We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore”
Review of Riad El Zohar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad El Zohar
Ranked #14 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Aside from being an idyllic riad with wonderful roof terrace overlooking the souk, what really makes this place work is how relaxed Alan and Malika make you feel. Nothing is too much for them as they clearly love sharing their Marrakech with all their guests. El Zohar is the perfect spot to explore the Medina.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 529 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is a fabulous find - a sympathetically restored Riad in the centre of the Medina (old Marrakech, 2 min walk from the souks) with a charming owner - very generous with his time to ensure we didn't get irretrievably lost! Lovely staff - breakfast was great and we loved the Chicken Tagine with olives and lemons!
Comfortable rooms (without losing the feel of the original building) the Riad also has a roof terrace to relax in the sun (the contrast between the bustle of the souk and the calm of the roof terrace is very special).
Don't even think you can find this alone - accept the offer of transfers or you'd be wandering for days......
Lovely trip - think we'll be back!
Amanda S.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

If stars were awarded just for service, El Zohar would be the Burj Al Arab of Marrakech. Alan and his team are exceptional - the best we have experienced in all our travels.
The Riad is brilliantly situated in the souk and is a peaceful and charming oasis of calm and hospitality.
Do take their airport transfer: it takes all the worries out of the journey and you won't easily find the Riad on your own.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANIKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

If you want to stay in Marrakech, don't even consider staying anywhere but in the heart of The Medina, you just won't experience Marrakech as it really is. El Zohar is the place to stay ..... Perfect location ..... Immaculate facilities .... Impeccable hosts, supported by a charming team. Not something I've ever reported before, even via personal recommendation.

Room Tip: With only 5 rooms there may not be much choice, but this is what makes for the intimacy. Might be wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

M wife and I have just spent 5 days/nights at Riad El Zohar. We cannot speak too highly of this hotel. Very nice ambience, great location in the centre of the Medina, very helpul owner (English) and excellent service from all the staff.

Strongly recommended. We would not hesitate to stay again on a return visit.

Michael Southworth 30.03.2014

Room Tip: We stayed in the Talilit room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My lovely sister and I just spent four nights at El Zohar which we thoroughly enjoyed. Our transfers to and from the airport were seamless and stress free. We were greeted by the wonderfully friendly and helpful Allan who was so generous with his time and knowledge both on our first evening and over the next few days. With a guided tour to ensure we did not lose ourselves we felt confident to explore the Medina and souks, and had great fun making a few purchases from the friendly, persuasive (but never aggressive) stall holders. Allan's staff deserve a big thank you for being so accommodating, friendly, and never looking anything other than delighted to schlep our breakfast up to the roof terrace so we could enjoy the sunshine. Highly recommended - I'll certainly be making a return visit.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank somersetness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at El Zohar. Great service with a smile, lots of useful information and the tea and coffee at all times was a great addition to our previous stay in 2009. Breakfasts great as was dinner and Alan couldn't do enough to help.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenDempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Karmela Princesse
Riad Karmela Princesse
#10 of 1,171 in Marrakech
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#2 of 1,171 in Marrakech
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#9 of 1,171 in Marrakech
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Itrane
Riad Itrane
#22 of 1,171 in Marrakech
1,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Boussa
Riad Boussa
#12 of 1,171 in Marrakech
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#24 of 1,171 in Marrakech
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Zohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Zohar

Address: 56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $129 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad El Zohar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 18th century riad set in the Mouassine district at the very centre of the Medina - the old city - right at the start of the souks. Perfect riad for exploring the city & for exeriencing local life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad El Zohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Zohar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing