We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beauiful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Zohar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad El Zohar
Ranked #13 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beauiful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

After much searching we choose El Zohar for a 7 day stay in Marrakech.. Our main criteria were an authentic riad, proximity to the souks, and a small pool. El Zohar certainly satisfied these but what we had not expected was the friendly, personal attention. In the first few days Malika showed us around. Particular sections of the souks we wished to visit were found and she helped us with translations. On returning to the riad we felt welcomed when a cheerful person opened the door to the oasis where we enjoyed the pool and coffee or mint tea served with such style, whether in the courtyard, the roof terrace or our room. Breakfast was each day a little different, but always plentiful and delicious and made by the 2 cooks who on our final night cooked the best meal we had eaten in Marrakech. We would be happy and confident to recommend El Zohar to anyone looking for not just an hotel.
Lyn S Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    21
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
77
203
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Absolutely wonderfully secluded away from the hustle and bustle of the souks, do not be out off by the walk to the entrance as when you enter you will be taken aback by the tranquility and layout of this wonderful riad.
The rooms are small in number and offer everything required including air conditioning which is great and makes for a truly personal experience and further more encourages the interaction with other guests, should you want your own space.....there is plenty of nooks and crannies upstairs and down stairs to chill and relax.
On the ground floor there is a small pool in which you can take a plunge to cool down from the days excesses of the souks and the square and a fantastic roof top terrace which offers shade, sun and plenty of private areas to sit and relax (as I am now)
The service is absolutely 5 star and I have to say that Malika the owner and her trusty Morad looked after us and other guests like we were family.
I will come back again and have no hesitation in recommending Riad El Zohar to those who want a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Riad el Zohar in June. We have been to Marrakech many times and stayed in other riads, including one much more expensive one, but this is the riad we will come back to. It is the genuine article that has been lovingly conserved. Allan, who was away in UK recovering from an operation, could not have been more helpful with advice ahead of our stay and his wife Malika was an attentive host who could not do enough for us in terms of places to visit and the local quartier. We did not eat dinner at the riad but have no doubt that it would have been excellent. While at first, like many other riads, being guided to the El Zohar feels like a labyrinth, once you have identified a couple of landmarks, and equipped with Allan's excellent map, it is easy to find and well placed for the main thoroughfares through the medina and the Jama al Fina. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are tastefully furnished, comfortable and private. Only one on the ground floor has tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a fantastic find.

This place is truly stunning: fantastic hosts, great evening meal on our arrival, fantastic breakfasts. Indeed from the moment we were met at the airport to the time we were dropped off to come home we could not have asked for anything more.

Perfectly located and an oasis of calm and tranquility and a truly wonderful place to stay.

Though our stay was short we will return soon for it was so fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whyayepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Wales.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We arranged a very last minute stay in Marrakech, and after much deliberation chose to stay the Riad El Zohar. With only a couple of days notice, Alan arranged for us to be met at the airport late at night and smoothly taken to the Riad. I would recommend being collected simply because the riad wouldn't have been easy to find before Malika's orientation the following morning. Upon our arrival we were greeted with refreshing mint tea and biscuits served on the terrace. Radi pointed out the main features of the night-time skyline, before leaving us to unwind at our own pace after travelling.
The guest information book in our room was very useful reading for local info on places to see and where to eat, and ideas of taxi/ride prices.

After breakfast Malika gave us a couple of maps (one very detailed and handy) before showing us the area around the Riad , a good local spot to change cash (so no need to wait at the airport on arrival)- and the way to the "big square",Jemma El Fna. As Malika rightly predicted we did get slightly misplaced (okay, lost!) while exploring the Souks and Medina but the information given on negotiating (okay, good natured haggling) the taxi price was spot on.

After exploring during the hot day, it was relaxing to cool off in the plunge pool before heading to the terrace for tea and coffee. For sun worshippers there are sunbeds and shades on the upper level, and for those preferring the shade there is a large tent with sofas and cushions to relax on.

The riad itself is fantastically decorated in a traditional style, and is well maintained. Our double room was very clean, with a sofa and ensuite bathroom - great shower! The air conditioning was quiet and enough to cool it down at night. Even during the day the design of the building, rooms and natural ventilation kept the room quite a few degrees cooler than outside.

We only had breakfast at the Riad during our stay but it was exactly as described in other reviews here - generous, fresh and home made. On our first night we were told breakfast would be served when we arrived for it - which made for a very relaxing pace (no need to rush to get up early) - even on the day when we were the only guests.

Overall the Riad, its facilities, the staff and hospitality could not have been better. I'd have no hesitation in recommending the Riad El Zohar to anyone, and hope to go back there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Having read the previous positive reviews we absolutely agree that this is the place to be if you want to experience true Riad style with the service of a 5* hotel. We can't disagree enough with the one bad review that was put on here previously and can't believe that one review has caused the rating to drop so low when the Riad doesn't deserve it. Don't be put off by it as this is an exceptional place to stay. This Riad is well run, with excellent service from Malika's team. The food was great, rooms were lovely and the sun terrace and courtyard were a haven of peace from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and it felt more like a stay at a friend's house than a hotel. We enjoyed every minute here and would definitely return. Thank you Malika and all who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesK0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A friend was involved in a fiasco with the French air strike where a complete mess got more complicated by confusing the similar names of riads. Allan from El Zohar became involved in all this as an accidental middle man. He and his wife went to the most incredible amount of trouble - to the extent of visiting other riads trying to sort it out. We are so grateful for their help.
Any person who would go to some much effort is worthy of all the great reviews and the support of future travellers to Marrakesh.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank salthegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#2 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#5 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Zohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Zohar

Property: Riad El Zohar
Address: 56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad El Zohar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 18th century riad set in the Mouassine district at the very centre of the Medina - the old city - right at the start of the souks. Perfect riad for exploring the city & for exeriencing local life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Riad El Zohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Zohar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing