some French is really essential if you are trying to arrange guides or outings as the staff do not speak any English. Take a good phrase book and smile a lot, however, and it shouldn't be too much of a problem. The Riad has 4 rooms, however, my recommendation would be the Nomade Suite which has a huge living area with open fire which staff will light on request. It is an easy 7/8 minute walk back from either the square or the taxi area and although the first time you think you will never remember the route it is actually really easy and there's always lots of children more than happy to show you the way for 10/20dhm.

I would highly recommend this Riad which has featured in Elle Decoration or for more info see the Forum pages.

Stayed: January 2007
5  Thank rorycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2006

stayed here for 4 nights, 3 nights in the pacha suite then the final night in the nomade suite which was huge, basically a living room area and a bedroom area. All the rooms has its unique style but all very lovely indeed. The breakfast was lovely either had it on the balcony or downstairs, the staffs were infact very helpful although its best if you know a little french. the riad itself is off the main walkway and you have to negotiate through some twist and turns before you get to your riad but the alleys are well lit and coming back in the evenings felt very safe, initially when you turn up you think where its leading too but after a day you will find your bearings. It is about a 10 min walk to the main square and nicely located. good views from the balcony and you can see all quite alot, as well as the atlas mountains. all in all we had a wonderful experience and its a lovely setting and very quiet as there are only 4 suites.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
3  Thank chenga28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2006

Riad Safar was a wonderful place to spend the hotter part of the day while in Marrakech. We had cold water and mint tea on the roof terrace within an hour of arriving. Breakfasts were a good way to start the day, ready whenever we made it downstairs from our room in the mornings. The owner was very appreciative & accommodating, although we found the non-english speaking of all staff very frustrating when asking simple questions & directions, etc. (Be aware that the ground floor room has no AC - unlike described on the websites) We had booked this room, and when we arrived to find no AC, they moved us into another room straight away. We'd reccommend the cooking classes at La Maison A'rabe, Cafe Glacier for a cold softdrink at dusk, a trip into the Ourika Valley & eating the snails in the square at night.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Tahnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2006

The Riad Safar is amazing. My Aunt and I stayed there last week to celebrate my birthday. Hand on heart I can say this has to be one of the best places I have ever stayed. The Riad has been stunningly restored, its beautiful, completely authentic. We stayed in the Pacha Suite the 1st night and the Nomade suite the last 3 nights. We couldn't have asked for more - it was like staying in the pages of Elle Decoration!!
The staff are most helpful and friendly - we had a wonderful Tagine and Cous Cous cooked for us on our last night. The mint tea is great too - especially on return from a hectic afternoon in the souks
Marrakech itself is wonderful - such an experience.... I can't wait to go back!
We also dined at Dar Moha whilst we were there which was also a real find!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tibbs0675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2006

It was our first trip to Marrakech and we arrived at the outskirts of the medina by taxi,in the middle of the night ,having been met at the airport by a guy on behalf of the Riad Safar.We unloaded our luggage which was put on a handcart propelled by an aged little man who set off into the medina at a great speed with all five of us trotting behind.We wondered what we had got ourselves into until we arrived at the Safar.what an absolute delight!!We were welcomed with a refreshing glass of mint tea with little pastries and shown to our rooms.the whole place is so pretty and the staff were marvellous.We had breakfast served on the roof terrace every morning,before making our foray into the souks.A delightful place to return to each evening and very near the jemma el fna.It felt like our own private house and we loved not only the riad,but also Lazziza,Hamid and Fatima the staff,who made our stay really special.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank wrinkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
#30 of 502 in Marrakech
647 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#46 of 502 in Marrakech
750 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#63 of 502 in Marrakech
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 502 in Marrakech
1,252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 502 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#154 of 502 in Marrakech
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Safar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Safar

Address: 29, Derb Ouihah Quartier Sidi Abdelaziz | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #457 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $127 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Safar 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Safar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing