We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Zohar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Zohar to your Saves list
Riad El Zohar
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The place to stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Have recently returned from a four night stay in Riad el Zohar and it was absolutely wonderful. From the moment we arrived when we were given a very warm welcome to the time we left, we were looked after by Alan, Malika and their superb staff where nothing was too much trouble. Alan spent some time going through the local maps etc and then took us on a tour of the area which was most helpful. Breakfasts were to die for and the evening meals with lamb & chicken tagines were delicious. The bedrooms, most with four poster beds, were roomy and the bed linen so crisp and clean. Lots of extras in the en-suite with towels changed daily. The Riad layout makes for a friendly atmosphere and the terrace has lots of comfortable furniture to relax and enjoy a drink at any time of the day with great views over the city. Lovely place, lovely people and altogether lovely holiday! Thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NBAKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    21
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
203
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A group of us arrived at Riad el Zohar in need of some rest and relaxation and some sunshine and we were lucky to get all we wanted. This lovely Riad is owned and ran by Allan and Malika and a great group of staff. The Riad was beautifully appointed with a lovely terrace, partly covered and a great place to sit and unwind, particularly with a glass of wine with the wonderful smell of dinner wafting up to us. There are 5 bedrooms all quite traditional, very comfortable with lovely crisp bed linen and our shower was something to behold! We ate in the first night and the second day took advantage of their cookery lesson where we started in the market buying the ingredients and ended the day by eating what we had helped to make. Alan took us on a quick tour of the area to get our bearings which turned out easier than we thought. Lovely place to stay, lovely people to deal with and can't think of anything negative to say, highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful long weekend at the beautiful Riad El Zohar. We enjoyed Marrakech but certainly think that it was the Riad that made the holiday so memorable. The staff were very welcoming and Allan and Mailiki's hospitality was exceptional. His passion, knowledge and love of the Riad and Marrakech in general shone through and certainly helped us to enjoy our holiday even more. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Having just returned from a 3 night stay in Riad El Zohar in Marrakech – I wouldn’t know where to start to say how truly WONDERFUL it was – it was a ‘family weekend’ for the 11 of us – so we took over the whole Riad and I can honestly say it was all we dreamt of and more !!
The owner Allan and his sister-in-law Touria were so helpful – nothing was too much trouble for them at all and they are both a ‘mine of useful local information’!! They planned and co-ordinated the whole stay for us including a trip to the Atlas Mountains, camel rides for the kids and a ‘private party’ with music and belly dancers along with a Moroccan feast for the ‘joint birthday celebrations’ we went for!! They were magic!!
The same can be said of all the staff there – they really seem to love their jobs and it shows in their happy, helpful countenance – we were a party of 11 and again nothing was any trouble at all for them – early dinners for the young ones cooked to order and FABULOUS breakfasts & meals for the rest of us too !!
We were only sorry when our trip came to an end – and we certainly can’t wait to go back - WE WILL RETURN!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have just returned from Riad El Zohar and there aren't enough adjectives at my disposable to describe how beautiful Riad El Zohar is.....and I don't just mean the building and decor (which it is of course) I'm talking about Allan and co. :) From the moment we stepped through the door we were made to feel so very welcome and bearing in mind there were eleven of us ranging in age from 60 to 3 that is no mean feat !!! Allan has the most fantastic knowledge not only about Marrakesh but about the Riad it's self and it's fantastic history. To be waited on hand foot and finger by Allan and his staff was not a hardship to endure as you can imagine, I also had the great fortune to celebrate my birthday whist at the Riad, this in the shape of a Morrocan feast, Belly dancing and traditional musicians.......Oh what a wonderful night. I wil never forget this trip to Riad El Zohar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just returned from 4 nights at this beautiful riad. The house is wonderfully traditional. Rooms are very comfortable, beautifully decorated and the team could not be more happy and helpful. I would recommend having a meal here (preferably in the salon with a fire going!) as their cook is amazing. The riad provided a wonderful central base for exploring Marrakech, as well as being a relaxing haven from the madness of the souks. We were lucky enough to meet Allan (the owner), his passion for the house and knowledge of everything Marrakech really added another dimension to our stay here. Soaking up some sunshine on the roof terrace while looking out at the Atlas mountains was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have just returned from a great 4 day break at the lovely Riad El Zohar. We have started to chose our accommodation not only by how lovely it looks and where it is but also by reading lots of reviews on here and if somewhere is described as having friendly and helpful owners then that is the deciding factor.......pleased to say it worked brilliantly again!

We love and are fascinated by Marrakech and having somewhere as relaxing and beautiful to stay was just the icing on the cake. Our room Talilit was great and the decor of the whole riad was classy but relaxing. Amazing staff especially the ever smiling Eraddi (not sure of the spelling) and the owners Allan and Malika were great. Allan was always on hand for a chat, to discuss plans etc.

I'm sure we will return for a fourth visit to Marrakech and there will be no doubt where we will stay.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms in raids to be on the upper floor for a little more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babsoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#1 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#8 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#6 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Zohar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Zohar

Property: Riad El Zohar
Address: 56 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad El Zohar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic 18th century riad set in the Mouassine district at the very centre of the Medina - the old city - right at the start of the souks. Perfect riad for exploring the city & for exeriencing local life ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Riad El Zohar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Zohar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing