We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I LOVED IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Safar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Safar
Ranked #358 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“I LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

That was JUST a wonderful time!!!!!
I Really loved it, and recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissaaaaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We have stayed at Riad Safar from December 10, 2010 thru December 13, 2010 which were the most amazing and relaxing days we have experienced in a long time. Mr. Hamid and staff were very accommodating and helpful with any of our requests. They were always available and friendly. The food they cooked for us was delicious and the Raid very central. We were treated as part of the family which maid our stay even more eventful.

Roberto & Manny

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

This was a beautiful place to stay. The owners were very helpful. Breakfast was delicious, the room was lovely and the roof terrace was great. The pool is very small but certainly does the trick if you need to cool down. It is a great place full of moroccan charm and character.
The only negative point for me which I wish I had been made more aware of by other peoples reviews, was that despite the excellent proximity to the souks, the riad is down some really quite frightening alleyway/tunnels. My friend and I (two females) felt unable to leave or come back to the riad after dark and even during the day for the first few. We experienced people trying to lead us down the wrong routes. Luckily, a great boy called Tarik offered to escort us round for a charge and he would meet us at the taxi rank in the evenings to walk the 10minutes with us back to the riad.
otherwise a fantastic stay but do make sure you take a french dictionary as the owners do not speak english.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LHA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

The Riad Safar is a beautiful property. Comparatively expensive but worth every penny. There are only 4 rooms and lots of attention to the guests. It might be difficult to find, so make sure you have a great map with names of shops, etc nearby.

Authentic rooms, beautiful bathrooms, staff make mint tea and are pleased if you try to communicate in Arabic;-) (or French). Beautiful cool swimming pool on the top of the house as well as lush relaxation areas.

The most beautiful and characteristic place ever!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

This riad is beautiful and the owners have made the place very special, the bedrooms are stunning with unique and individual pieces - we didn't want to leave our room. The staff were discreet but there to help us when we needed and even went out and bought us some bread and cheese to eat in our room one evening as unfortunately we both had mild food poisining and didn't feel well enough to leave the riad. Only negative thing was pool not really usuable in Nov and riad a bit tricky to find.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann_and_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

This was my first time in Marrakech and my friend and I were looking to stay in thehub of the Medina for a true Marrakech experience.

Firstly, the communication between the Riad's owner, Martin, was excellent. He arranged a private transfer for us from the airport and also a member of his team, Hammid, to collect us from the taxi and take us to the Riad. Which being two female travellers we appreciated. He also very kindly reserved a table, at a restaurant which we were keen to try prior to our visit. Emails were very prompt and dealt with very quickly.

Whilst from the outside the riad did not look grand, upon entering you felt like you had stumbled upon a decadent oasis. Staff hardworking, professional, yet not overbearing.

Cleanliness, comfort and breakfast were top notch. My friend and I both agreed that we would return at some point in the future.

A big thank you to the Riad Safar for a truly memorable experience!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dohbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

My friend and I (both female) have just returned from Marrakech and we spent 3 nights at Riad Safar. I would highly recommend Riad Safar for anyone who is travelling to Marrakech.

Riad Safar is located in the heart of the North Medina. It is a minutes walk down a few alley streets from one of the main roads going through the medina, close enough to be in the hustle bustle of the medina, but far enough away that once you're inside the riad you can escape the noise and mayhem and relax. You can easily walk to Jemma el Fnad (the Souks) through the markets in the medina within 5 minutes.

Customer service was excellent. My friend and I were a bit shell-shocked when we first arrived in Marrakech as it wasn't as westernised as we had thought it would be and it was initially hard to find out bearings, but the staff at the Riad made us feel very comfortable and at home and on the first night one of the men walked us through the medina to the restaurant we had booked in the dark, and the restaurant called him when we had finished and walked us back to the hotel. The next day we found our bearings and didn't need his help with this, but we were extremely grateful for his assistance on the first night.

The riad itself is stunning and full of character. It has been restored well and the riad itself is buit around a beautiful open air courtyard. Our room was very large, clean and ornate, and furnished with typical moroccan furnishings and lanterns. We had air conditioning which was a relief! Breakfast was served downstairs in the courtyard, and there was a gorgeous rooftop terrace with a dip pool, sun loungers, shaded relaxation areas and beautiful gardens.

The whole experience at the riad was excellent and I would highly recommend the riad to anyone else travelling to Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yay4cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#15 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
RIAD ELYTIS
RIAD ELYTIS
#456 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Safa
Riad Safa
#132 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#33 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Safar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Safar

Property: Riad Safar
Address: 29, Derb Ouihah Quartier Sidi Abdelaziz | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Safar 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Safar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing