We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure!”
Review of Riad El Zohar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad El Zohar
Ranked #14 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

On our first visit to Marrakech this beautiful, peaceful riad was the perfect place to rest our weary heads each day after exploring the city. The staff were welcoming, friendly and the food was outstanding. The evening meal we had there was delicious and very romantic, as we ate on the terrace which we had all to ourselves.

Our room was lovely, although not overly spacious. To be fair though, we did have the opportunity to move to a bigger room on our second day, but we didn't want to leave the rainfall shower, which was amazing!

Touria was incredibly helpful with anything we needed, an example being when we asked her for advice on the best way to buy a bus ticket to our next destination, and she arranged the whole thing. Great service!

Our only challenge was finding the riad on the first day, which I know is not uncommon in Marrakech! The roadworks made this extra difficult, and we unfortunately didn't get informed of this before we arrived. Once we did arrive however, we were greeted with a cold drink and a warm smile. A great riad right at the heart of Marrakech and I would recommend it.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 524 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were recommended this Riad by friends who had stayed here twice, so we expected it to be good. What we got was much better than that - it was superb. As other reviewers have said, from the minute you arrive to when you leave Allan, Malika and their staff do everything they can to make your stay in the Riad and also in Marrakech, as wonderful as possible. We had a delicious meal on the evening of our arrival and enjoyed chatting to Allan and Malika like old friends. During our 3 day stay, help (and plenty of tea) was there whenever we asked for it. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and the setting is glorious. The location is superb (do not understand why the last reviewer gave this a poor score). All in all, a brilliant Riad and we would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_C14315967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

A beautiful Riad that exceeded all our expectations which were pretty high given the previous reviews. All the staff were very friendly, attentive and efficient. Most of our contact was with Erradi who was charming and very helpful.

We recommend the food in the Riad. The dinner was delicious - the best meal we had in Marrakech.

The building work immediately outside the Riad ( which is almost complete) didn't detract from the experience although there is a stark contrast between the beauty of the Riad and the poor infrastructure of the surrounding area - but that is Marrakech!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had just arived from the Atlas mountains to the centre of the Medina which was very exciting. Unfortunatley there was a lot of building work and our trip to the hotel included a walk over 10 metre plank over a 3 metre hole and also a lot of building debris.
We were greeted into a fantastic Riad by a sort of a welcome given some paper and then left toour own devices. There was no intro to the riad, no details given to us verbally about meals etc, no briefing of how to get around which is quite alarming and a great shame.
The only contact we eventually received was from Erradi who was just great and told us the owners were away and he apologised for the complete lack of greeting.
He told us that we would be met in the morning at Breakfast who would assist us. Didnt happen!!
We went out and sorted ourselves out and had a great time. We came back early evening and was met by Touria who was very unhelpful and in fact she said, " I am just leaving"
We were then told by a member of staff that we 'may not' be able to pay by credit card as she was unsure how to use the machine!!!. This meant we had to go in search of an exchange office to enable us to pay our bill.
All this should have been avoided.
We however had a wonderful 2 days in Marrakech fending for ourselves.

.

Room Tip: All 5 rooms were just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roygarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayeffsee, Owner at Riad El Zohar, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Gosh, that was a bit harsh. Our only 2 star ‘Poor’ rating since owning the riad from June 2008.

I am really sorry you are so disappointed with your visit. Some comments we thought were a little unfair, others have prompted us to look at our procedure.

The building works you speak of were in fact road works, with improvements to the water supply and drainage moving through our quarter. We are very grateful to the authorities for these, and accept that there will be some disruption for several weeks. We receive no notification for such works and cannot establish how long they will be in our street but have put a notice on our web pages and write to guests where we can. Fortunately they give no noise in the riad. You were unlucky in the timing of your visit.

We are a 5 bed roomed family run guesthouse and 99.9% of the time guests are greeted by a family member. Very, very occasionally this is not possible so our staff take over. I apologise that in your case the two members of staff were not great English speakers; we take home this message and will in future move heaven and earth to ensure that a good English speaker is on hand. This will not be easy in cases of road arrivals like yours where the actual time of arrival is not known exactly and can vary by hours.

Knowing that a member of the management team would not be there, welcoming mint tea, home made Moroccan cookies were arranged and the ‘papers’ placed in the saloon ready for you. The papers were the official registration forms, a large complimentary map of Marrakech and a map, unique to our riad, that we have commissioned to show exactly the streets for about a mile around the house, and clearly shows a red marked route to the Square, Souks and back again to the house. There is a 30 page book we have written and placed in every bedroom and saloon to help our guests quickly get a grip with Marrakech, again we will ensure in future that is clearly pointed out to guests by our staff if family management are not there.

You are right; Touria was due to leave for our accountants at 5:30 pm just as you returned to the riad. She then stayed on for another 20 mins with you. There was obviously a big misunderstanding; Touria asked if you could settle then and there, either by card or cash, as you were leaving early the next morning and there was, after all, only a small amount for a dinner due.

I hope your dinner was enjoyable; our staff went the extra mile. Your request being 3 hours after our ‘last orders’ for dining, the young cook personally sacrificed her lunch break to go to the markets shopping for fresh provisions and the two ladies together worked hard to prepare the dinner amongst their other duties.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed Marrakech but we are very sorry that your day and a half with us was perceived as being such a very bad experience. Thank you for pointing out a couple of areas where we can improve our procedures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Many of the previous reviews have extolled the virtues of this beautiful haven in the heart of Marrakesh. I can only agree in spades.
From the moment you arrive by the arranged taxi from the airport to the welcoming mint tea, to the moment of sadness when you leave. Allan, Malika and all the team have one aim, to make your stay a wonderful experience.
If there are better Riads in Marrakesh then they must be in another world!
Being in the hospitality industry I know what ticks go in the boxes. This oasis does not have ticks it has Gold stars!
Two of our party had a wedding anniversary during our stay. A special dinner and a wonderful cake 'on the house'.
Allan and the team did not go the extra mile they went on the marathon!
In the words of Tina Turner - Simply the best.
Book in you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HARWOOD186406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Traveling to Marrakech may be a bit adventurous for some but it is a fantastic city. However, I would highly recommend securing some trusted guidance to get around the city and especially to venture into the surrounding areas which you won't want to miss. Therefore, staying with someone who knows the area and provides with you with as much travel detail and history as you require - priceless! We felt so lucky to stay within the warm hospitality of Allan and Malika. The minute you step into their home it is as if you are meeting members of your extended family for the first time. They can help you with everything from navigating the area that immediately surrounds their Riad to planning excursions into the mountains or to the beach. A delicious home cooked meal can be prepared tailored to your liking or they can give you nearby restaurant recommendations. The Riad is perfectly situated to walk about the souks and into the city. Thank you so much for our great stay.

Room Tip: Room on first floor can be a bit noisy so if you are a light sleeper request upper room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavonaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I can only echo what other recent reviewers have said. Allan and Malika's welcome coupled friendliness and warmth with enough tips and information to help a family visiting Marrakech for the first time, while not taking away the fun of exploring for ourselves. The staff went to a lot of trouble to make our stay a relaxing and comfortable one, all done with great kindness and good grace. The breakfasts have already attained legendary status in our household. The riad, with its convenient and atmospheric location, beautifully furnished rooms, small pool and well-appointed roof terrace provided a wonderful spot to relax after a day exploring the enchanting city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfred1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Karmela Princesse
Riad Karmela Princesse
#10 of 1,170 in Marrakech
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#3 of 1,170 in Marrakech
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Itrane
Riad Itrane
#23 of 1,170 in Marrakech
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#24 of 1,170 in Marrakech
1,844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Boussa
Riad Boussa
#12 of 1,170 in Marrakech
1,123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#4 of 1,170 in Marrakech
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Zohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Zohar

Address: 56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $127 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad El Zohar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 18th century riad set in the Mouassine district at the very centre of the Medina - the old city - right at the start of the souks. Perfect riad for exploring the city & for exeriencing local life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad El Zohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Zohar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing